We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Ranked #12 of 578 Hotels in Hanoi
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Hanoi Elegance Ruby certainly lives up to its name. The hotel facilities are immaculate, the rooms are spacious, nicely furnished and equipped with more niceties than you would receive at most hotels. However, what sets this hotel apart is the service.

I was travelling with six friends and arrived in Hanoi two days before we were due to stay at the hotel (we were travelling from Hanoi to Sapa that night). During the day we decided to explore the city, so we paid for a room at a very cheap hotel so we could leave our luggage there. We walked to Hanoi Elegance Ruby to see if the staff could arrange a day trip to Halong Bay when we returned to Hanoi. Upon arrival we were greeted with lavishly decorated refreshments. We explained that we had left our luggage at the other hotel. The manager asked one his staff members to take one of us in a private vehicle to fetch the luggage so we could instead store it at Hanoi Elegance Ruby free of charge. They also allowed us to keep some of our luggage there for a few days until we returned from our trip to Sapa. We negotiated with the manager and arranged a day trip to Halong Bay including private transfers, a private boat, a private tour of the caves and a seafood lunch as well as transport to the train station that evening and pickup from the train station when we returned from Sapa. We received all of this for an extremely reasonable price. That evening after spending a day exploring Hanoi, we returned to the hotel to wait to be taken to the train station. We were allowed to use the upstairs lounging area and shower facilities along with free wireless internet. This was all before we had checked in.

The attention to detail of the staff was faultless. I was particularly happy when they allowed me to print documents free of charge considering when we stayed at a five star hotel in Kuala Lumpur several days earlier the staff there charged us 30 dollars to print three A4 pages! Everything the hotel manager had planned for us worked out perfectly. When we returned to Hanoi we had no difficulty finding our chauffeur and the trip to Halong Bay was amazing. The breakfast topped off our stay at the hotel. It was an all-you-can-eat breakfast without a smorgasbord. Instead they allow you to pick as many items from the menu as you like and cook it fresh.

We only stayed at the hotel for one night but we were still received the royal treatment. I don’t see how any other hotel could top the service we received at Hanoi Elegance Ruby. If you are planning a trip to Hanoi, I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KG1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,887 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,633
    238
    15
    1
    0
See reviews for
501
1,483
199
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (504)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

The Hanoi Elegance Ruby is indeed an excellent hotel. For the last few trips I have changed from the security of name brands to the recommendations of fellow travellers via Tripadvisor. And my travels are so much more enriched.

Hanoi Elegance is a group of 4 hotels in Hanoi and Ruby is clearly the best (though I may be a little biased having only stayed there!). The location is simply superb - right in the middle of a busy noisy and fascinating section of the Old City. But it is the attentiveness of the staff that takes the cake. They went out of the way with the local arrangements and the little tips that made the trip for us.

If in Hanoi on tourism, the Old City is definitely the place to stay, and if you can manage to get a room at HE Ruby, count yourself lucky.

Room Tip: High floors will be quieter seeing as it is a busy dustrict.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shankar_V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2012

Superb management, central location in old city, inexpensive. Add it all up and you cannot go wrong with this little hotel. Get a suite on upper level. The manager can arrange all activities from Halong bay to dinner reservations. Spend an afternoon however at the old colonial hotel Metropole, for lunch and drinks. An interesting city, lots of young people, not much memory of the war and more motorbikes than you've ever seen (look both ways twice before you cross)!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FCLOKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We usually stay at fancier places, honestly, but I can honestly say that we have NEVER, EVER, EVER had better service ANYWHERE in the world!!! The staff at the Elegance Ruby is second to NONE. I can't even believe what they did for us, from booking airline tickets and tours to mailing a birdcage purchase that I knew wouldn't fit in the overhead bin on the plane - nothing was too difficult!! Also, I am a bit OCD on room cleanliness, and I was happy!! It was a great stay, great location, and amazing staff. Breakfast was excellent, too. No complaints from our family! Thank you for everything!

Room Tip: The family room was HUGE and very comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fivestarstandards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This hotel is everything all the other reviews have mentioned. Smack bang in the middle of the Old Quarter, the staff are amazing and helpful, great breakfast, the rooms are clean and comfortable and there is a laptop or wifi in the rooms.

My only complaint is we were on the second floor which has a mezzanine level which can make it a bit noisy at times, so try and avoid if possible.

We had organised a airport transfer from the hotel and were met by our driver with out having to callas mentioned in some of the other reviews.

You can book Sapa or Halong Bay tours through the hotel, but we did this independently and definitely saved some money.

Room Tip: Avoid the second level if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hanoi hotels
0.8 km away
Hanoi La Siesta Diamond Hotel & Spa
0.6 km away
Essence Hanoi Hotel & Spa
0.0 km away
Serene Premier Hotel
Serene Premier Hotel
#1 of 578 in Hanoi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Hanoi La Siesta Hotel & Spa
0.2 km away
Golden Sun Suites Hotel
0.6 km away
Oriental Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hanoi Elegance Ruby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanoi Elegance Ruby

Property: Hanoi Elegance Ruby
Address: 3 Yen Thai Street, Old Quarter | Hoan Kiem District, Hanoi 10000, Vietnam (Formerly Hanoi Elegance 4)
Region: Vietnam > Hanoi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Hanoi
#4 Family Hotel in Hanoi
#5 Business Hotel in Hanoi
#6 Spa Hotel in Hanoi
Price range (per night): $58 - $150
Hotel Class:3 star — Hanoi Elegance Ruby 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Best boutique hotel in the Old Quarter of Hanoi, with modern facilities served by a team of professional & dedicated staff, providing you a comfortable & memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Hotels.com, Wotif.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, Agoda and lastminute.com.au so you can book your Hanoi Elegance Ruby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanoi Elegance Ruby Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hotel Hanoi
Elegance 4 Hanoi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing