We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
nikkiparado
Philippines

Nice Stay

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Feb 2019
Stayed last January for business.
Location - Pros: Near mall and public market where in you can buy souvenir. Cons: Since it is near the public market, sometimes their elevator has a fish smell on it. It is also in front of construction making it noisy at night making us have hard time sleeping.
Bathroom - It was nice that their standard room still has a bathtub on it. Downside is their bidet. It is way too short!
Breakfast - Limited choices of food only though I love their fruit selection
Service - I think they should improve it more. We arrive at midnight, and they didn't even assist us with our luggage. It was also nice to know that most of their Front Office Staff know how to speak in English as I observed in Vietnam. There is a language barrier to the people since only few know how to speak and understand English. I would like to commend also Mr Ahn, Front Office Supervisor. He was very accommodating and helpful during our stay. He even shares interesting facts about Ha Long Bay and tourist spots which we can visit.
Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
3.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$97
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$97
3.6 km from CityBay Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$212
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
  • Expedia.com
    AU$212
6.0 km from CityBay Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$65
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
2.4 km from CityBay Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
AU$98
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
6.4 km from CityBay Palace Hotel
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$105
  • Priceline
4.0 km from CityBay Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$98
  • Booking.com
2.5 km from CityBay Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$69
  • Booking.com
6.8 km from CityBay Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$112
  • Booking.com
10.2 km from CityBay Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$112
  • Priceline
3.5 km from CityBay Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Exterior view
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Novotel
    AU$75
  • Hotels.com
4.2 km from CityBay Palace Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Halong Bay
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
24
34
19
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
24
34
19
2
5
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2019 via mobile

I rated this 3 stars based on the fact that they were cheap to book but there were renovations going on somewhere - maybe opposite the hotel and the noises constantly kept us up and our baby.

They are centrally located so it’s an easy walk to the local market. This side of Halong is not the main attraction side as that would be Halong bay.

Breakfast was mediocre and the juices were watered down. The lifts kept getting broken.

After two nights of hell we upgraded to a better room and paid the extra.

The main factor that is preventing me from coming back was the service from the hotel in a way that left a bitter taste.

When we arrived our rooms couldn’t be ready until evening. We booked two rooms so they gave us one room first for us to unload all our luggage and there was no space to walk. We decided to venture our the hotel than stay in the cramped room although we were tired from travelling from Hanoi airport.

On our last day - we were out and came back half an hour late to check out and realised they had locked our rooms and said that we would need to get our things out in half an hour or else we would have to pay an extra charge. I found this very rude as they were a few hours late giving us our rooms in the first place and then to treat us like this when we were only half an hour late for check out?!
Some of the staff were extremely helpful. In all the commotion we left some of our baby stuff in the room and had to buy new things like a thermometer for baths and a few other bits. The staff couldn’t even speak English very well and we had to communicate via our friend.
Our first room view was a building site! So ugly!
The second upgraded room view showed the bay and it was a better room to look out at.

Date of stay: November 2018
Thank Parttimepenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2019 via mobile

Stayed for business when attending a conference at the exhibition Centre down the road. Very convenient. Rooms spacious, comfortable beds, nice bath. Some rooms have amazing views. Friendly service. Negative- coffee not great at breakfast. It is a short taxi to western restaurants but lots of really good local food around. Ask at reception. Wet market right there. Nice parks on the waterfront to walk in, highlands coffee around the corner and new market just across the road with more coming all the time.

Date of stay: January 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Leanneb310
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 October 2018 via mobile

Excellent small hotel in Halong. Good for an overnight if you don't overnight on one of the boats/junk. Room are nicely decorated, good beds. Small office. Bathrooms luxury. Good shower. Buffet breakfast good, could be improved.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank RieksLok
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Great hotel for a great price !
- Very clean
- variety of food to choose on breakfast
- friendly and helpful staff
- excellent laundry service ( they have handled our "after Sapa trekking shoes" :) )
- plenty of restaurants in a walking distance ( especially the Loving Hut - all you can eat Vegan place )
- big shopping mall located 100m from the hotel

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank paniczklos
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. Originally we were meant to stay in the city bay hotel across the road, but were given an upgrade!

The foyer is beautiful and the assistance you get from the staff inside is great - nothing is too much.

The room was lovely with great views of the bay and a clean, spacious bathroom.

The only thing I would say is we found the location a little bit out of everything - there weren't as many places to eat/drink and other than our Halong Bay tour there wasn't much to do.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews