We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel, away from the hanoi buzz”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Ranked #72 of 600 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2012

I'm not going to repeat the same comments of other contributers, who rightly love this hotel, but focus on the smaller pros and cons.

In summary - I would return in a heartbeat.

Pros

Staff - the staff here are wonderful.

You know when they care if they take a problem seriously. We ate in the Vietnamese Restaurant, and ordered squid from the specials menu. The squid arrived and we tasted, and did'nt like - and the Restaurant manager noticed and without us even saying anything - came over and suggested that this is perhaps too local a dish, and many of the foreigners dont really like - he suggested that he gets another squid dish from the Italian Restaurant! This was fantastic.

Pool - the outdoor pool is a great break from Crazy hanoi - somewhere quiet where you can relax and chillout with a good book. We had also stayed in the city centre, and this was a great break.

Club Lounge - we paid extra for the club lounge, and it was worth every cent- good breakfasts and great evening drinks - which we took advantage of.

Cons -

Wifi - As an Intercontinental Ambassador member - we were upgraded to a suite. Amazed to see that there is no wifi in the rooms - a five star hotel should have wifi.

Tours - this hotel, given its remote location, is often the first pick-up for tours - resulting an 70 minutes of city centre hotel visits - so fustrating. The roads in Vietnam are terrible, and the extra time spent in an uncomfortable mini-bus is a real downer. On the return we escaped at the first hotel and took a taxi back to the hotel - no way could we face a 40 min tour of the city hotels.

Room Tip: Book a club room - worth the extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheDiplomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you for your feedbacks from recent stay. It is great that you like our pool and the InterContinental club.

And it is truly rewarding when a guest recognizes our staff’s efforts. I will pass on your comments to the team and sure that they will enjoy to read it.

We offer complimentary wifi to all guests in public areas, restaurants and bars.

Once again, thank you for your thoughtful comments.
Adam McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,494 - 1,498 of 2,354 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

We stayed here several nights in March, arriving late after a day of travel. Because of that we ate in one of their restaurants- Milan- and enjoyed excellent Italian food at a reasonable price including good local beer. Service was excellent Room was very large, nicely furnished, spotless with a large bathroom and a very comfortable bed. Staff were very helpful and friendly, especially in the business center. A first rate experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sueprc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you very much for your comment. I am very pleased to read that you love our Italian food, room, bathroom, bed and especially our staff. It encourages our team to bring our guests the best service.

Look forward to serving you again at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake.

Adam McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Booked via Expedia at USD112 per night excluding tax and serivce, good price for this category. Quietly situated in Westlake, a good place to get away from hanoi's noisy motor bikes and cars on streets. Room is clean, spacious and comfortable. Swimming pool is quite small, but the water is so clean and clear. Gym is big and the facilities are good enough. Staff is friendly.

A little bit far away from those tourist attractions and the downtown. some buildings are spreaded far away from the reception hall and it take a little walk which could be hard under intense sunshine or heavy rains.

Room Tip: Rooms in the recption hall would be better if you do not want to walk 100 meters or more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whicheversimon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

I am happy that you enjoyed stay with us. I will pass on your comments to my team.

Thank you and looking forward to welcoming you back.
Adam McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We checked into this hotel after many hours of travel very smoothly and room was ready with no problem. We only had 1 night as we were off to Halong Bay the next day.
We went into the city by taxi, very close 100,000 VND ($5) very centrally situated.
A few shops and restaurants close by that you can walk to, we found them on the last day.
We had upgraded to Club Lounge and that was well worth it.
Nice tapas and drinks every day 5.30pm - 7.30pm and access to drinks all day, good atmosphere and nice lounge.
The gym was excellent with the latest equipment so we used it a couple of times, as well as the pool.
We left our luggage at the hotel, no problem at all they were only too pleased to assist when we left for Halong Bay.
We found the staff always helpful and friendly and could not fault them. The first night was spent in the main building, when we returned from Halong Bay we were put in the outer buildings which had a really nice view of the lake.
The rooms were clean and spacious and no complaints. Breakfast was good and there was something for everyone so no complaints, their bread and pastries were superb.
It was beneficial to have the Club Lounge upgrade as this gives late checkout and use of the lounge until you leave the hotel.
On our last day we were leaving on the train, so late check our suited us and use of the lounge until 8pm was great.
It is a good place to be away from the noise of the city as it is quiet and you cannot hear that annoying beeping.
I have to highly reccommend this hotel and wil come back to stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 areas of the hotel and did not have a problem with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Thank you for your nice words. We are always pleased to receive praise and acknowledgment of such a positive nature. Your comments will be shared with our entire staff, as reinforcement to continue their efforts to make the InterContinental Hanoi Westlake a great hotel guests love.

See you soon

Thank you
Adam McDonald

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

We stayed in the intercontinental west lake when we first arrived in Hanoi. The hotel was located in a quieter part of Hanoi and was easy to get to the city centre if required. There were lots of photo shoots going on around the streets near the hotel as this was quite a pretty area. Bedroom was adequate for 3 of us. A 'put u up' style bed fitted in the deluxe double room fine. The food in the hotel was very good. Breakfast buffet typical international spread and good standard. The Italian restaurant was excellent and averaged $30 pp which was quite acceptable for hotel prices. We used the swimming pool alot especially as our 11 year old son was travelling with us. The only critisism was the staff in the pool bar ignored you for quite some time before acknowledging us requiring refreshments. This happened several times. Overall good standard of hotel for short stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kes123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2012

Hello

Thank you for the feedback from your recent stay. I am pleased your enjoyed the hotel and the breakfast in Cafe de Lac. The team work hard at bringing together lots of variety and freshness to this important meal.

I take on board your feedback on the team around the pool area, we will work with them to improve the service.

Please let me know if you are heading back to Hanoi.

Thank you

Adam McDonald - General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
7.5 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
4.4 km away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
0.2 km away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#89 of 600 in Hanoi
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 km away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#101 of 600 in Hanoi
2,300 reviews
1.3 km away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#81 of 600 in Hanoi
1,856 reviews
4.5 km away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hanoi

Been to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Address: 5 Tu Hoa street | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#27 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $181 - $389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hanoi Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Westlake Hanoi overlooks the 800-year-old Golden Lotus Pagoda on Hanoi's largest lake. It is the only hotel in Vietnam to be featured on Condé Nast Traveler s 2008 Hot List, garnering the honour for a sublime waterfront locale. The historic city centre is within a 10-minute ride, as is a wide range of shopping and cultural venues. The hotel is just 40 minutes by taxi from Noi Bai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Hanoi Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing