We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Star Suite Hotel
Ranked #21 of 672 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

The hotel is located in a peaceful part of the city with only 5-10 minute walk to the lake and other tourist attractions. We stayed four nights in a spacious family room with two comfy beds, a sofa bed, a computer with free internet, etc. Our room has a nice little balcony with a church view. Bathroom was good and clean. Staff were friendly and helpful at any time. To cut it short, this hotel would provide you a pleasant stay at a very reasonable price so it is highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
2  Thank MintN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (721)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

504 - 508 of 721 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

The staff at the splendid star suite couldn't do enough for us. We stayed for 2 nights and felt very relaxed and at home here.
The hotel is small and quiet. Good central location and we could walk to the lake in 5 minutes. There's a fantastic coffee shop a couple of doors down. Just around the corner was the most amazing spring rolls and other deep fried goodies. It also felt more relaxed and safer in this part of town compared to other areas.
If you go to the night market, leave your belongings in the hotel and only take a small amount of cash with you. I foolishly took my purse with me in my bag and it got taken from the thief slashing the bag despite being extremely cautious!
All in all it was a lovely trip and the hotel I can highly recommend! Such good value (90 USD for 2 nights).
Transfer from the airport in a private car by the hotel was 18 USD each way (airport is miles away from centre if town).

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Cons:
1) Church bells chime starting from 4.30AM to 11PM, every 15min. At 5AM (yes, half an hour before sunrise) it rings for 2min continuously. I got woken up at 4.30am by the chimes on the first morning, but I managed to sleep through it the second morning.

2) No staircase.

Pros:
1) Comfortable rooms with tea & coffee making facilities, computer with internet in the room.
2) Very little street noise (from honking, traffic)

Room Tip: I would not stay on Au Trieu street due to church bells
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The staff and location are the most valuable assets of this hotel. I don't know that this would be considered a solid 3 star hotel by US standards, however, it is a definite recommendation. The staff is very keen in staying attuned to your needs. For example, if they notice it's raining or about to rain outside, they will offer an umbrella. If you walk in from a hot day, you are offered a drink. This is done out of consideration and not because they are expecting anything. In fact, it is akin to being welcomed home each time you return. That is refreshing indeed. I agree with some of the previous notations about a few things being broken, and some of the less than refined areas of construction, but you still get excellent value for your money. To be able to offer fresh fruit juices, breakfast, toiletries, and cleaned room everyday at that location at the price is a huge bargain. The physical accommodations, while not 5 star is a typical hotel room of its category....nothing is missing. They do try to sell you tour packages, but so does every hotel and once you dont show interest you are left alone. The cathedral can be a double edged sword..it 's beautiful, but the bells ring frequently. You get used to it, and if you stay on the opposite side, it's less intrusive. Judy, Phuong, and the manager, and every staff member I came across did a superb job. The only reason not all names get mentioned, is the fact some are more capable of speaking English than others, therefore you interact more. Same goes for the ladies who clean the rooms...they also try to communicate in English. Great job everyone, hopefully your bosses realizes how great a job you're doing. I feel like every dollar was well spent here.

Room Tip: If you think you will be bothered by the ringing bells of the church, ask for a room on the other si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winsomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I booked by Agoda (it cost me more than hostelbookers.com by $35 for 2 nights so don't use them!) and had to trust the photos, which proved to be accurate. Even though I am travelling solo I went for the honeymoon suite for its size, balcony and interesting bed!

The noise of the cathedral is a little off-putting (5am and the bells didn't seem to stop for 10 mins but it probably wasn't really that long!) and the stairs are not the best thing, but except for that it's quite nice.

The furnishings and fittings are nice, but only superficial and quality, typically in Vietnam, is low. But, there's cable TV with plenty of English (and other language) channels, wifi (which didn't work well) and a computer for use in the honeymoon suite. There's a bath tub which is very nice too. It'd be great if there was a rainshower but oh well!

Overall, a pleasant hotel and reasonably priced. Didn't have breakfast but it looked good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kawaskuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0 km away
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
0.1 km away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.7 km away
Hanoi Emerald Waters Hotel Trendy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Holiday Emerald Hotel
Holiday Emerald Hotel
#4 of 607 in Hanoi
471 reviews
0.4 km away
Splendid Hotel & Spa
Splendid Hotel & Spa
#4 of 672 in Hanoi
247 reviews
1 km away
Splendid Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Suite Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Suite Hotel

Address: No 28 Au Trieu Street | Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 844, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 672 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: AU$39 - AU$82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Splendid Star Suite Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is the newest star in our hotel group, located at one of the quietest streets in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, and it takes you only a few steps to reach the heart of Hanoi - Hoan Kiem Lake, as well as a lot of famous tourist spots, restaurants and other recreational places. Splendid Star Suite is the result from learning serving-client experiences at three of our prior hotels, aiming at satisfying customers best. Splendid Star Suite is an excellent blend of modern architecture and tasteful design; also all rooms come with a balcony or a large window with large space, so you can see a extremely beautiful panorama of the church as well as the life of Hanoians. Rooms are equipped with sound-proof glass so as to provide a quiet and relaxed space to escape from the hustle and bustle and hectic pace of life in Hanoi. A more special thing is the design of round bed room with a romantic and cozy atmosphere dedicated to couples, definitely promising to bring you sweet and memorable memories. Above all, Splendid Star Suite hotel is a really ideal place to stay with the staff trained under the standards of Splendid Star Hotel system who are enthusiastic, professional and always ready to welcome you and longing to contribute to your memorable vacation about Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Wotif.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Splendid Star Suite Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing