We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great staff” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seventy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Seventy Hotel
Ranked #152 of 448 Hotels in Ho Chi Minh City
vernon
1 review
“great staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Clean rooms, the small ones are small ! But that is all you need, You get a good breakfast included. A bigger room with 2 beds is $35 the others are $22-$24. You'll love how the showers work ...the whole bathroom gets wet ! Air conditioning is amazing after sweating all day. Have travelled in Laos and Cambodia and returned here for 3 separate stays.

Room Tip: make sure you book ahead it's always full. www.seventyhotel.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    195
    124
    51
    16
    14
See reviews for
39
141
81
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2012

The location is the big winner here. It's right in the middle of District 1 and most of the sights are within walking distance. The hotel also offers great value for money and although it was a little small, we had everything we needed. The guy on night shift was helpful and gave us useful information for our stay in Saigon. A great place to stay while in Ho Chi Minh City!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SPS30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

We arrived at this hotel after a disasterous bus ride from Hoian and as this was going to be our last hotel we would stay in Vietnam I booked a superior room as a treat for my partner and I. I was really looking forward to it afer reading all the amazing reviews on Tripadvisor.

When we arrived we were given the only room overlooking the reception area. The two windows in the room were double glazed but you could still hear all the noise from the street coming in trough the open door of the hotel. You could also hear everything that was going on at the front desk, breakfast area and travel desk. One late night we asked them to close the front door and the receptionist looked absolutely puzzled over the idea but closed it eventualy.

The sink in the bathroom was bloked and we had to ask the receptionist several times to send somebody up with a plunger. Every time we passed the reception the female receptionist was on Facebook and eating someting, also when speaking to the guests which I thought was very rude. The third time we asked, somebody came up but my partner had to show him how to use the plunger!

All in all the hotel in convinently located in the 'backpacker district' and the beds are quite comfortable but just don't stay in room 101.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simona L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

This was my First stay here and defiantly not my last!

We arrived in Vietnam late after a delayed flight and some lost luggage, taxied straight to district 1 and got dropped off near the Crazy Buffalo bar, we walked down the road and the first hotel we went into was the Seventy hotel. Not being convinced that this was the best deal we could find, we went walking a bit further and ended up coming back to Seventy Hotel.

The biggest selling point was the staff!! There english was good, and Wow they were so friendly! The owner checked us in and offered us a welcome drink!

This is not the cheapest hotel around, you can defiantly find cheaper, but the service at this place well out weighs the price!

The breakfast is good, but i would recommend convincing the 2 girls at the tour desk to order breakfast for you from the little lady on her push bike! They usually arrive for work at 815am with breakfast arriving for them shortly after, it's worth telling them the night before that you will have what they are eating, the best way to try some authentic local food! Simply awesome! I think it cost us about $5USD for a feast for 2! There are plenty of restaurants around so no problem finding some great food!

The girls at the tour desk booked us a driver to take us to Cu Chi Tunnels for $60USD ($10USD each for the 6 of us) This is defiantly the way to do the tunnels as you can get the driver to stop as often as you like on the way there and back, no uncomfortable bus rides!!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shartley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Awesome hospitality :)

The hotel itself is relatively basic hotel but very clean, good appliances & secure. I took the top floor room which is a double with big balcony - the penthouse! Excellent for a couple, nice room, modern appliances and for Bui Vien, its great. A little noisy due to the late night music but thats Bui Vien...

Honestly, the girls at reception are what make this place - outstanding hospitality & always trying to help. I had my iPhone stolen and they took me to the police station ensuring I did not wait in line. I was invited to join them eating regularly & simply put, just very helpful. They had good contacts, I used taxi's through them etc...

This was the first place I came on arrival to Vietnam so it was great to ease into the chaos with excellent hospitality.

Will see the girls again soon as I am moving to Saigon. You know who I am x

Room Tip: Choose the penthouse ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTrenerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ho Chi Minh City hotels
0.3 km away
Blue River Hotel
Blue River Hotel
#107 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
0.3 km away
Nguyen Khang Hotel
Nguyen Khang Hotel
#117 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.4 km away
Elegant Inn
Elegant Inn
#75 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
Hong Kong Kaiteki Hotel
#154 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
1.8 km away
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
Minh Chau Hotel - Dien Bien Phu
#90 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
0.5 km away
Ngoc Linh Hotel
Ngoc Linh Hotel
#71 of 448 in Ho Chi Minh City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seventy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seventy Hotel

Property: Seventy Hotel
Address: 70 Bui Vien St., Dist.1, Ho Chi Minh City 70000, Vietnam (Formerly Phan Lan Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Ho Chi Minh City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Ho Chi Minh City
Price range (per night): $25 - $37
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Seventy Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether you come to Saigon alone, with your family, for a holiday or for business, Seventy Hotel is the place to stay. We welcome you to a relaxed and friendly environment and are happy to answer any questions you may have. Please contact us if you have any questions.Seventy Hotel (formerly Phan Lan Hotel) is located in the Heart of Ho Chi Minh City and pack backage area. There are many tourists attractive nearby : Ben Thanh market, Sai Gon river, Notre Dame, Post Office, Reunification Palace, War Museum, Banks (ATM), Booking Offices, Bars and Coffee shops and Shopping centers.Seventy Hotel has 18 cozy rooms with well and modern facilities including.Our Partner:The Phan Anh Backpackers Hostel is our partner which is located in 373/6 Pham Ngu Lao Str, Dist 1, HCM City ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Odigeo so you can book your Seventy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
70 Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing