We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Ranked #29 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Jalisco, Mexico
Level Contributor
276 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

I had been in touch with Lana, at the Charming II Hotel, for months in planning our trip to Vietnam. She was always prompt in her replies, courteous, and extremely helpful. When we arrived, it was like meeting a friend and her face actually lit up. But, I found the rest of the staff to be just as nice and helpful. Having travelled over many parts of the world, we have never encountered nicer people in a hotel except for a couple of B&B's we stayed at in Ireland. These people were so wonderful my wife and I bought a large box of imported chocolates for them and I wrote an e-mail to the owner telling him how great his staff was.

The hotel was in a great location in the old Quarter, our room large, and I loved having a computer in the room. The place was immaculately clean and they served a small but good breakfast buffet in the mornings. They are also near a great restaurant, Highway 4, only a block away.

I could not imagine staying anywhere else should we ever return to Hanoi.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank solara13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,455 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,213
    215
    18
    4
    5
See reviews for
370
1,010
224
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

This unassuming hotel on Hang Ga (i.e. Chicken Street) in the Old Quarter was a pleasant surprise. Commonly listed as a 2 or 3 star establishment, what we really walked into were 4 star rooms and 5 star service. The rooms had all the amenities one could ask for, including your own computer (with free internet) in each room. And then the staff were so friendly that they actually end up becoming your friends. The location itself is in walking distance to the bourgeoning bar scene and some great food options, and of course Hoan Kiem Lake as well. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone's stay in Hanoi, despite the fact that they don't sell any chicken...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank abid4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Really the perfect hotel. The rooms were amazing and luxurious, and service was seriously the best. Everyone there were so friendly! and helpful. You would walk into the lobby and be greeted by genuine smiles and they would help you with any problems. Loved all the people who worked there and how accommodating they were. The complementary breakfast was great too, and walking in your room to find a plate of juicy complementary mango was heaven. This hotel made our trip to Hanoi special. We were 7 guys; 5 of Indian ethnicity and therefore looked the same in the Charming 2 girls eyes. However they took the time and learnt all our name and remembered them throughout the whole trip. That was something no other hotel on our South East Asia ever did. It was all the little extra things like that, that made Charming 2 Hotel perfect for me. Next time I go Hanoi I will definitely stay at Charming 2!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

We agree with all the positive comments made about this superb small hotel – the staff are amazing, they all have a great sense of humour and are unendingly helpful – we loved staying here. A couple of tips which you may find helpful if you decide to stay (and you'd be mad not to choose Hotel Charming II).
Don't exchange money at the airport they offered the worst rate we came across in Hanoi. The Hotel changes dollar at a rate comparable to the banks, as did a number of shops and restuarants so it easy to pay in dollars and not a rip off on the exchange rate.
Do ask Hotel Charming to arrange your pick up and drop off from the aiport, at 18dollars it maybe a bit more expensive than arranging it yourself but it is so much easier (particularly for the pick up)
Do try the street cafe nr the hotel (turn left out of hotel, immediately left, past the bamboo shops and the cafe is on the opposite side of the road on the junction) – the guys seem a bit laddish but is all good natured, the chicken dish we had was yummy and the beer is cheap.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Do consider upgrading to a suite. The standard/delux rooms are a good size but the suites are very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyonTourStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

Our room was nice, loved the complimentary fruit, tea and coffee. Breakfast was good too but the best was being so well taken care of in a city that isn't the easiest. We appreciated the pick up at the airport so much but the most remarkable was the way we were treated our last day. Our train left at 7:30 pm. Even tho we checked out at 12 we were offered a room at 5 for a shower or just to relax. Best of all, when we mentioned we had heard it could be hard to find your train car, we were taken by taxi to the train station and a staff member went with us right to our car (and it is very hard to know where to find your train car - no signs at all) and helped us find our cabin. Above and beyond. We thank all the lovely staff.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayo21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.4 km away
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
#12 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
0.5 km away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.1 km away
Calypso Grand Hotel
Calypso Grand Hotel
#24 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Oriental Central Hotel
0.4 km away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
0.6 km away
La Beaute De Hanoi Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel

Property: Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel
Address: 31 Hang Ga Str. | Hoan Kiem, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Price range (per night): $42 - $116
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Charming 2 Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new hotel that features luxurious rooms and suites, We offer convenience to our guests by providing modern elevators, restaurants, and other great amenities you can expect from a modern hotel. Offering fantastic value of money, it is located right in Hanoi Old Quarter, approximately about 5 minutes' walk from Hoan Kiem Lake and the popular Thang Long Water Puppet Show. Indeed, in close proximity to the excellent attractions, We also offer air conditioned rooms, inside room computer and internet, desk, minibar and a balcony in certain rooms. A convenient place of stay, it is a good choice. The Charming 2 Hotel (Add: 31 Hang Ga, Hoan Kiem, Hanoi ) - located in the center of Hanoi Old Quarter, just 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing