We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Ranked #66 of 593 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Superb !!!”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

I stayed in this very beautiful hotel from 24 - 26 Feb 2012. It was one of the nicest hotels I've every stayed. Staff are very helpful and the room is nice and clean. I stayed in a suite and was given the perk to enjoy the club/lounge facility where I can relax and get free drinks. I can also get to eat my free breakfast in the club/lounge, away from the very busy main dining area.
Very good value for money! Will go back there to stay if I were to visit Hanoi again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaRasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear CasaRasa,

Thank you for the feedback on your recent stay. Great that you enjoyed Club InterContinental, it is one of my favourite spaces in the hotel and agree good value for money.

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Thank you

Adam McDonald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,270
    729
    183
    59
    41
See reviews for
387
911
131
420
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (530)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Odiham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012 via mobile


I was here on business and couldn't fault the hotel, a very short stay but the staff welcome was great, the restaurant food was diverse in selection and good in quality and the location is relatively close to the main action within Hanoi.

Stayed March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear markandphilippa,

Thank you so much for the review of the hotel. Great that you enjoyed our Food and Beverage offerings, the team work hard in keeping it fresh and lively while offering good value for money. We recently started a pizza night on Sunday's in Milan which is proving to be very popular.

Thanks again and please let me know next time you are in Hanoi.

Thank you

Adam McDonald, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The hotel is certainly in a wonderful setting with a lot of the rooms built out over the lake.
My room was spacious with all amenities I could want - WONDERFUL bathroom with large tub and big walk in wet room/shower. (A bit of a shame the bath plug leaked!)

The staff were courteous and friendly - although not all understood English very well; but why should they?

The conference facilities were superb and the food wonderful with a wide choice to suit everyone.

I was disappointed in the Spa facilities - or lack of them - and also slightly put out that the hotel was very quick to change my US$ in to local currency but would not change it back!

Although I have given a "Very Good" it is a low "very good". That said, if I was to return to Hanoi I would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: Personally, I liked the rooms built out over the lake rather than those in the main hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MemeMoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear MemeMoodle,

Thank you for the post on our hotel from your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed the room and bathroom. I apologise for the leaking bath plug.

I appreciate your comment about the teams English, working here I am trying hard to learn Vietnamese as the team are trying to improve their English. My philosophy is that I am here in their country so I try to be as Vietnamese as I can.

I take on board your comments about the spa, we are working at bringing this to life in the near future.

The currency exchange one is a difficult one, like most countries in Asia we are bound to use local currency. the best place to get money exchange is in banks, this is what I advise most of our guests.

Appreciate your comments, please let me know if I can be of any further assistance.

Thank you

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wuhan, China
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

After a long time in the train from Nanning, crossing cozy Vietnamese border, arguing with the taxi driver on the “train station”, arrived to the hotel at around 5 a.m. with a tiny hope to check-in before official time.
And they checked us in without any hesitations and any extra charge.

Few days in advance they asked about our room preferences, and completed them correctly. We had a very big room (801) in one of the pavilions, which are located on the lake. Well designed with a big balcony, amazing shower (2 types: 1 is tropical rain and 2nd – with the massage effect) which attracts you to have as quick refreshing shower as deep dive after a long day. Different types of pillows, nice furniture and very interesting bottles with water (even we took one with us as a souvenir).
Unfortunately we didn’t have time to use swimming pool and visit Sunset bar, but both facilities are looking very attractive.

Location has its advantages, it is a little far from the city center, but after a day in this hell with running bikes and crowds of shouting people – it is like silent forest or morning beach. It is easy to come back by taxi (around 7 USD from the Lake), and easy to take a taxi there, cause they always have a few waiting. Moreover there is a little 800 years old Pagoda next to the hotel, from where you can start your acquaintanceship with Vietnam.

The quality of service should be mentioned. As far as we are PCR Member, there was a special person invited to check us in without waiting in the line. Concierge was helpful, answered politely and in details to every question, helped us to change money and provided a map, explained destination to the taxi driver and translated few necessary sentences.

In general, it is good place where you can recover and prepare for any kind of adventures of which there is a great diversity in this exciting country!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sergey_and_Elena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Sergey and Elena,

Thank you for the comments you have posted, we always appreciate the feedback of our guests. How else can we hope to improve.

I am so pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and the team took special care of you. Our PCR guests are very important to us and we try our best to recognise and acknowledge their support.

The Pagoda next to the hotel is actually very special, there are many stories about it and the local people do hold it with high regard. There is a very spiritual part to the Vietnamese people which is fantastic as a guest of their country to be part of.

Agree this hotel offers a wonderful escape from the busy Hanoi lifestyle, it can get tiring working through it every day.

We would love to have you back in the summer so you can enjoy the pool, the resort feel and relaxed atmosphere of the hotel.

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance

Thank you

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uzes, France
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012 via mobile

I would have expected excellent for an Intercontinental hotel but would rate this hotel as very good instead. The rooms are large and spacious, ours had a view over the lake and wasn't too far from reception and pool. They are also very we'll equipped and the beds and showers are wonderful. The surroundings are very well maintained with fresh flowers and decor appropriate to Vietnam. The sunset bar is nice and breezy with comfortable seating and ok service, good selection of drinks and snacks.
The concierge staff are really knowledgable and are always on hand to help and show the way. They recommended four taxi companies to use that use a meter and won't rip you off.
The hotel is about ten minutes taxi ride outside Hanoi, the closest part of town being the old quarter. Using the taxi meter, it costs about 60-70,000 Dong to get in and all the taxi drivers know the hotel.
The only downside of this hotel is the lack of staff and sun beds at the pool which is quite small. For a hotel of this size and calibre I would have expected at least poolside staff to serve drinks and a pool attendant to monitor the sun bed use. There are only about twenty sun beds and in the afternoon, when sightseeing becomes too hot, you will be lucky to get a lounger. Guests seem to leave their towels on the loungers and one doesn't know if they are returning or leaving. Drinks are available but only if you are lucky enough to catch the eye of one of the indoor bar staff.
A very nice hotel and would happily return.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank pwchan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andreas-Rud, General Manager at InterContinental Hanoi Westlake, responded to this review, 10 April 2012
Dear Patrick London UK,

Thanks for the feedback on your stay with us. It is always great to get feedback like yours.

I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and the feel of the Resort style layout that we have. The flowers, the space both in the rooms and out, Vietnamese decor (nothing worst for me than staying in a hotel and not having any local feel to it) and sunset bar is not be missed, especially now as the weather heats up.

I take on board your comments on the sun lounges, perhaps as we are just coming out of winter we may not have put all of them out, I will have this followed up.

Certainly take on board your comments about service around the pool, this is something that is not acceptable and I will feed this back to my team so we can ensure this does not happen again.

Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance

Thank You

Adam McDonald - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
4.4 km away
Sofitel Legend Metropole Hanoi
7.5 km away
JW Marriott Hotel Hanoi
1.3 km away
Pan Pacific Hanoi
Pan Pacific Hanoi
#79 of 593 in Hanoi
1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Hotel de l'Opera Hanoi
0.2 km away
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
Sheraton Hanoi Hotel
#87 of 593 in Hanoi
1,434 reviews
4.7 km away
Hilton Hanoi Opera
Hilton Hanoi Opera
#92 of 593 in Hanoi
2,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hanoi

Been to InterContinental Hanoi Westlake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hanoi Westlake

Property: InterContinental Hanoi Westlake
Address: 5 Tu Hoa street | Tay Ho District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Hanoi
#13 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#27 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#36 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price range (per night): $171 - $343
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hanoi Westlake 5*
Number of rooms: 318
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental Westlake Hanoi overlooks the 800-year-old Golden Lotus Pagoda on Hanoi's largest lake. It is the only hotel in Vietnam to be featured on Condé Nast Traveler s 2008 Hot List, garnering the honour for a sublime waterfront locale. The historic city centre is within a 10-minute ride, as is a wide range of shopping and cultural venues. The hotel is just 40 minutes by taxi from Noi Bai International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Odigeo, lastminute.com.au, Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Hooroo Pty Ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Hanoi Westlake reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Hanoi Westlake Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing