We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
Ranked #141 of 596 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2012

On the positive side: A good location, very friendly staff, good service, computer in each room!
A few negatives: Very hard bed (takes some getting used to), slightly unreliable access to hot water for showers.
Overall a good choice for the amount of money, and we would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
There are newer reviews for Rising Dragon Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 225 of 524 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

We used the Rising Dragon Grand Hotel as our base in Hanoi during a two-week stay and couldn't have been happier. The friendly, attentive service provided by Jenny and the rest of the staff was exemplary, and gave the hotel a family feel. They made everything easy — organizing and booking our trips to Sapa and HaLong Bay, getting us to the overnight train on time, getting tickets for the Water Puppets, arranging a Vietnamese Cooking Class. They knew our schedule better than we did! Their kindness went beyond the basic "travel agent" services and included such things as spotting us across the street and helping us manoeuvre our way through the hordes of motor scooters (without being asked) and breaking into huge welcoming smiles when we returned to the hotel — even if we'd only been gone a couple of hours.

The room we booked was upgraded to a large one with balcony overlooking the tree-lined street. A large bowl of fresh fruit was a welcome sight on our arrival, as were the tea and coffee making facilities and the in-room computer (with free Wi-Fi). One of the best things about the Rising Dragon Grand was that a small bedroom was available for us to hang out in while we were waiting to take the overnight train. to Sapa The same thing happened on our 5:00 a.m. return, as the room we'd booked for that night was not available till noon. We found the hotel to be clean and comfortable, including the beds and linen. The only item lacking in the rooms was a good reading light.

Many thanks to the people who wrote to Trip Advisor about this hotel. The reviews helped us make an excellent decision. We'd recommend the Rising Dragon Grand without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are noisy (it's the old quarter in Hanoi) but a good set of ear plugs s...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jasmine039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

I'm so confused by the positive reviews from the other guests. Granted, the service was good, but that hardly makes up for the old, dirty, yellow tinted sheets and over-used, stained towels. I was so worried that I would catch something from sleeping in the hotel beds. After taking a shower, I hesitated drying myself off with their towels lest I dirty myself again with their unsanitary towels.

The heater kept making loud noises throughout the night. And there were mosquitos and/or fleas that kept biting me throughout the night. Let's just say that it was the worst night's sleep I've ever had.

My recommendation, look elsewhere. This hotel isn't worth the money.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wesjane77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

We were originally booked into the Rising Dragon Hotel. However, after being picked up at the airport by the hotel and brought to the Rising Dragon Hotel the manager explained that there was a problem with the hot water heater so they were moving us. I freaked out a bit, thinking it was some sort of scam, but it all worked out well. They moved us to what was then called Rising Dragon II (now Rising Dragon Grand), which was quite nice. The bed was pretty hard, but that's common for Asia. Room was very clean, breakfast was delicious, and staff was very friendly and helpful! They kept our bags for us when we went to Ha Long Bay even though we didn't book the trip through them. There was a computer in the room, which was a nice extra, and plenty of hot water.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2011

Our family of four have just returned from 3 weeks in Vietnam. Our first stay was at the Raising Dragon 2. The hotel was great and the breakfast was wonderful. It has a very personal atmosphere and the staff could not be friendlier which was much appreciated as our kids took a bit of time to adjust to the whole vietman experience.

We had also organized a cruise on halong bay through the hotel. We were very lucky with the weather and this proved to be delightful. All in all I have no hesitation recommending this family run business to anyone interested in staying in Hanoi.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Morrishfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.1 km away
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
Tu Linh Palace Hotel
#92 of 596 in Hanoi
738 reviews
0.1 km away
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
Rising Dragon Villa Hotel
#121 of 596 in Hanoi
514 reviews
0.2 km away
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
Hanoi Blue Sky Hotel
#138 of 596 in Hanoi
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
Hanoi Graceful Hotel
#69 of 596 in Hanoi
488 reviews
1.0 km away
Antique Hotel
Antique Hotel
#235 of 596 in Hanoi
10 reviews
0.1 km away
Icon 36 Hotel
Icon 36 Hotel
#160 of 596 in Hanoi
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Recently Reviewed Hotels around Hanoi

Been to Rising Dragon Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rising Dragon Grand Hotel

Address: 24 Hang Ga St | Old Quarter, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Rising Dragon II Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#44 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
Price Range: $38 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rising Dragon Grand Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rising Dragon Grand is located in the heart of The Old Quarter, just a few blocks from Hoan Kiem Lake, Water Puppet Theater and alongside a thriving outdoor market. Along Hang Ga street, you will find cafes, an award-winning spa, pharmacies and various shops and stores carrying clothing, handicrafts, and other amazing finds! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rising Dragon Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rising Dragon Grand Hotel Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing