We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ha Long Bay with Marguerite Cruises”

Review of Garden Bay Cruise

Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
75 reviews
Garden Bay Cruise - Triple cabin
Garden Bay Cruise - Halong Bay - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - deluxe twin cabin with large window.
Garden Bay Cruise - Open Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Private Balcony
Garden Bay Cruise - early morning taichi lesson
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting Lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Waiting lounge at Hon Gai Pier
Garden Bay Cruise - Fishing Village
Visit Surprise Cave ( Sung Sot Cave)
Visit cave with Rowing boat
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Private bathroom with full- toiletry
Restaurant - dinning room with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Open sundeck with sea view
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - Morning Tai Chi Lesson on Sundeck
Garden Bay Cruise - visit fishing village
Garden Bay Cruise - Including Kayaking
Garden Bay Cruise - Cooking Class
Garden Bay Cruise - Overview
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Boat house -
12 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Halong Bay, Quang Ninh Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Italian first
Portuguese first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Sue F
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Ha Long Bay with Marguerite Cruises”
Reviewed 27 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

From the time we were picked up from our hotel to the time we arrived back, everything went smoothly.The staff on the Garden Bay cruise were friendly, helpful and jovial and the food was great. The accommodation was very comfortable and we had no trouble getting a good night's sleep.....I would definitely recommend this cruise

Liked best: The food and the scenery....the company too!...everyone was happy
Liked least: We had to pay for drinks as they were not included which I hadn't realised
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
davethear...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
Reviewed 19 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Ha Long Bay is not to be missed......it is tranquil and unique,serene and beautiful.The crew of Marguerite Junk were friendly,professional,and attentive to every need....and the food....excellent.I spent two days and one night there,and it was the highlight of my entire trip.I would recommend this to any one considering a trip to Viet Nam

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melanie W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You have to do the 2 nights 3 day tour”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to have Hop as our tour guide for the 3 days. He was absolutely fantastic and made the trip what it was.
The boat was great and all the staff were friendly. You have to do the 2 nights as the second day is absolutely amazing and you miss out on experiencing the real Halong Bay if you only stay 1 night.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bzulu
Lakeville, MN
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great way to see Halong Bay”
Reviewed 11 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013
2
people found this review helpful

First, there are three Marguerite Junks now. We were on Marguerite 2.
Because we werent staying in the old quarter, we cabbed in to the office for pickup the morning of the cruise. We were a half hour early, and the office was closed and behind locked steel doors and invisible to us and the cab driver. After a near panic attack for a half hour, we noticed a bus pull up to the far end of the street (the NE end) and voila, we hooked up.
The bus ride is long, with a brief stop at the half way point. Try to sit in front. If you sit over the axle, prepare to be bounced ....big time. The bridge approaches are bone-jarring. Pretty interesting scenery along the way, though. Our guide, Thang, was great and had a lot of information about Vietnam.
As of this year, all the boats from the province were mandated to be painted white. It probably improves the safety quite a lot, but they change in appearance is definitely not for the better. Most of the boats look pretty tatty already and in need of a new paint job. Note to regulating commision......the new rule sucks.
The food is plentiful, and all in all, pretty good. I read a review somewhere about someone complaining that there was too much cilantro (coriander) in the food. In Vietnam.
Some of the food was delicious;crab farci, spring rolls, green papaya salad, and a whole lot of stuff that i had no idea what it was. I ate it all, it was great. Some was just OK.
The liquor prices were Ok as well , two bucks for a beer. The wine was pricier (all over VN in fact) and the local wine was petty dreadful. But a bottle of Chilean ran 32 bucks. What the hell, it's a cruise.
You are served family style ....up to eight at a table. It was nice chatting with our fellow travellers. I think they fill up the boats by , well, race. We were a bunch of tourists from France, Australia, Switzerland, and the US. Many other boats were packed solely with asians. Since we booked on line, i don't know how this works, but it ensured that we could all more or less communicate with each other.
We did a lot of kayaking on the tour, which I hadn't expected. It was pretty darn cold, but the scenery was awesome. Temps about 10-16c (Jan 2013). The morning wakeup call is a bit too early for me, way too early for my wife. Breakfast came out at 0730.
The rooms, well, they look like the rooms in the pictures. Except 10 years aged. The cabins are a bit smaller as well, so if you can leave stuff at the hotel in Hanoi or somewhere, that is good. However, the heat more or less works ( we has to tap our remote and stand with one foot on the ground, etc) but when it does, it is quite toasty in the room. The bathroom is good, hot water and shower fine.
I heard that the Marguertite 2 is better than the 1, not quite as nice as the 3 , but you really don't know what boat you will placed on. The Marguerite 2 used to be called the "elizabeth," according to the name over the wheelhouse, painted over. It was by no means a luxury type cruise, but my wife and I (ages 52-51) thought it was a great time.
The food on day 2 for a two night-three day cruise is not as good as day one, but OK.
Most people take the one night cruise, but with the long drive I recommend the longer one. There are more expensive cruises for the bay that are probably a but nicer, but for us this one was real good.
By the way, the bay is amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the food
Liked least: Bearkfast a bit too early for me
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicia C
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“The best way to see Halong Bay”
Reviewed 6 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We researched long and hard to pick who to book with for our Halong Bay Cruise and I'm happy to say it most definitely paid off. The Marguerite Junk was everything we hoped for and more. We had a wonderful guide, Hop, who took such fantastic care of us, as did the all the other staff on the boat. He was knowledgeable, friendly and just so helpful - we honestly couldn't have asked for better treatment from him. The boat was great and our room was beautiful, and very clean. There was hot water with good water pressure, air-conditioning and a fridge in the room, and the bed was super comfortable. The food was great ( a lot of seafood but when in Rome...) and everything seemed so thought out and well planned. We had a great mix of cruising, sightseeing and kayaking through the absolutely spectactular scenery.

Honestly, if you're thinking about doing a Halong Bay Cruise, I cannot recommend these guys highly enough. They did everything they said they would and this cruise exceeded our expectations. Oh, and make sure you do 2 nights 3 days - you'll want the extra time to experience the beauty that is Halong Bay.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing