We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a special experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moon Garden Homestay
Ranked #49 of 628 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 May 2017

Amazing spot to kick off our two week trip through Vietnam and Cambodia! I stayed with a friend for one night, and it was a welcome escape with peace and quiet after a hectic (but fun!) night in Hanoi.

We loved our shared stilt house, cooking lesson, and bike ride through the Ky Son village and rice fields. Toan was AMAZING!!! I wish we could have stayed longer!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
Thank LizzieB237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGCustomerCare, Chủ sở hữu at Moon Garden Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Ms. Lizzie

Warmest Greetings from Moon Garden Homestay
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at #MoonGarden and taking your time to write such a valuable review. We'd love to read that you were satisfied during stay at Moon Garden. Moon Garden’s family members are always very gracious, hoping to do more than what our guests expect us to and give you a very wonderful accommodation experience with us. We hope to deliver the warmth of Vietnam to every guest. Thank you once again for staying with us.

Vietnam and Moon Garden always welcome you. We will miss you alot !!!

Best Regards

Nguyen Thu Ha – Moon Garden’s Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Moon Garden Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

I visited for two nights with my fiancé and his parents. We had a really great time, with the highlight being our tour guide Toan. He spent a lot of time with us and was very genuine, answering all our questions to help us understand his culture. It was a unique experience being able to spend time with a local who spoke such good English. The food was also very good, though they often served us much more than we needed. Only con is that it is pretty expensive and they don't even include drinking water at meals/otherwise.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
Thank Carli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGCustomerCare, Người quản lý at Moon Garden Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Ms. Carli
Warmest Greetings from Moon Garden Homestay <3
We are so glad to know you love our facilities and satisfy with your stay in our MoonGarden homestay!
Your support and nice experience is the motivation for us to continue trying to be active every day.
Hopefully we will welcome you back in the very near future. :)

Best Regards
Nguyen Thu Ha – Moon Garden’s Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stayed for 2 nights after a hectic stay in Hanoi and loved very moment. Superb comfortable room in historic building.Probably made for us by the expertise and kindness shown by Toan- a teacher when not at Moon Garden
We began with a cookery class [Toan]- we ate the proceeds for lunch! Hand massage. Dressed up in wonderful costume for Buddhist prayers, delicious food. Foot soaking in front of roaring bonfire with charming french couple. Tai Chi class in the morning - again Toan. Lovely car and walking tour of historic villages.
My husband did some fishing late afternoon in the lake.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judi L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGCustomerCare, Chủ sở hữu at Moon Garden Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Ms. Judi

Thank you very much. We Moon Garden staffs and Toan are very happy to know how you enjoy our facilities and satisfy with your stay in our #MoonGarden homestay!
Once again, thank you so much for choosing our Moon Garden Homestay!
We are looking forward to welcoming you next time. :)

Kind regards,

Nguyen Thu Ha – Moon Garden’s Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2017

Moon Garden is a wonderful place to stay if you want some peace and quiet during your stay in Vietnam. Yes, it's true that it's not completely quiet as I doubt there's anywhere you can truly get away from the noisy roads in particular. However, compared to other places it was certainly quieter!

The rooms are beautiful with antique furnishings but with modern facilities. A small gripe would be that there is so much antique 'stuff', which leaves very little room for your own 'stuff'. We had a small amount of hanging space available , but only one small desk drawer in the whole room. The room was well looked after and we were particularly grateful that each evening, whilst we were at dinner, a full mosquito net was put in place. Saying that, there were definitely nowhere near the number of mosquitos we expected, despite quite a bit of rain.

The staff were lively and very helpful, but be prepared for the fact that only our guide and the manager had any English to speak of, so best polish up your sign language! The food was varied and more than plentiful. For our own taste, we would have preferred a little more spice and wonder if the flavours had been toned down to what they perceive is 'European taste'.

Our guide, Toan, was wonderful and we cannot speak highly enough of him and his wonderful family to whom we were also introduced (who also spoke great English). He was there to meet us on our arrival and took us on two fantastic cycle trips as well as being around for much of the time to help us at mealtimes, etc, when communication might otherwise have been difficult.

Our only small gripe is that the place is definitely pricey. We booked directly (via website) before we arrived in Vietnam and subsequently realised just how cheap other places are. Although our hotel in Hanoi was very nice, we paid 7 times as much for Moon Garden. Admittedly we had full board (and plenty of it as mentioned above), but when great food can be bought so cheaply elsewhere we did feel a little ripped off. Still, it doesn't prevent us from recommending this place wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2017

There are many reasons to visit this unique place; the architecture, great staff, good food, fantastic rooms (the beds aren't that hard), tremendous activities. Are there any downsides? None that are significant, but although the grounds of the home stay are fantastic it's not quite the completely peaceful idyll that some claim. There is a road across the rice field (some distance) but the noise is noticeable, particularly with the penchant for sounding horns in Vietnam. Unfortunately we also suffered a 2 night wedding party in the adjacent property where it seems that a Vietnam wedding celebration is not complete without all day and late night karaoke delivered through 1000W speakers. Not much our poor hosts can do about this I guess. Is this a regular occurrence??

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MGCustomerCare, Guest Relations Manager at Moon Garden Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2017

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your kind words. It is regrettable because of the noise caused by the wedding in the village.
Once again, thank you so much for choosing our Moon Garden Homestay!
We are looking forward to welcoming you next time.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
45.7 km away
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
#364 of 597 in Hanoi
24 reviews
38.8 km away
Ping Hotel
Ping Hotel
#214 of 597 in Hanoi
31 reviews
45.3 km away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 km away
Hotel 1-2-3 Hanoi
Hotel 1-2-3 Hanoi
#162 of 597 in Hanoi
37 reviews
45.1 km away
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
#175 of 597 in Hanoi
24 reviews
43.0 km away
Hotel 24 Kim Ma
Hotel 24 Kim Ma
#287 of 628 in Hanoi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hanoi

Been to Moon Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Garden Homestay

Address: Ky Son village | Xuan Son Commune, Son Tay District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 628 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $233 - $611 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon Garden Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you really care about Vietnamese culture and want to experience yourself the life of a traditional Hanoian, this is really the tour you can not afford to miss. Here comes a uniquely exciting tour for you to explore the true beauty of ancient Hanoi.A perfect place for family stay, weekend holidays and anyone who is in a big love with countryside and wants to get a real taste of Vietnam rural daily life and culture.Moon Garden HomeStay is located in Ky Son Village, Xuan Son Commune, Son Tay District, Hanoi, Vietnam. It is 55 km far from Hanoi Center and 4 km from Duong Lam Ancient Village and Mia Pagoda. There are two types of wooden houses in which:- 4 Ancients Wooden houses which are elegantly and comfortably restored with 8 rooms privately. - 1 Wooden House on Stilt - a Pile dwelling, typical house restored elegantly and comfortably which is a shared big house of 9 shared rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au and Agoda so you can book your Moon Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing