We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will always recommend and come back myself”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Ranked #25 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Will always recommend and come back myself”
Reviewed 16 January 2012

First look at the area gave me the felling of being in a congested area back home. The hotel from inside was really good, with more than spacious rooms and extremely friendly staff.

Upon arrival got a complete brief on the area and tourist spots, courtesy Martin who loves to talk and is always there to help. You need him and he will appear from no where like a superman.

Over all extremely satisfying experience.

Room Tip: The higher floor you go to, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandix69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,958 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,642
    273
    27
    4
    12
See reviews for
351
633
186
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2012

This hotel is ok it's clean, average breakfast and great staff but very noisy and showers did not work..

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julzi101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I present a bit of cautionary tale. I stayed at this hotel on my first night in Hanoi. The staff was helpful, the room was clean and bright plus free wireless was provided which is always appreciated. I was impressed enough that my friends and I decided to book at the hotel again for our last night together in Hanoi. On the reserved night, we returned to discover that we did not have rooms, even though we had placed a deposit. Fortunately, we had a receipt that clearly indicated that we had booked two rooms for that given night and had left a deposit. The manager was contacted, apologized profusely then moved us to the Splendid Star "1" just a few doors down. While we were treated well, no explanation was ever provided for the overbooking. So, while I have no complaints about the room or the kindness of the staff, I do advise people who reserve ahead of time to be careful and, perhaps, have a back-up plan in place.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YXEinWAW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

We didn't originally book this hotel but was transferred as there were problems with the one we booked. At first glance it doesn't seem like much, nestled in a quant and quiet little alley that cars can't pass. But instantly we felt a very warm welcome by Martin, the hotel's caretaker.

The service is here is beyond what you can expect from a 5 star hotel but personally managed by a man and his few staff. Weary from out travels, our host greeted us with hot Vietnamese tea, a platter of fruits and a warm friendly smile.

We stayed in superior rooms with twin beds that was more than spacious. The TV had a clear connection with man English channels. Free Wifi was provided as well as free made to order breakfast of your choice from many varieties.

Location wise, it is about 10 minute walk to the Old Quarter where most of the hang out during the day and the nightlife springs at sunset. It is also close to the lake where revellers can be found strolling with their dogs. It is also a very romantic hotspot with chrystalline views of an ancient shrine permeating from murky water and a majestic bridge that that homages the old dynasty.

Around the hotel itself isn't much. Nestled in the alley it makes it easily accessible from various entrances and within are aplenty of cafes and Italian cuisine. What strikes this hotel above all else however is their outstanding level of service. The manager, Martin seems to pop out of every corner and will do whatever it takes to please his customers. Communicating will not be a problem as they speak near perfect English here.

The friendly charm and location make this a perfect place to stay for any type of guest. The personal approach of the staff and vibe of this hotel will make you feel right at home.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tanapng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
114 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The hotel is very nice and clean and modern. Located in the hearth of the city not far from the lake and french district. Noisy, but i think it is impossible to find a quiet place in Hanoi. Breakfast is good. The staff are very kind and helpfull. But booking tours from the hotel i don't think so is such a good idea. The price is much higher from other places and you don't get what you are promissed. We got a very bad boat to Halong bay even we payed for a middle class. The worst train to Sapa. They tried to compensate with not charging us for the bus tickets to Hue. But we got a terrible, horrible bus that used 19 hours for a 12 hours tour.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fershtet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 km away
Splendid Star Boutique Hotel
0.5 km away
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
Hanoi Lele & Frog Hotel
#27 of 586 in Hanoi
414 reviews
0.4 km away
Golden Sun Palace Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Hanoi Holiday Diamond Hotel
0.1 km away
Splendora Hotel
Splendora Hotel
#37 of 586 in Hanoi
653 reviews
0.9 km away
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
Tu Linh Legend Hotel
#62 of 586 in Hanoi
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Splendid Star Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Splendid Star Grand Hotel

Property: Splendid Star Grand Hotel
Address: No 14 Tho Xuong lane, Au Trieu Str, Hoan Kiem dist, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 586 Hotels in Hanoi
Price range (per night): $42 - $91
Hotel Class:3 star — Splendid Star Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Star Grand Hotel is a new extension of the local family-owned Splendid Star group. It is located near the center of the Old Quarter, with only a 5 minute walk to Hoan Kiem Lake. We are located on a small street next to St. Joseph's Cathedral, away from the busy traffic of Hanoi. There are numerous restaurants and cafes within the hotel's neighborhood to suit any taste. The atmosphere is comfortable, relaxing, and inviting to all travelers whether you are coming to Vietnam for business, leisure, or holiday. The knowledgeable and accommodating hotel staff is available 24 hours a day and it prepared to help you with any request that you may have. We offer both Western and Vietnamese breakfasts every day in our dining room. We also offer convenient laundry service, tour booking, international visa application, and car service.Each room is equipped with a mini refrigerator, complimentary toiletries, cable television on a LCD screen, a private computer, WiFi connection, air conditioning, and noise canceling glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Splendid Star Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing