We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Bruce N
Sydney, Australia

Nice Hotel and Friendly Staff

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 7 Jan 2020via mobile
Stayed at the Royal Lotus for our visit to Halong Bay and the hotel is well located rooms are comfortable. The roof top bar has great views and a good atmosphere. The public restaurant food was passable but nothing special and the breakfast and dining rooms were really hot the when we were there. As this hotel receives a lot of tourist buses note, there were a lot of guests smoking out the front of the hotel which wafts into the entrance foyer of the hotel and you have to walk through as you come and go.
Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$66
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$66
  • Expedia.com
    AU$73
  • Hotels.com
    AU$76
0.1 km from Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$233
Fully refundable
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Vio.com
    AU$191
  • Agoda.com
    AU$172
  • Hotels.com
    AU$231
1.8 km from Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$83
  • Priceline
    AU$87
  • Agoda.com
    AU$72
  • Expedia.com
    AU$85
0.6 km from Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$145
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$112
  • Vio.com
    AU$102
  • Hotels.com
    AU$112
3.1 km from Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$144
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$142
  • Agoda.com
    AU$119
  • Hotels.com
    AU$124
1.9 km from Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$38
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$34
  • Agoda.com
    AU$18
  • Hotels.com
    AU$30
3.4 km from Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
AU$70
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$83
  • Vio.com
    AU$65
  • Hotels.com
    AU$85
5.0 km from Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$61
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    AU$130
  • Agoda.com
    AU$43
  • Priceline
    AU$48
2.5 km from Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior view
Booking.com
AU$72
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$72
  • Vio.com
    AU$72
  • Expedia.com
    AU$72
2.5 km from Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$72
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$72
  • Agoda.com
    AU$48
  • Trip.com
    AU$82
3.6 km from Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Halong Bay
Reviews (383)
Filter reviews
383 results
Traveller rating
156
129
69
19
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
156
129
69
19
10
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 383 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

We had a family vacation in Vietnam which was the first time for us all. We are thoroughly impressed by the food, natural beauty, and most importantly, the incredible people. Royal lotus hotel has a small inn-like feel, that makes guests feel at home. I would have a special shout out to Whale (Đức Anh Trần) at concierge. He helped me organize the day trip to halong bay, the car transportation to ha noi. He takes care of every detail of our stay in the hotel - including local restaurant recommendations. He makes us feel like coming home. He is the best ambassador for his lovely country. Because of him and the entire service staff at the hotel, we had a memorable experience that makes our Halong trip special. Thank you!
Also to mention is that the rooftop bar is amazing in terms of view.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank GXC888
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyallotushotelF, Quản lý bộ phận lễ tân at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2020

Dear GXC888,

Warmest greeting from Royal Lotus Hotel Halong !

We are delighted that your stay with us was a memorable one. We take pride that every guest is welcomed and taken cared. Your positive comments will be pass on to the team, specially Mr.Whale which will surely bring smiles to them.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Sincerely,
Pham Minh Phuong
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2019 via mobile

Food uncooked old and cold. The worst we have ever had on years of travel. Place was empty just us and now realise why. We have had far better street food and the chef was hiding

I advise all travelling to try elsewhere

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank DannyandTina
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyallotushotelF, Quản lý bộ phận lễ tân at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2019

Dear Mr/Ms. Dannyand Tina,

Thank you for taking your time to write us a review. Guests’ feedback is very important to help us growing further.

We appreciate your comments about our food quality. We are sorry when knowing that you feel the food was not what you expected. We affirm that this case is very serious and we have the meeting immediately with kitchen department.

All in all, we hope to have the chance to welcome you and your family back soon so that we can recover the impression of your last visit.
Thanks and best regard
Pham Minh Phuong
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2019

We were here for a couple nights. The hotel check in was easy, credit cards accepted.
Lots of outdoor free parking.

The wait staff was very good/polite/efficient.

The rooms were large enough, clean and comfortable.

We ordered food at the restaurant, it was OK, but not something to write home to Mom about. It was not extremely expensive.

There is a pool on the roof, with lots of outdoor tables/chairs, and an incredible way to watch the sun set.

There is also a bar/dining area on the roof, with its own tables/chairs, some pretty decent bartenders, and rotating drink schedules. You can either bill to your room, or use cash/credit cards.

There is also a marketplace just a block or two down from the hotel, bring some local currenty, and your haggling face with you...you can get some pretty good deals if the the market traffic is light. They also take credit cards..

We thought it was worth it for the view from the roof alone, but try it yourself.

Mahalo

Date of stay: March 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GenoMichiganYooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2019

I stayed one night while visiting Halong Bay. The room was very spacious and the bathroom had a good shower. The internet also worked well. The included breakfast was the worst I have had in SE Asia or China (which is saying something). The location is also away from the center of the town. The rooms were clean and the staff were fine. The views were likely the best part.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank betteskid
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
RoyallotushotelF, Quản lý bộ phận lễ tân at Royal Lotus Hotel Halong, responded to this reviewResponded 11 December 2019

Dear Mr/Ms.Betteskid,

Greetings from Royal Lotus Hotel Ha Long!

Thank you for choosing “Royal Lotus” as your preferred destination while you were in Ha Long Bay and for your feedback which you have posted in Trip advisor.

We are grateful for your kind comments on the bathroom, internet and sky bar. Our endeavour is to be continuously engaged as a professional yet friendly team for our invaluable guests.

We are certain; your feedback about the breakfast shall facilitate us in consolidating upon our strengths and improve further on our standards. Thus enabling our valuable guests to experience better services in the Hotel.

Regards,

Pham Minh Phuong
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2019

A lovely palace. Our room was very clean and enjoyed our stay here. The swimming pool very large.the food is wonderfull. The staff were polite and helpful and did not have any issues during our stay.
Thank you and well will be back soon.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Móm T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews