We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
AU$67
No prepayment needed
Priceline
travelup.com
AU$66
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,149)
Filter reviews
1,149 results
Traveller rating
441
450
191
37
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
441
450
191
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel nice pool great view breakfast buffet swimming pool night market seafood day cruise bay balcony accor tour bathtub port vietnamese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 1,149 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2019

It has been long time since we stayed in one of the AccorHotels and this recent experience was surely good. Firstly, unlike many hotels in SEA, they quickly responded to questions and requests via contact form or e-mail. In general. the staff was always polite and trying to help. This well outweighed minor issues we encountered while already in the hotel. Most of the things/services we requested was done without any issues.
Secondly the hotel is clean, reasonably new and in good location if, like ourselves, one wanted to spend some time in the Sun World Complex – in walking distance, less than 1km I believe.
We had a room near the top floor and the view was perhaps not spectacular but very nice (please see the photos).

Food we found so-so but let me give some details. I am not a big enthusiast of the noodles but I still like Pho Ba and alike, even more fried noodles etc. This was good in the hotel as well in the restaurant right below the hotel (much cheaper). But many other things without noodles, fried or stewed meat, some sort of curry etc. were not so good (for our taste), especially that they all were with bones and I these bones were crashed. The taste of course, could be a matter of individual preferences. Other than this, it was pretty average.
Now let me tell you this: my wife and our son went together to the buffet dinner. Sorry to say, I didn’t think it was worth the money and they found it difficult to have something they would like to eat (less problem with the kid of course - chocolate fountain etc). They soon finished and wanted to sign the bill and the staff in charge said: but you almost didn’t eat anything? Well… - ok, I would charge you for one person only. I hope this staff will not have any problems, because this sort of attitude is what really makes the stay and builds good reputation of the place and I hope the management knows it. Big plus.

Some other practical information: wine in the hotel is ooooverpriced. The nearest shops, adjacent to the hotel, left side, some of them have wine, but they are also slightly overpriced and without any choice. Further to the left, just opposite the Sun World Complex there are some shops with more reasonable prices and much greater choice. It is worth the walk.

While traveling we (the adults at least) generally prefer local food over the Western one, but one day, after lunch time, we had problems to find an open place in the vicinity of the hotel, that we were not afraid to dine inside with the kid – cleanness, smell. 50-100 m to the left, same shop row mentioned above, there is an Italian restaurant. I don’t remember the name, but there is only one in the direct vicinity. Their pizzas were excellent. Also the pizza in the hotel was pretty good.

The hotel can arrange the transportation from Hanoi and back. The price is obviously higher than an average but the car was good and all was arranged very smoothly. It took us ~2.5h to get from Noi Bai airport to the hotel and another 2.5h for the way back (both ways on the highway). It takes ~2h to reach Hanoi traveling morning time.

We also arranged a boat cruise via the hotel and were happy about this arrangement. We opted for a 6h private cruise. It was definitely more expensive than some offers I found on Tripadvisor but if you compare in details what was offered (6h, transportation to the hotel, private guide, and the boat just for 3 of us) I still think it was worth the money.

Lastly, if you search for the hotel via Google Maps, the location it points to is wrong . The hotel is further towards the Sun World Complex.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank amdsg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2019

Good facilities and very helpful staffs
I stayed here for 2 days. And the service exceeded my expectation.The staffs treated me by their honesty. They made my holiday completely.If i go back to Ha Long, absolutely choosing this hotel again

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Davidwaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gmnovotelhalongbay, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2019

Dear Davidwaterson,
Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback about Novotel Ha Long Bay after you stay. We are very happy when receiving your satisfactions. We also believe that all your praises will give our staffs a huge motivation to work harder and harder. Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2019

A family of 5 stayed at the Novotel for 5 nights. It was school holidays and a busy time. But staff ensured we were well looked after. Tung was very friendly and helpful he gave us many tips and advice. He was always there to greet us of a morning and help us with our daily plans. You can book boat tours of Halong Bay from the Novotel which we did and thoroughly enjoyed. It is a 10 minute walk to SunWorld Park. Ideal family hotel.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
2  Thank Oskirv
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gmnovotelhalongbay, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2019

Dear Oskirv,
Thank you for taking time to give us your valuable feedback about your stay at Novotel Ha Long Bay. We are motivated by your compliments about the staffs. I am sure that I will impart to all the staffs especially Mr Tung. We also apologize you for the Halong Bay Boat Tours. We look forward another opportunity to welcome you back to Novotel Ha Long and bring to you the best service to explore our beautiful city.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2019

Hotel was good, clean and close to a theme park as well as a touristic night market. Room was good with nice view to Ha Long Bay. Breakfast was ok but staff at restaurant was likely inattentive due to a large group of guests in the weekend. Bell-boy was unhelpful and unfriendly. I had a box that I did not want to bring it to my room and bring back to lobby as I was about to check-out in the next few hours later. But the staff told me "Please bring it to your room because there are so many bags here and I am not sure if we can lose yours". WTH? Guest wanted to leave bag at bell counter but then was advised to bring to the room? So disappointed!

Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kiet Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gmnovotelhalongbay, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

Dear Mr Kiet Q,
Thank you for spending time to give us the feedback about your stay at Novotel Halong Bay. We were very glad when we received your compliments about: Room, our location and foods in the hotel. Beside that, we also noted your complaint about the bell- boy and waiter attitudes. First of all, we would like to apologize you for all the inconveniences in the hotel. We also hope that you can sympathize with us in the high demand season. There has been the number of guests using the services of hotel everyday especially this season. So sometimes the quantity of staff was not enough. But we will try to restrict all the negative things to the guest as more as possible. About the case between you and our bell - boy, I am sure that I will warn him and train his attitude as a good staff. Once again, on the behalf of Novotel Halong Bay, we would like to apologize to you and hope another opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2019 via mobile

It was a good experience overall. Swift checkin and checkout. Professional staff and nice restaurant with multiple dining options at reasonable price, especially promotional combo menus. Nice view of the halong bay beach from balcony that is available with most rooms. Smoking rooms can be available but prior intimation is recommended. Well maintained and comfortable rooms. Breakfast not really great and predominantly Chinese/Vietnamese like most other hotels in Halong. Many local and other restaurants, groceries and souvenir shops very close to the hotel, including seafood, Chinese and Vietnamese. Nice pool but facing the sun, no shade, during the day. Lobby not air conditioned as is the case with most hotels in Vietnam. Live water fountains show with music can be seen from hotel balconies facing the beach in the evening. Sunworld park with rides and cable car about 1.5 km from the hotel

Running water not available in WC

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Usama Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gmnovotelhalongbay, General Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2019

Dear Usama Z,
Thank you for you opinions about our hotel after your stay at Novotel Halong Bay. We believe that all the compliments from you is as a huge motivations for the staff from all departments. Thank you for appreciating our hotel's location, room, front office and another services highly. Although you gave us a lot of praises, we also received and noted somethings which didn't satisfied you, such as: the shade from pool, the air condition at the lobby bar,... We promise that we will improve all of them as quick as possible. And hopefully we have the chance to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews