We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5 star experience, 3 star price”

Review of Garden Bay Cruise

Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
76 reviews
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Garden Bay Cruise - Open Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Private Balcony
Garden Bay Cruise - early morning taichi lesson
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting Lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Fishing Village
Visit Surprise Cave ( Sung Sot Cave)
Visit cave with Rowing boat
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Restaurant - dinning room with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Open sundeck with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - visit fishing village
Garden Bay Cruise - Including Kayaking
Garden Bay Cruise - Cooking Class
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 76 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Langley4
Langley, BC
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“5 star experience, 3 star price”
Reviewed 28 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We did the 2 day, 1 night Ha Long Bay cruise, and it was the highlight of our trip! From the moment we were picked up at our hotel in Hanoi, the experience was top notch. The Marguerite is well-maintained and clean. The cabins and ship exceeded our expectations. The bed in our cabin was probably the most comfortable out of all our rooms in Vietnam! The shower was phenomenal! The food was gourmet and absolutely delicious! All the excursions were timely and fun, and our guide spoke nearly perfect English. Our only complaint is that the wifi didn't work - but then again it was kind of nice to be off the grid for a couple days. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Marguerite Junk, and would stay again (and do the 3 day!!!) were we to return.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Food and cabin
Liked least: Needed more time for kayaking
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EnriqueCo...
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice trip in a delightful place”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

As a part of an organized trip, a group of friends came to Marguerite Junk for a 2 days 1 night tour in Ha Long Bay. First of all I Have to say Thang the guide was always very nice, kind and helpful... very solicitous towards all of us in a perfect English, better than mine btw...

Kayaking was the funniest part of the trip. I enjoyed it very much!

Another positive thing was food... a lot of good and very tasteful vietnamese food!!

But the negative side was the night on the boat. Nothing to do nothing to see... nothing nothing. Very boring. Maybe for families with babies is okay but for young and mid-age people... boring! Maybe a good idea could be doing cruises targeted only in a type of people: only families only singles.. etc.

Finally, boat was nice, clean and comfortable.

Overall, Margarite Junk is a very good option for a short trip in Ha Long Bay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daryl C
1 review
“Scenically Beautiful”
Reviewed 25 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Not knowing what to expect of the tour, other than reading the experiences of others on Tripadvisor, the bus trip from Hanoi was made enjoyable by the commentary of our guide, Thang. We were initially surprised at the mass loading of tourists at the Halong Bag embarkation terminal, but everything went smoothly. Once we had been ferried from the mainland to the Marguerite Junk, we were greeted by friendly staff and great facilities. The scenery of this natural wonderland is outstanding and the Marguerite Junk made the experience even more personal by breaking away from the pack of other ships to allow uninterrupted views of the islands and coastline.

The three day, two night cruise was perfect and we enjoyed every moment. The ship facilities were excellent and crew always on hand to help. Without a doubt, I would recommend the Marguerite Junk cruise to anyone and would encourage you to take the 3 day, 2 night option to enable you to get the most enjoyment from the Halong Bay experience.

One of the highlights of the tour was the excellent services of our local guide Thang, who provided concise information on local culture, history and the Halong Bay experience. Our family were very impressed with the helpful and friendly nature of all the staff and particularly a big thank you to Thang who assisted us when we changed our travel plans to remain in Halong Bay instead of returning to Hanoi.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall experience, facilities and friendly staff
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren H
Liskeard, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Magical proposal site”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

After arriving to Ha Long we had booked in to the Novotel Hotel on the bay for three nights, it took us an hour to realise we wouldn't be staying three nights at all. Within a few hours and reading the helpful reviews of TripAdvisor we had decided on the Marguerite Junk to take us in to Ha Long. I emailed them direct and as we were already in ha long, unlike many of the trippers who came from Hanoi they arrived a rep to pick us up by taxis and take us to the meeting area.
We were able to take both huge suitcases on to the boat and they whisked them off and taken to our room.
The whole trip was fantastic and I really recommend it. Tien the guide is a brilliant guide and make this trip worthwhile.
Tien kindly looked after my engagement ring without my knowledge all day, where we walked through caves, (amazing views from the cave). Went canoeing, swam of the beach, and then trekked up to the top of one of the limestones, where my boyfriend proposed.
Once we returned to the boat we watched the sun set from the top deck and had drinks and fruit.
Such a magical day.
The food was pretty good as well, I was worried about the menu's once I saw what was offered hopefully trying everything was great fun and certainly had something for everyone's taste. There was no chance of us going hungry, even the most fussiest of eaters. Even if you are worried about food, you can take your own or even buy all sort from the women to row up to the boats.
The evening's entertainment is a bit... quiet. We sat on the top deck ringing family for quite a while, but most where in bed by 2100 and no one was on the bar.
Tien was really fantastic and was keen to introduce everyone and find some common ground. Had some really interesting information and wanted to get involved. It must be boring for him day in day out.
We were returned to the bay with our baggage, although we did have a scary moment when the bag my engagement ring was in nearly went over board. They didn't look overly secure to us, but I suppose they know what they are doing.
My only one negative about the boat was the bed, the shower and bathroom were fine considering you were on a boat and clean. The bed room was very clean, however the bed was so hard. The mattress wasn't very thick at all.
However, don't let this put you off, we had the time of our lives, the other guests were great to chat to, from many different countries which was so interesting. I really recommend this tour.
P.S wifi was terrible...don't rely on it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Tour up the limestones
Liked least: The bed
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBVLondon
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great trip but be prepared to be moved from boat to boat”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013

We chose the 3 day trip as I had a feeling 1 or 2 days wouldn't be enough and we are really pleased we made this choice. 1 or 2 days from Hanoi would just be too rushed baring in mind how long the drive is down to the coast.

Another reason we were looking for a 3 day trip was because we wanted to be able to unwind for a few days as we were on our honeymoon so we were a little annoying on the evening of day 1 when we were told we had to check out of the boat the next morning and be moved to another boat. We had just unpacked so it was really annoying. There was some story about the boat being put out of service the next day but the fact we hadn't been informed earlier was inexcusable. We met a couple at dinner who had been told something similar and knew another couple who it had happened to. I guess they simply take your booking regardless and worry about what boat to put you on later. We shouldn't have been able to book on to that boat if it wasn't available as they have 3 in the fleet and one of the others was going out for 3 days from the day we arrived. We booked directly on their website www.margueritejunk.com

This was the only negative though. The food was excellent - be prepared for a seafood feast. The tour guides were average, we had 4 in the end as we were moved around constantly. They varied from good to poor, the poor being because his English was bad and not having much to say. The cabins were beautiful and comfortable and the bathrooms of a good standard with lots of hot water. You only really spend the evenings on the junk and in the day you are moved around a lot on small boats to get closer to the sites but all the trips we went on were interesting and we kept busy. We stayed on the marguerite Garden initially which was slightly more expensive but the only difference is that it is the newest (although you couldn't really tell) and the rooms on the higher deck has views from both sides of the room. The marguerite 2 which we also stayed on was lovely, I'm not convinced the marguerite garden is worth the extra money. Pick up to and from our hotel in Hanoi was good. They called us the night before to confirm which was good as we'd booked on the web and I was worried they wouldn't turn up

As for Halong Bay, it was stunning and well worth the visit. Just try to go for 3 days if you have time

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The general ambience of Halong Bay
Liked least: The fact we booked on to one boat and were moved around from one boat to another after one night. It made the trip less relaxing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing