We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Tapas”
Review of AMATO

AMATO
Ranked #80 of 3,005 Restaurants in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: USD 10 - USD 50
Description: The new location of a city center long time favorite. Amato is a cozy little boutique restaurant offering a speak easy bar a and a roof top terrasse over looking Hon Kiem lake. We serve a broad range of Mediterranean Tapas complemented but a fairly extensive wine list and crafted cocktails. *** WE ARE LOCATED ON 29 CAU GO STREET - THERE IS LITTLE PARKING SPACE, BETTER TO COME BY CAB OR WALKING. YOU NEED TO GO THROUGH THE BUN CHA PLACE THEN WALK 2 STOREY, WE'RE LOCATING ON FLOOR 3 TO 5***
Restaurant details
Description: The new location of a city center long time favorite. Amato is a cozy little boutique restaurant offering a speak easy bar a and a roof top terrasse over looking Hon Kiem lake. We serve a broad range of Mediterranean Tapas complemented but a fairly extensive wine list and crafted cocktails. *** WE ARE LOCATED ON 29 CAU GO STREET - THERE IS LITTLE PARKING SPACE, BETTER TO COME BY CAB OR WALKING. YOU NEED TO GO THROUGH THE BUN CHA PLACE THEN WALK 2 STOREY, WE'RE LOCATING ON FLOOR 3 TO 5***
Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

By far the best meal we had in Hanoi. Not that well known yet by the looks of it. Croquettes, chorizo and garlic shrimp were delicious.

Thank John2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sipvn, Owner at AMATO, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear John2001,

Thanks for the very good review.

Cyprien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

136 - 140 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2016 via mobile

We had a lovely tapas dinner at Amato. The food was very good and we had a nice wine. All staff was very sweet and attentive. It is a little gem hidden behind the opera.

Thank louiselaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sipvn, Owner at AMATO, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2016

Dear louiselaub,

Many thanks for the great review.

Cyprien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2016 via mobile

Located behind Hanoi Hilton in a small lane way. Well worth finding.

Started off with Bruscetta 50k. Gone in 60 seconds. Lovely.

Then Chorizo cold cut special wasn't fully sold as a few chewy pieces but 65k can't complain.

Duck Rillettes was 3rd starter. Not what I expected but very nice. I expected a "pulled" style rather than a mince. Duck flavour was lost but still lovely. 80k represents good value.

Beef Cheek Ravioli special. 190k.

Service AMAZING. Personal. So typical Hanoi. I love dining here.

You can eat in VN 5* on a budget. They have taken the best of French and made it affordable.

Thank AndrewD_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sipvn, Owner at AMATO, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2016

Dear Andrew D,

Many thanks for the great review.

At Amato we do not aim to revolutionize Cuisine our goal is to deliver classics properly. Although I admit, couple of them with our own twist. Hence the minced not pulled duck rillette!

Sincerely,

Cyprien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

Delicious tapas food - we loved the duck Spring rolls and the balsamic mushrooms. We had three courses here and didn't regret any of them. Beautiful place in a soulful location and filled with the best staff. Must try!

Thank Georgie I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sipvn, Owner at AMATO, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Dear Georgie I,

Many thanks for the great review. Our European bistro lunch set is designed to be ov very good value.

Sincerely,

Cyprien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2016 via mobile

Food is amazing, lots of flavor. Great staff!!! They sang happy birthday song for me and gave us a beautiful desert as a bday gift. Come and enjoy!!!

Thank LeoX96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sipvn, Owner at AMATO, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2016

Dear Leo X,

many thanks for choosing Amato for this special occasion.

We are doing simple food but we take great care of sourcing great raw products. No magic here, great flavor comes from great raw ingredients.

We are also lucky to have amazing people that take great in their job.

Cyprien

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed AMATO also viewed

 
Hanoi, Vietnam
 

Been to AMATO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing