We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A relaxing, elegant rural hotel (not a homestay)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moon Garden Homestay
Ranked #49 of 627 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Moon Garden is a great place to relax - a perfect first stop in Vietnam to recover from jet lag. The staff are all quite friendly and attentive. There is not much English spoken (one staffer is proficient in French) but it is such a well-oiled machine with well-planned activities for guests (a short cooking class, some quiet pole-fishing, biking through neighboring villages), that there is little need for better communication. All modern amenities are available (wi-fi, cable tv) and the food, oh the food! Come hungry because the meals are plentiful. The mattresses and pillows are quite firm, and the rooms are well-appointed with Vietnamese decor.
If there's any chance of rain, best to bring a book, because you will have little else to do during bad weather. But it's so relaxing, it's a great place to just unwind and get away from the world.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Moon Garden Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 88 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2012

After 11 hours flight and the trip by car from Hanoi airport my mother and I arrived at Moon Garden mid morning. This was the perfect way to start our trip, friendly people, relaxing athmosphere and beautiful landscape. We had a cooking class before lunch and went for a bicycle ride in the country side in the afternoon, all the kids on their way home from school greeting us - really warmed our hearts. The shower (with scented herbs) after the bike ride using a ladle in the traditional style was wonderful and after dinner we were given a footbath and massage before retiring for the night. Next morning after Tai Chi and breakfast we had a walk around the village - invited to tea at an elderly couple (thanks to our guides it was possible to ask questions and exchange with them). I really want to express my profund thanks to Phan & Thuy (I hope I remember the names correctly) for making this an unforgettable part of our journey
- Thanks!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank COdvall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We spent the first 2 nights of our honeymoon in the Moongarden. It's a wonderful place to experience rural Vietnam away from the busy streets of Hanoi. The rooms were luxurious and the staff were very friendly and took us on walking and cycling tours of the nearby villages. There were also a range of activities we did to get antiquated with the Vietnamese way of life (e.g. cookery lessons). The owners have moved traditional Vietnamese buildings (an old catholic church and a traditional stilted house) from original thier locations to the Moongarden so it's also a conservation project. We would really recommend this as a relaxing place to stay, with welcoming staff and great food.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

An over night stay at this place was part of our 2 weeks tour package. Though our travel agent sent me the itinerary, I did not research on any of the destinations I was sent. We are a family of 5, parents and 3 children ages 7,9, and 11. Upon hearing the word, "home-stay", I was a bit worried because we travel with small children! However, upon arriving at the place and were shown to our rooms/house, we were so impressed and rather surprised! It's really an understatement to call it a "home-stay". It is too luxury to be called such name! it felt like a very upscale private residence in a charming farming village to me! We loved every thing about this place, while our children loved to explore around and all the dogs that there. It was very peaceful. Our children enjoyed the bicycling tour around the village, seeing old houses, rice paddies and other farming crops. They loved the fishing trip and kite flying. The staffers were so nice, would cater to your needs though they can't speak English. The owner's brother works there and he's 1 of the most down to earth guys ever. He spoiled our 3 children with his attention, his English was ok.
The place was very charming, peaceful and clean. We had the whole house to ourselves, my husband and I slept in 1 big bedroom while our 3 children slept in another just across the hall. I enjoyed walking around the garden before exercising and breakfast. Wish I had a place like that! Over all experience was great! Would stay here again and again, and highly recommended!

Room Tip: No fitness center, but followed the exercise showing by 1 of the staffers right after our cups of fr...
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

1.5 hours drive west of Hanoi, this is a gem! We found it on Trip Advisor, and it was the highlight of our 3 week stay in Vietnam. To call Moon Garden a 'home stay' understates it, although it does feel like being in a very classy private residence. The complex of buildings is set in beautiful gardens on the edge of a lake, in a rural rice-growing region. The buildings themselves are wonderful traditional architecture of several kinds (stilt house, family houses, relocated church) but built to luxurious standards and very tastefully furnished with antiques and crafts from all over Vietnam. The attention to detail and comfort - from the divine traditional treatments to the gorgeous food - were exquisite. We particularly enjoyed our bicycle trips into the countryside, where we could stop when and where we liked, interact with the locals, and enjoy the area. The ancient town of Duong Lam is particularly worth a visit. Our hosts went to no end of trouble to make sure our needs were met, even to offering us their cell phone to contact a family member in hospital in New Zealand when we couldn't get through on our own phone. The ancestor ceremony was very special, and added another dimension to the whole experience. It's expensive, but really a priceless all round experience! You can book direct with them: moon garden@fpt.vn, or www.moongardenhomestay.com

Room Tip: Any where you sleep here is beautiful and very romantic!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Petadonz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
45.7 km away
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
#364 of 598 in Hanoi
24 reviews
38.8 km away
Ping Hotel
Ping Hotel
#214 of 598 in Hanoi
31 reviews
45.3 km away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 km away
Hotel 1-2-3 Hanoi
Hotel 1-2-3 Hanoi
#154 of 598 in Hanoi
37 reviews
45.1 km away
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
#179 of 598 in Hanoi
24 reviews
43.0 km away
Hotel 24 Kim Ma
Hotel 24 Kim Ma
#287 of 627 in Hanoi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hanoi

Been to Moon Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Garden Homestay

Address: Ky Son village | Xuan Son Commune, Son Tay District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 627 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $231 - $612 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon Garden Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you really care about Vietnamese culture and want to experience yourself the life of a traditional Hanoian, this is really the tour you can not afford to miss. Here comes a uniquely exciting tour for you to explore the true beauty of ancient Hanoi.A perfect place for family stay, weekend holidays and anyone who is in a big love with countryside and wants to get a real taste of Vietnam rural daily life and culture.Moon Garden HomeStay is located in Ky Son Village, Xuan Son Commune, Son Tay District, Hanoi, Vietnam. It is 55 km far from Hanoi Center and 4 km from Duong Lam Ancient Village and Mia Pagoda. There are two types of wooden houses in which:- 4 Ancients Wooden houses which are elegantly and comfortably restored with 8 rooms privately. - 1 Wooden House on Stilt - a Pile dwelling, typical house restored elegantly and comfortably which is a shared big house of 9 shared rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Moon Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing