We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best bang for your buck”
other travellers have booked this property
V'Spirit Classic Cruise
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
V'Spirit Classic Cruise
Tuan Chau Marina The Sundeck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
67 reviews
V'Spirit Classic Cruise
Tuan Chau Marina
The Sundeck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
50 Bedrooms, 32 Bathrooms, Sleeps 50
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 67 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Maximus83
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best bang for your buck”
Reviewed 17 August 2013 for a stay in September 2012

I have been meaning to write this review for awhile because we had such a great time which was mostly thanks to the staff in particular, Huang and Chen.

We were given two options of cruises when we arrived in Hanoi. We chose V'Spirit because we were getting better value for our money (and truth be told, the boats were a bit newer).

As the boat was new at the time, the boat and the rooms were clean and tidy. I believe one of the rooms at the back of the boat was a bit noisy due to the generator but we weren't in that room so it didn't bother us.

The food was delicious and the wine selection wasn't bad. We became quick friends with the bartender, Chen (whom we quickly nicknamed Master Chen as he was the tai-chi master, the chef and the bartender!) and the bf taught him how to make proper pina coladas which Chen was open to, even sourcing fresh coconuts for the cocktails. We quickly learnt to grab a two seater table because as the dishes are shared dishes and made for four, at the two seater table, you got double the food! And as the meals were so delicious we were always keen for seconds.

The outings and activities were what you would expect: swimming at Soi Sim (and a run along the beach with the friendly local dog), a visit to the Amazing Cave, a visit to a fishing village, a kayaking outing....

The atmosphere on the boat was fun. We were fortunate enough to have been with some fun singaporean guys on the first night and fun aussies on the second night.

We had a great time with V'Spirit cruises and narry a bad word to say.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: Having to leave
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chardonne...
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A great trip”
Reviewed 21 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We enjoyed our trip to Halong Bay with V Spirit Cruises. We had a lovely and spacious room that was beyond what we expected. Our guide, Mike, was lovely to talk to, very knowledgable, and even funny! All meals on board were delicious but it would have been nice to be told the names/ingredients as the plates were laid on the table as we suspect we tried a number of things on our 'to-eat list', but we can't be sure! We enjoyed Tai Chi in the morning with 'Tim', also he was a little quiet, he was very polite and very accommodating. A highlight was getting to see monkeys whilst kayaking through the caves! The only suggestions we could make would be to consider wifi on the boats (although it was kind of nice to not have access to technology for 24 hours+), to consider a more comfortable bus given the extremely bumpy portion of the road for an hour into and out of Halong Bay (hopefully soon to be upgraded) and for the driver to stay off his phone whilst driving! Otherwise, the one night cruise was 'just right' and we highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All excursions were 'just right'
Liked least: Bus ride/driver
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mervinmer
Manila, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“They are trying their best to improve things, be number one and get customer feedback”
Reviewed 16 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We had a blast during our trip to Halong using V'Spirit Classic Cruises services. They will take care of you the moment you step outside your hotel lobby when they fetch you until you go back. It would be better if they would customize their services depending on the customers they accomodate e.g. Senior customers would be interested with Tai-Chi, if they have younger crowd they can make the bar on the roofdeck operational you get what i mean.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The activities outside the ship,food aboard and our main tour guide.
Liked least: The stopover in which you have to passby a souvenir shop, the van driver who was sleepy while dring us back to the hotel.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodolfo F
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura S
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing