We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (780)
Filter reviews
780 results
Traveller rating
555
155
39
14
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
555
155
39
14
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews honeymoon suite church bells halong bay joseph cathedral no elevator old quarter family room balcony overlooking lower floor perfect location hoan kiem lake the hotel staff welcome drink sister hotel friendly hotel amazing staff small hotel
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 780 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2012

The staff at the splendid star suite couldn't do enough for us. We stayed for 2 nights and felt very relaxed and at home here.
The hotel is small and quiet. Good central location and we could walk to the lake in 5 minutes. There's a fantastic coffee shop a couple of doors down. Just around the corner was the most amazing spring rolls and other deep fried goodies. It also felt more relaxed and safer in this part of town compared to other areas.
If you go to the night market, leave your belongings in the hotel and only take a small amount of cash with you. I foolishly took my purse with me in my bag and it got taken from the thief slashing the bag despite being extremely cautious!
All in all it was a lovely trip and the hotel I can highly recommend! Such good value (90 USD for 2 nights).
Transfer from the airport in a private car by the hotel was 18 USD each way (airport is miles away from centre if town).

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amedawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Cons:
1) Church bells chime starting from 4.30AM to 11PM, every 15min. At 5AM (yes, half an hour before sunrise) it rings for 2min continuously. I got woken up at 4.30am by the chimes on the first morning, but I managed to sleep through it the second morning.

2) No staircase.

Pros:
1) Comfortable rooms with tea & coffee making facilities, computer with internet in the room.
2) Very little street noise (from honking, traffic)

Room Tip: I would not stay on Au Trieu street due to church bells
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wanderlust1279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The staff and location are the most valuable assets of this hotel. I don't know that this would be considered a solid 3 star hotel by US standards, however, it is a definite recommendation. The staff is very keen in staying attuned to your needs. For example, if they notice it's raining or about to rain outside, they will offer an umbrella. If you walk in from a hot day, you are offered a drink. This is done out of consideration and not because they are expecting anything. In fact, it is akin to being welcomed home each time you return. That is refreshing indeed. I agree with some of the previous notations about a few things being broken, and some of the less than refined areas of construction, but you still get excellent value for your money. To be able to offer fresh fruit juices, breakfast, toiletries, and cleaned room everyday at that location at the price is a huge bargain. The physical accommodations, while not 5 star is a typical hotel room of its category....nothing is missing. They do try to sell you tour packages, but so does every hotel and once you dont show interest you are left alone. The cathedral can be a double edged sword..it 's beautiful, but the bells ring frequently. You get used to it, and if you stay on the opposite side, it's less intrusive. Judy, Phuong, and the manager, and every staff member I came across did a superb job. The only reason not all names get mentioned, is the fact some are more capable of speaking English than others, therefore you interact more. Same goes for the ladies who clean the rooms...they also try to communicate in English. Great job everyone, hopefully your bosses realizes how great a job you're doing. I feel like every dollar was well spent here.

Room Tip: If you think you will be bothered by the ringing bells of the church, ask for a room on the other side...the rooms that end in '01, instead of '02. Also, if you don't like exercise climbing stairs, ask for a lower floor.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winsomet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

I booked by Agoda (it cost me more than hostelbookers.com by $35 for 2 nights so don't use them!) and had to trust the photos, which proved to be accurate. Even though I am travelling solo I went for the honeymoon suite for its size, balcony and interesting bed!

The noise of the cathedral is a little off-putting (5am and the bells didn't seem to stop for 10 mins but it probably wasn't really that long!) and the stairs are not the best thing, but except for that it's quite nice.

The furnishings and fittings are nice, but only superficial and quality, typically in Vietnam, is low. But, there's cable TV with plenty of English (and other language) channels, wifi (which didn't work well) and a computer for use in the honeymoon suite. There's a bath tub which is very nice too. It'd be great if there was a rainshower but oh well!

Overall, a pleasant hotel and reasonably priced. Didn't have breakfast but it looked good.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kawaskuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We recently stayed a month in this hotel. The staff were very professional but also very friendly and they made our stay in the hotel feel like home, rather than a hotel. Great facility, close to everything. We stayed in the spacious beautiful room with a balcony overlooking the St Joseph Catholic Cathedral. Central to everything, the Old Quarter, loads of Vietnamese as well as Western restaurants and Hoan Kiem Lake. All the staff couldn't have given us better service. Each suite has a computer in the room, all facilities are modern and reasonably priced for the value. Breakfasts were great with lots of variety. We are happy to highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews