We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Stay far away - buffet breakfast"”
Review of Mango Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mango Hotel
Ranked #501 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Reviewed 15 June 2017 via mobile

We are family of four with 2 young kids (6&8). Getting out of train were looking for place to have breakfast around train station. The lady's were on the porch telling us these a buffet. With our backpacks it was a convenient place. When we came in the buffet was not well garnish but we thought the will filled if out... wrong! We ask for more bread (the was even not half a baguette in the buffet) and it never came, instead a women came telling us the buffet is closing in five minutes... really??? In resume, we had 15 minutes to eat a cold and almost empty buffet... we ask for a rebate (it was about 5$ per peson, kids half price) she said no way, after insisting she say she will take out around 3$ but she get the waitress to who we asked the bread and she says she will have to pay the rebate... command you do not make your employees pay because your food is cold and buffet empty!!! We pais it all, closed our mouths and leaved this place and will never come back! Hope this review will find you before you get into this trap!!!

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Magalie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2017

This two star hotel is very mediocre and weird. It was ideal for our purpose though. For $20 we had a room to shower and rest before our overnight train to Sapa, I would not recommend for a overnight stay.

It is a one minute walk to the Mercury Hotel which had a pretty good Western restaurant.

Room Tip: no elevator so lower floor recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bbmf4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Come back from Sapa at 4.30am and only leaving for halong bay at 8am. So need to kill a few hours and catch up some sleep. The tour agent recommended this hotel as a stop because it is very near the Train Station.

The place is horrible. As horrible as you can imagine. The thing is, it is not cheap either. it is 300k dong for the few hours of stay.

The bed honestly is not that bad. I had a good 3 hours sleep. but everything else just looks horrible. The bathroom is old and dirty and i didn't want to spend too much time inside at all.

omg just horrible. but i guess, you may not have choice?

Many of my tour group friends told me they had arrangement with their hotel (the one they stayed before) to lend them a spare room, it is ok if room not made. as long as have shower. most of the hotels are ok. So i guess that is a much better choice isn't it?

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rach_lr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2015 via mobile

The Mango hotel served its purpose, it is not nice, actually it's terrible, but in a handy location next to the train station to wait for the train to Sapa.

We arrived in Hanoi at approximately 4pm and had a pre-booked transfer to the Mango hotel to wait for our train leaving at 9pm. The hotel is owned by the company that operates the train, so was recommended by them as a starting point.

We ended up renting a room here twice, to fill in the time between arriving in Hanoi and catching the train to Sapa and when the train arrived back in Hanoi at 4am until our pickup at 8am that morning.

The first stay we paid 250,000 vnd for a room. The room had a bed, a bathroom and an aircon. It's condition matched all other TripAdvisor reviews, old and damp. We were in good spirits so for the few hours we spent there, so overall it was a funny experience.

The second stay was 400,000 vnd, which we were not happy about paying after our previous experience, but it was 4am, our tour was picking us up from this hotel at 8:30, so alternate options were limited. This room was much better, almost nice you could say, it did not have the damp qualities of our first stay. In fact it did not seem like the same hotel as our first experience. The window opened onto to the train station platform, so it was very noisy.

In summary:
Pros: location for the train
Cons: No English speaking staff - very frustrating, huge difference between quality of rooms, average food.

If you have just arrived in Hanoi and you have a couple of hours to kill before the train to Sapa. This place can serve that purpose. Any more than a couple of hours... Find somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank Mlip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2015

Mango hotel is a hotel with its own private entrance to the railway station. It operates with Ratraco Trains. This hotel is more like a resting place before the 8hrs train ride. Its very basic. Reception could not speak much English. There was a point where the reception received a call, an english lady was on the line, since I was infront of the receptionist, she handed me the phone. It turns out she wanted me to help speak to the english lady on the line. Rather funny!

All i can say is, this is a very basic 2 star hotel. Do not expect much from it. Just treat it like a rest area for a shower n quick nap before the train arrive.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with friends
Thank Ubai8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 km away
Asean Hotel
Asean Hotel
#497 of 606 in Hanoi
12 reviews
0.4 km away
Eternity Hotel
Eternity Hotel
#345 of 606 in Hanoi
62 reviews
0.4 km away
Hoang Cuong Hotel
Hoang Cuong Hotel
#250 of 606 in Hanoi
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel 1-2-3 Hanoi
Hotel 1-2-3 Hanoi
#140 of 606 in Hanoi
48 reviews
0.1 km away
Cosiana Hotel Hanoi
Cosiana Hotel Hanoi
#187 of 606 in Hanoi
200 reviews
0.7 km away
Bodega Hotel
Bodega Hotel
#318 of 606 in Hanoi
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Hotel

Address: 118 Le Duan, Hoan Kiem Street, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #501 of 606 Hotels in Hanoi
Price Range: $29 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mango Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Le Duan street in the center of Hanoi, Mango Hotel is one of the most prestige hotel for the convience and quality in service in this area. Mango Hotel is next to Hanoi railway station so it takes you only 5 minutes to go to some places of senecic beauty in Hanoi by taxi such as Van Mieu – Quoc Tu Giam – the first University in Vietnam , Hoan Kiem lake, Hang Ngang – Hang Dao – walking street, the Old street and Trang Tien shopping center . From here , you can go for a walk about 500 meters to Quan Su pagoda - Vietnam Budism Association for praying,burning incense and admiring the secenery ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Expedia APAC, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Mango Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing