We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
NorthStar57602681075
Honeymoon trip
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 29 Oct 2023
This was our first time coming to Ha Long and we felt very comfortable at Novotel Ha Long Bay.
The receptionist is very friendly, enthusiastic and professional. This was our honeymoon trip so we booked a deluxe Junior Suite with sea view for 1 night and we were surprised that they decorated our room so beautifully. They also sent us a small cake to commemorate this honeymoon trip. Besides, the breakfast buffet is very diverse, has many choices and is very suitable for our taste. We were very impressed with the service and staff of Novotel Ha Long Bay. We will choose Novotel Ha Long Bay when we return to Ha Long next time.
Date of stay: October 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Exterior
Booking.com
AU$105
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    AU$100
  • Agoda.com
    AU$90
  • Expedia.com
    AU$104
2.1 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
AU$128
No fees just great deals
  • Trip.com
  • StayForLong
  • Expedia.com
3.0 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$98
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    AU$135
  • Vio.com
    AU$86
  • Expedia.com
    AU$119
2.6 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$157
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$147
  • Agoda.com
    AU$115
  • Expedia.com
    AU$131
0.1 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Priceline
AU$97
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$97
  • Vio.com
    AU$92
  • Expedia.com
    AU$124
6.5 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Agoda.com
AU$328
Fully refundable
No fees just great deals
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$309
  • Vio.com
    AU$289
  • Trip.com
1.3 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Lobby
Booking.com
AU$221
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    AU$177
  • Vio.com
    AU$104
  • Expedia.com
    AU$184
2.2 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Priceline
AU$76
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$76
  • Agoda.com
    AU$53
  • Vio.com
    AU$57
5.4 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Priceline
AU$71
Fully refundable
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
    AU$49
  • Vio.com
    AU$43
  • Agoda.com
    AU$45
4.2 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$111
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$114
  • Agoda.com
    AU$99
  • Hotels.com
    AU$113
9.0 km from Novotel Ha Long Bay
View more hotels in Halong Bay
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveller rating
444
450
192
38
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
444
450
192
38
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel nice pool great view breakfast buffet swimming pool night market seafood day cruise bay balcony accor tour bathtub port vietnamese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed 26 October 2023

Don't bother booking Novotel because you really have to fight hard to communicate or make them understand an issue. Issue no. 1) The day we checked in for a holiday with my baby, on 23rd October, there was a bell man who gave horrible arrogant vibes. He saw me get down from the car while I was carrying my baby after a beach visit and made me walk outside saying I had a bit of sand not on my feet but my leg, it was barely a bit of sand, I mean I had cleaned my feet after beach visit and I myself am particular about cleanliness. They just love to insult and embarrass you, specially brown skinned people. Despite seeing a mom carrying a baby, the bell man created unnecessary negativity spoiling my holiday mood. Hotel however apologised for his behaviour and replaced bell man to a sweeter one. Day of check out, 25th, they had taken 12 million security deposit from me, swiped my debit card and my hotel bill was around 8 million. My bank statement showed 12 million deducted on 23rd on check in date.. Instead of paying us difference amount by subtracting hotel charge of 8 million from 12 million security deposit amount during check out, they swiped and deducted 8 million all over again and said 12 million security deposit would reach my account within hours. They just had to pay the difference amount to make it easy for the guest. Even after checking out, I have to wait for 12 million to get reflected in my bank account. I have had horrible experiences in Novotel Phu Quoc as well, they are just not worth it. Bath tub in Ha Long Bay phu quoc had a leaking hand shower which was almost dysfunctional. Music Sound from beach club till mid night in beach view rooms is irritating. Only positive was the awesome chef who really has the spirit to make the guests feel welcome and respected and loved. He is a warm person and extremely professional and does his job well. Well, Novotel, I gave you a second chance but you failed miserably this time too. There are better hotel options around and with better facilities and service. I would say Novotel is not worth it.

Room tip: Communication is an issue, Make sure you question them regarding security deposit money and what their method would be to return it
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 918premav
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2023

There was nothing to complain about this hotel, our 2 nights here were perfect and the room rate was reasonable, The location of the hotel is very strategic and there were a lots of places with interesting night activities. Most importantly, staff in this hotel was very polite and showed us good restaurants and places to go so we have more local information from them.

Date of stay: September 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TengV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 19 September 2023 via mobile

Day 1 - Toilet holder broken on floor, bed side table missing and lounge chair is dirty.
Very few staff spoke any English which was annoying. We went to the bar and were provided with 2 different wine lists. Asked why this particular wine list was available and couldn’t answer. Ordered 2 glasses of wine and were told out of stock.

Day 2 - Had to ask for a napkin at breakfast and that continued each day. Went to the bar during hour. No guests present. Asked what were the house wines on offering and was told only beers & cocktails were available during happy hour. Told her advertising states wines also. Then the supervisor has an argument with her which was embarrassing. I requested a white wine and she said we have this wine. I said that is red wine. They went out the back for 4 minutes and we gave up left the bar. We returned at 11.15pm and their were guests drinking. I was told by the front desk that the bar is closed. Then why are guests still drinking. Bar closed. Using google translator, is their room service available, yes then I would like to order xyz, response bar is closed.pathetic service and gave up.

Day 3 - same as day 2, our key card wouldn’t open our door. Receptionist apologised staying a staff member thought we were here for 1 night. We had booked for 5 nights.

Had a meal in the bar as the restaurant was empty. We soon found out why. We took 2 mouthfuls our meal we shared and left the bar. Meal was disgusting.

We were advised that they had an IT problem when we originally booked online and would raise the payment now.
Low and behold they used the current exchange rate which was to my disadvantage. Trying to explain the difference was another struggle but we got there.

Day 4 & 5 - Had daily breakfast and ate outside the hotel.

It was such a disappointing experience and they rate themselves 4 stars. In your dreams.

We had stayed at The Sofitel in Ho Chi Min & the Mercure in Hanoi and Novotel in Da Nang and were all brilliant hotels.

I’m not surprised I haven’t received a survey email which applies to all Accor Hotels.
Actually Accor should send their Forensic Team to investigate the operations as it appeared no one of seniority were present.

Room tip: Don’t stay here.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 107bernardw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 September 2023 via mobile

We were warmly welcomed at the hotel by Thu and her friendly staff. The buffet food was quite good. Everything was very nice and comfortable. I visited on the weekend and experienced the hustle and bustle of Ha Long. It was a very enjoyable and meaningful trip

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Guide16396665391
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 June 2023 via mobile

The room we have stayed has a nicw view including the hill and also the sea. The breakfast was good although they do not have too much options. The staff was nice and very helpful, we will come back and recommend my friend to visit this hotel when we come to Ha Long.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Trail24659739806
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews