We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to Detail. Delightful and relaxing.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Moon Garden Homestay
Ranked #49 of 626 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 April 2012

This is one of those places that would cost a fortune anywhere else in the world (not cheap by any means and certainly not by Vietnamese standards, but elsewhere this would have been way out of our budget).

No detail has gone unnoticed here, from flower petals on the bed to the Sapa region textile animals that adorn the stilt house.

We arrived very early after our overnight train from Sapa. Since our room wasn't ready, we were able to shower and rest in the stilt house (which is immaculately clean).

All of the meals were delicious and had good variety. The staff is friendly and happy to help you accommodate special needs.

We loved having our hands and feet soaked in herbs, and the herbal steam bath we had at night is something I wish I could bottle up and take back home.

Our room was beautiful and comfortable. We were just one couple and shared our building with a Danish couple and their son. The set up is ideal for a family with one or two children where the kids could have their own room and you could have an entire building for your family (there is a nice common area in between the two rooms).

The "church" where meals are served was moved to the site from another place. It is gorgeous. Our evening meal was set to candlelight in the courtyard -- I felt like we were on a tropical island.

The rice paddies and pond are misty and peaceful. I've never been anywhere like this before. What a terrific experience! It's amazing that it's only 1 hour from Hanoi. We also really enjoyed the cooking lesson!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annabella G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Moon Garden Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 92 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2012

Our stay at Moon Garden was probably the highlight of our three week tour of SE Asia.
We arrived mid morning so we were taken to the Stilt House to rest and drink tea because our room was not quite ready. As we sat on big comfy mattresses sipping our tea and gazing at the tapestry of green rice fields below, we knew we were in for a real treat.
We spent two nights but could easily have stayed longer because it was both restful and interesting at the same time. This place has been planned and created with such care to detail, you will have an authentic experience of village life in Vietnam but have every comfort of a high end big city hotel. The staff are lovely, the accommodation is beautiful and the grounds and scenery breath taking. We rode bicycles into a small town, went fishing, had a cooking lesson, did Thai Chi before breakfast on the magnificent terrace, strolled through the village and mingled with locals and the adorable children who were walking home from school.
All activities are of course optional but you'll want to do everything.
We loved our stay here and highly recommend Moon Garden Home Stay to anyone spending time in Norhtern Vietnam.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DianaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

About an 1 hours drive outside of Hanoi you will find Moon Garden in the charming village of Ky Son. This place really surprised us, the accommodation is astounding with lots of attention to detail, the food was delicious and plentiful, the staff were friendly and made you feel welcome. There is lots of activities you can participate in including a bike tour around the village, Tai Chi in the morning, and cooking classes to name a few. There is also relaxing time with medicinal foot soaks and baths. Our only problem was that we only stayed 1 night and would have loved to stay longer. I highly recommend Moon Garden Home stay for a truly magical experience.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hellsbells21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here and it was very special. Our hosts made us feel so welcome, the traditional accommodation was a very high standard, food was excellent. Completely different to anything else we experienced in Vietnam which made it even more memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank familyf0ur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Daniela310871
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MG-CustomerCare, Giám đốc quan hệ khách hàng at Moon Garden Homestay, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
45.7 km away
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
Lenid De Ho Guom Hotel
#365 of 596 in Hanoi
24 reviews
38.8 km away
Ping Hotel
Ping Hotel
#214 of 596 in Hanoi
31 reviews
45.3 km away
Church Boutique Hotel Nha Tho
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
44.7 km away
Hotel 1-2-3 Hanoi
Hotel 1-2-3 Hanoi
#161 of 596 in Hanoi
37 reviews
45.1 km away
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
Lenid Hotel Tho Nhuom
#178 of 596 in Hanoi
24 reviews
43.0 km away
Hotel 24 Kim Ma
Hotel 24 Kim Ma
#287 of 626 in Hanoi
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hanoi

Been to Moon Garden Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moon Garden Homestay

Address: Ky Son village | Xuan Son Commune, Son Tay District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 626 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price Range: $232 - $615 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Moon Garden Homestay 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you really care about Vietnamese culture and want to experience yourself the life of a traditional Hanoian, this is really the tour you can not afford to miss. Here comes a uniquely exciting tour for you to explore the true beauty of ancient Hanoi.A perfect place for family stay, weekend holidays and anyone who is in a big love with countryside and wants to get a real taste of Vietnam rural daily life and culture.Moon Garden HomeStay is located in Ky Son Village, Xuan Son Commune, Son Tay District, Hanoi, Vietnam. It is 55 km far from Hanoi Center and 4 km from Duong Lam Ancient Village and Mia Pagoda. There are two types of wooden houses in which:- 4 Ancients Wooden houses which are elegantly and comfortably restored with 8 rooms privately. - 1 Wooden House on Stilt - a Pile dwelling, typical house restored elegantly and comfortably which is a shared big house of 9 shared rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Agoda, lastminute.com.au and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Moon Garden Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing