We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Very good hotel and lovely people. Great location and friendly service!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Camel City Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Camel City Hotel
Ranked #15 of 538 Hanoi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bandar Seri Begawan, Brunei Darussalam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very good hotel and lovely people. Great location and friendly service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

The staffs in the Camel City Hotel made our stay in Hanoi for a week very memorable.

Upon arrival, we warmly received a coffee/lemon tea while various tour options were explained to us. We had an excellent stay. Staffs are extremely professional, so friendly and helpful with great service, special thank to Khui Ngoe Huig and Bui Van Hai. They helps us with tour and everything with a very good price. They are knowledgeable about what to do and what to see in Hanoi and nothing is too much for them to organise. We booked all our tours and other services through them. They will handle any requests.

Great location to sites and eateries. After returning back to the hotel after a day out, we were asked to join staff dinner even lunch at the dining room. Came back from trip and they gave us a room to rest and we received a complimentary upgrade to a larger room with great decor and facilities. We were very happy with our room which was clean and tastefully decorated. The rooms are well decorated and very clean. When on the trip they looked after our big bags free of charge. I can't thank the staff enough for their friendly, helpful advice.

Do take the hotels offer for airport shuttle (US$12) to avoid being scammed by taxi drivers.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    134
    34
    14
    11
See reviews for
48
186
74
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

We, a group of 3 friends, stayed there for 2 nights and contacted the hotel directly by e-mail (cheaper than through booking sites). The hotel is in a very good location, within walking distance to hoa kiem lake (5 minutes), next to a "pub street" but in a small side street which is not too loud (regarding all the beeping bikes in Hanoi).
The room was clean, bright although not too big (basic). There is no elevator, but staff gladly helps with carrying bags up the stairs.

Anyway, hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. In our bathroom broke a waterpipe and they fixed it within minutes, so it didn't bother us too much.
As most of the hotels, they have a small "travel agency" at the entrance whose agent will try to sell you a tour / ticket / whatever. Upon our arrival we were told that our room is not ready yet (~3pm) and we were offered coffee. Obviously, the room indeed was ready and us sitting there with coffee was only to give the travel guy a chance to offer us a tour. However, the price for tours are not too bad (e.g. 1 day Halong bay for 28USD, we bought the same tour in another agency for 25 USD) and if you don't want to look for another agency (they are everywhere btw.) you could consider booking directly in the hotel.

In conclusion, Camel City Hotel was definitely worth the money and especially its location is outstanding.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swissboat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2012

We booked Camel City through a booking website and selected a double. After arriving very early in the morning, we made our way to the hotel and were both able to leave our bags, and offered breakfast! The room wasn't available so we returned later to be offered a twin room (only recently married...) on the 3rd floor or a mouldy double on the ground floor. Choose the twin and pushed the beds together... Breakfast was good, however with the staff also trying to sell tours, the experience wasn't great. Best option to get to Ha Long bay isn't on a tour, but a bus/ferry transfer to Cat Ba, then book a tour there

Room Tip: Rooms higher up are quieter (the noise echoes through the stairwell)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank waipounamu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
95 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Central location in old town which I liked. Building is old. No elevator but staff happy to carry your luggage. Staff helpful in booking tickets and tours without taking too much commission. Tours can probably be gotten slightly cheaper if shopping around and bargaining. Breakfast standard budget Vietnamese. Blankets and linen felt damp and not fresh - which may be due to the very cold and rainy weather. Bedroom and bathroom minimal in size. Hot water disappeared after a while. OK place for the budget traveler but maybe slightly overpriced.
Also: Be warned of skilled pick-pokers acting as sales persons, especially in crowded places or when crossing busy streets around Hoan Kiem lake. I lost a camera and I'm usually quite on guard and very used to travel in Asian cities.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Gestalter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

make sure you get a room with a window because some rooms dont have one (they still place curtains to trick you). the staff is friendly and they offer reasonably priced tours but be sure to bargain, its never their final price and there is plenty of competition. we paid 14 USD a night, which is cheaper than most rooms.. we had no window and we got the room closest to the lobby so it was very loud all day and night. even so, well worth the $$.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eilonmorav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.3 km away
Hanoi Gate 1 Hotel
Hanoi Gate 1 Hotel
#23 of 538 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
0.5 km away
Little Hanoi Diamond Hotel
0.2 km away
Hanoi Guest House
Hanoi Guest House
#3 of 538 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
New Vision Hotel
New Vision Hotel
#12 of 538 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.4 km away
B&B Hanoi Hotel
B&B Hanoi Hotel
#11 of 538 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
0.2 km away
Finnegans Hotel
Finnegans Hotel
#27 of 538 in Hanoi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camel City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camel City Hotel

Property: Camel City Hotel
Address: 08/50 Dao Duy Tu street | Hoan Kiem Dist, Hanoi, Hanoi 84, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 538 B&Bs / Inns in Hanoi
Price range (per night): $23 - $39
Hotel Class:3 star — Camel City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on No 8/50 Dao Duy Tu Lane, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi Old Quarter – 1000 years old, is one of the best place for leisure& Business Traveler. Camel City hotel is between the famous Hoan Kiem Lake and the traditional Dong Xuan night market. Only foot steps away to many famous attractions such as Ngoc Son Temple, the Opera House, the Water puppet Theater, the Temple of literature, the Vietnamese Art Museum, and St. Joseph's Catholic Church etc,...With a total of 30 quality rooms are well making up according to international standard. Standing shower are also available in the room, and bathtub are also in deluxe and suite room. Non-smoking rooms are also available, harmonious decoration. Tourists will feel very warm and comfortable when they are staying here. Equipped facilities, modern, including: air-conditioners , computers with high-speed Internet access (WiFi), Satellite TV, TV LCD 32 " , fridge, and standing shower etc,...The staff at the hotel will be delighted to help you, and assist you to offer a staying without worry about nothing and you will feel like at your home.For your traveling and your business solution as well, Camel City Hotel is definitely the good choice whenever your arrive in Hanoi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Camel City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing