We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$76
No prepayment needed
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
ZenHotels.com
AU$75
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Rêveur
Hanoi, Vietnam

Lovely hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 Apr 2024via mobile
Just checked out of Novotel and we had an amazing time! Great location, good beakfast. Our balcony room on the 10th F was clean with great view of the square and ocean. Kudos to Ms. Thu at the front desk, really went above and beyond to make sure we had everything we needed. Thanks for the wonderful service! We'll definitely be coming back next time.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Novotel Ha Long Bay, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this review
Responded 10 Apr 2024
Dear luxtrpsvietnam,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Novotel Ha Long Bay. It is our great pleasure to receive your compliments regarding the hotel's location, breakfast served at the hotel. Rest assured that we will share your comments with our team, especially Ms. Thu at the front desk. This will serve as an encouragement as we always strive to bring superior service to every client.
Once again, thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Sincerely,
The hotel management team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$45
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$108
  • Hotels.com
    AU$98
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Expedia.com
AU$314
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    AU$284
  • Agoda.com
    AU$234
  • Vio.com
2.1 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$276
No prepayment needed
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$295
  • Agoda.com
    AU$176
  • Lol.travel
1.3 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$77
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$71
  • Expedia.com
    AU$73
2.6 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$85
  • Expedia.com
    AU$86
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$74
  • Priceline
3.0 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Over View
Booking.com
AU$56
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$51
  • Trip.com
0.7 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Booking.com
AU$86
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$81
  • Expedia.com
    AU$94
2.1 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$73
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    AU$51
  • Trip.com
5.4 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
ZenHotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$34
  • Agoda.com
    AU$23
  • Hotels.com
    AU$31
1.3 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$78
  • Agoda.com
    AU$57
  • Expedia.com
    AU$167
0.1 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Halong Bay
Reviews (1,157)
Filter reviews
1,157 results
Traveller rating
444
451
192
39
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
444
451
192
39
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel nice pool great view breakfast buffet swimming pool night market seafood day cruise bay balcony accor tour bathtub port vietnamese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 1,157 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2024

Room OK all works fine ,Ok view out to the bay at a distance.
Clean tidy hotel.
Lots of buts , a little soulless.
Staff unfriendly ,very unwelcoming when you can find them.
The restaurant was not good at all ,lack of choice cold food uninteresting ,service uncaring.
So disappointing as we stayed at the Novotel Bangkok which was brilliant a stark difference!
They need a bit of training on customer service.

Room tip: Not worth the money.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tpp442016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Novotel Ha Long Bay, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear tpp442016,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with the hotel. I apologize that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have taken your comments seriously to review our F&B service. Rest assured that we are applying the appropriate measurements and training to enhance our customer service. Many thanks again for bringing the issues to our attention and therefore giving us the chance to improve.
We look forward to having a chance to better serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
The hotel management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2024

The staffs very helpful. All of them warm welcome my family. They provided all information we need special thanks to Thu receptionist. Breakfast very good many foods to choose. The room is great view looking to the sea. My family did enjoy and sure will share others.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Thanh H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Novotel Ha Long Bay, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Dear 868thanhh,
Thank you for taking time to write us such wonderful review. We are absolutely delighted to hear of your great experience with our team. We appreciate all the great comments and will share your positive feedback with the entire team, especially Ms. Thu in reception. We are sure everyone will be encouraged by your kind words to continue working hard to exceed the expectations of our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Sincerely,
The hotel management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2024 via mobile

My stay at Novotel Halong Bay hotel was a mixed experience. On the positive side, the room was clean and had good water pressure. The hotel’s location was convenient, being close to Sun World, Sun Marina, and various restaurants.

However, there were several areas that could be improved. The room itself appeared old, with tired bed setup and bed linen. Upon arrival, there was only one receptionist available, and the computer at the priority counter for Accor members was not functioning. The lack of lighting in the lobby, restaurant, and lobby lounge gave the hotel a closed-off atmosphere, potentially due to cost-saving measures. I also noticed staff chatting amongst themselves in the lobby lounge, rather than attending to guests. As an Accor gold member, I did not receive the standard welcome letter or amenities that I have come to expect from other Accor hotels.

In conclusion, the management of Novotel Halong Bay hotel should focus on bringing the hotel up to Accor standards and enhancing the overall guest experience. With some updates and improvements, this hotel has the potential to be a top choice for visitors to Halong Bay.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank 471nguyenc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Novotel Ha Long Bay, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Dear 471nguyenc,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with the hotel. Your feedback is extremely valuable to us as we strive to improve with every stay. We greatly appreciate your comments about aspects of the areas that need updating and improvements. They are all in our plans for future renovations. We are sorry to hear about your experience in the lobby lounge and the welcome that should be there for Accor hotel members. We have taken your comments seriously and are in the process of refresh training to make sure proper service standards are delivered to our customers.
Thank you again for bringing these issues to our attention and therefore giving us the opportunity to improve. We sincerely look
forward to an opportunity to welcome you back and better serve you in the future.
Sincerely,
The hotel management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2024 via mobile

We first visited the hotel on its opening week in 2008. Nice new hotel back then. The yrs have not been kind to the exterior and grounds of the hotel. Loose tiles etc. The hotel foyer, reception, restaurant and bar were all bitterly cold. It was uncomfortably so. Breakfast was very extensive, but everything was lukewarm. Room was lovely and clean. They kindly upgraded us Great views out to sea. Good position. All the staff were very helpful and obliging. Overall good value for money. It was just so cold

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Shelley R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Novotel Ha Long Bay, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2024

Dear Shelley R,
Thank you for choosing and taking your time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Novotel Ha Long Bay. It is our great pleasure to hear your compliments about our staff and the room. On the other hand, we are sorry that some of our hotel's areas are cold. Our chief engineer has been instructed to double-check these areas. Thank you again for bringing this issue to our attention and therefore giving us the opportunity to improve.
We appreciate your feedback and we hope to have a chance to be of service to you again soon.
Sincerely,
The hotel management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2024 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Novotel and although the hotel is missing some charme the staff does not. As we experienced a very friedly service at the reception by Mrs. Hong. She privided us with all information and supported us for cruise booking and vietnamese restaurants.
We really feld welcome and taken care of. Thank you very much Mrs. Hong

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Novotel Ha Long Bay, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2024

Dear Martin S,
Thank you for choosing Novotel Ha Long Bay and for taking the time to leave us a review here. It is our great pleasure to receive your compliments about our friendly service at reception. Rest assured that we will share your feedback to our team, especially Mrs. Hong as this will serve as an encouragement to all of us who strive every day to provide excellent service to our clients.
Many thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Novotel Ha Long Bay soon.
Sincerely,
The hotel management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews