We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained hotel.”
Review of Alex Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Alex Hotel
Ranked #2 of 98 Halong Bay B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

The street is pretty quiet. There are backpacker hostels in the same lane. Take a walk down the street to the left and you would absolutely love it.
The guy at the reception spoke English and the free wifi was great. The rooms were neatly maintained too.
Recommended for families too.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
Thank 837vidyas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ALEX H, Người quản lý at Alex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2017

Thank you for choosing us during your trip. I hope we achieved our goal in making your stay memorable by providing outstanding service. We strive to make the experience at Alex Hotel one you will remember forever. Therefore, your comments are very important to us. Please take a moment of your time to reviews us on [https:// www.tripadvisor.com/reviewit].
We love to hear your feedback and use it to review our improve our services every day! . Again, Thank you for stayed here with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2017 via mobile

We turned up at the Alex hotel for a 4 night stay, on arrival they informed us we could only stay two nights as the hotel was closing. They provided no alternative hotel until we pressed them, we decided to look ourselves instead unfortunately all the hotels were too expensive at that late of notice so we had to rearrange our bus to pick us up two days early and cut our weekend in Bai Chay short. We heard nothing else from the hotel until the morning we checked out (our bus was arriving at 10am) at 8.30am the receptionist told us he had found us another hotel, it was too late. The whole experience was topped off with the hotel "cancelling" our reservation on booking.com website resulting in us unable to provide a review of our awful experience to warn others. Shocking this is not the first time they have done this.

I would avoid this hotel at all costs!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosy-halong, Manager at Alex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2017

Hi,
The Halong Seoul hotel is always interested in hearing the comments of its guests and we glad that you have written to us.
I am extremely sorry that you found the service provided by Reception not up to our usual standard.
I apologize for this and will make enquires about it. I hope we will continue to receive your custom and that.
If you have a complaint, you will inform my staff immediately so that we can deal with the problem there and then.
Your sincerely,
Rosy/Ms Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2017 via mobile

Huge rooms with a fridge, mini bar, kettle and toiletries. Bed is really comfortable and we had a balcony. Lady at reception was so nice and really helpful. They also have a laundry device for 40,000 a kg

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Barbie182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosy-halong, Người quản lý at Alex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Hi,
Thanks for your stayed in my hotel.
We are delighted that you gave us an excellent comment.

Hope to see you soon in here.

Thanks and regards,
Rosy/Ms
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel a couple of hours before the check-in time but the staff did all they could to check us in as soon as possible which was great. The room was spacious and had everything we needed for a comfortable stay. There are a couple of shops and restaurants within a 5 minute walk but the night time entertainment is generally pretty limited in this area.

The staff were great, really friendly and helpful. We didn't wake up in time for breakfast but the room alone was excellent value for money.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank ldg57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosy-halong, Người quản lý at Alex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Hi value customers!
Thanks alot for your comment about our services.
Your comment is our strong dynamic to be continue for best services.

Regards,
Rosy/Ms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017

friendly and very helpful staff, originally has booked a 3 night stay, but after hearing about the overnight boat cruise in Ha Long Bay, the staff immediately jumped into action for making me accommodations in one of the boat tours and removing one of the nights from my original booking without charge! Thank you!
The Hotel itself can use a little facelift in the lobby and in the rooms, however the rooms are very practical and spacious! bed was a little too firm for me, but normally thats how it is in Asia.
During my stay their was not much happening in town so it was a ghost town, a little cold in this area and cant really say if it was close to any nightlife, however it is a short walking distance to a theme park and a few cafes.

I would stay here again

Room Tip: Single double was very spacious with balcony view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sam2066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosy-halong, Người quản lý at Alex Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2017

Hi,
Thanks for your details comment,
We always do the best services for each small details. We hope that all the details from your comment with be complete.

Regards,
Rosy/Mrs
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
4.2 km away
Ha Long Park Hotel
Ha Long Park Hotel
#14 of 71 in Halong Bay
18 reviews
7.6 km away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 10 in Tuan Chau Island
522 reviews
0.4 km away
The Light Hotel
The Light Hotel
#1 of 98 in Halong Bay
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Halong Happy Hostel
Halong Happy Hostel
#1 of 85 in Halong Bay
106 reviews
3.2 km away
Vinpearl Ha Long Bay Resort
Vinpearl Ha Long Bay Resort
#2 of 71 in Halong Bay
411 reviews
1.1 km away
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Novotel Ha Long Bay
#3 of 71 in Halong Bay
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alex Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alex Hotel

Address: No 28A, Anh Dao Str, | Bai Chay, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Halong Bay
Price Range: AU$13 - AU$28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Alex Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, lastminute.com.au and Wotif.com so you can book your Alex Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing