We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Priceline
Hotels.com
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,154)
Filter reviews
1,154 results
Traveller rating
444
450
192
38
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
444
450
192
38
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nice hotel nice pool great view breakfast buffet swimming pool night market seafood day cruise bay balcony accor tour bathtub port vietnamese
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
86 - 91 of 1,154 reviews
Reviewed 9 May 2019

Comfortable hotel, located above Ha long Bay room was good with good views of the Bay and surrounding area. To walk to the theme park it is down rather a steep hill. Breakfast had a good amount of choice and was good.

Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank bluewasp2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gmnovotelhalongbay, Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2019

Dear bluewasp2000,
We would like to thank you for choosing Novotel Ha Long Bay as your accommodation choice during your recent stay in Ha Long and for taking the time to share your feedback here. It is our great pleasure to learn that you find our hotel location convenient. Your appreciation on breakfast selections have been passed to relevant team and rest assured that this will serve as an encouragement to them in working.
Thank you for your sharing and we hope to have chance to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,
Thoi Dinh
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2019

We spent two night here and throughly enjoyed it.

The room was excellent - large, very comfortable, well equipped, and very clean.

The staff were brilliant without exception, and the location couldn't be better.

Breakfast was good, although too many children running around and screaming, but one can hardly blame the hotel for that :-)

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnlatvia
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 May 2019

Whatever the staff are getting paid - it's not enough.

For me (British) the hotel was very nice, clean and organised - but there should have been some kind of warning that this hotel is 90% occupied by Chinese.

This would tell me to avoid the restaurants at peak times as it's chaos. How the staff manage to keep a smile on their faces with all the demands and shouting that I saw I do not know?

The location of the hotel is not great - but Grab taxi's and street taxi's are plenty full.

Rooms are reasonably priced - I had a top floor executive which was not expensive at all.

Unfortunately the guests next door tended to talk loud (shout) and had a noisy kid - so we could hear everything - not that we could understand.

Breakfast time appears to be some kind of child drop-off center. Kids just running around everywhere. No idea where the Parents were?

In the future, I'll do more research to see what kind of guests stay at the hotel.

If you're Chinese and have kids... this is the place for you.

As I said, the staff were great and how they put up with it all is a reflection on how professional they all are.

My only gripe would be the Hotel allocated driver to take us from the hotel to the Airport in the morning. It was an early start (5am) - but the guy was falling asleep at the wheel! He had to stop, get out and give himself a wakeup slap every so often. Not good.

Oh, and if the weather is no good.. then there is nothing to do in Ha Long Bay.

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gsj460
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gmnovotelhalongbay, Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2019

Dear gsj460,
Thank you for taking time to give us feedback regarding your stay at Novotel Ha Long Bay. It is our great pleasure to read your compliments regarding our hotel. We are sorry that our breakfast experience did not meet your expectation. Your staying time felt on Vietnamese Public holiday, many families bring their kids to travel in this time. We appreciated your kinds words on service from our staffs. This will serve as an encouragement as we always strive to provide superior service to our customer. On the other hand, we regret to hear your experience with transportation service. We have taken this very seriously to our service provider and make sure it will not happen again. Please accept our sincerest apology for any inconvenience and discomfort caused to you.

Many thanks again for your constructive comments and we hope to have opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,

Thoi Dinh
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2019

We arrived at the Novotel HaLong Bay from Hanoi International Airport as our flight was from Siem Reap. I had pre arranged through the Hotel airport transfer for 4 people using the freeway as the drive is 2hours and 30 minutes. We arrived at the Hotel at 11.30pm. The female staff member manning the Check-in desk. Following the initial greeting and formalities of passport and credit card details. The staff member questioned my group on how may people where staying in the rooms. The booking had 2 people listed per room, the car transported a total of 4 people to the Hotel, 4 people were standing in front of her. However she tried to say the rooms were booked for 1 person per room. This was disputed and quickly resolved. Check-in is not the time to be questioning clients, at the time I considered her tone aggressive and I did not appreciate this encounter.

The rest of our stay was pleasant. We were cared for by the most caring Waitress Trang, she is a Rockstar. She served my group for Breakfast and Dinner daily. I have never experienced such wonderful service from a Waitress. The Hotel Duty Manager was also there supporting his staff and was helpful and friendly.

The only negative apart from the check-in event is the fact there is a night club not directly in front of the Hotel. The Music is extremely loud and can be heard until very late in the morning. Then there is the continuous horns blowing, which is a continuing theme in Vietnam.

Room tip: Views of the bay are awesome
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2019

Spent one night here in a family group of 3 adults and 2 kids (aged 9 and 13). We had 2 rooms next door to each other, one with an extra bed for the 9 year old.

The rooms were clean and comfortable, with a large bath. The restaurant was good, although there weren't many vegetarian options. Why chefs insist on putting oyster sauce on otherwise vegetarian dishes (sauteed cabbage) is a mystery to me.

The morning after we arrived it was my daughter's birthday. My mum - doting grandma - mentioned it to the staff, and they brought a cake to our room and sang happy birthday to her. A lovely touch!

Each room had a balcony with a view of the amusement park complex. We arrived in the evening after a cruise so we were pretty tired. The amusement park looked great from our balcony view and the following morning we were keen to visit it. Unfortunately it didn't open until 2pm so we missed out.

Nobody was quite sure what time the amusement park would open (Google said 10am, the staff thought 3pm), anyway we had nothing else to do so we checked out and the staff organised a taxi for us and we went to the amusement park. Turns out it was opening at 2pm. We weren't going to be able to stay that long, so we found another taxi and went back to the hotel. This is where the service from the hotel was really good. Firstly, the taxi driver ripped us off - not much anyone could do about it (and really, it was $5 when it should've been $1, no big deal) but the hotel staff were suitably horrified, which was nice and supportive of them! And secondly, they were under no obligation to do anything for us as we'd already checked out, but they let us check in again and use our room and swimming pool for the rest of the morning.

Room tip: Ask for a view of the bay. The cable car/ferris wheel complex is lit up at night which is quite pretty.
Date of stay: April 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Janine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
gmnovotelhalongbay, Manager at Novotel Ha Long Bay, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2019

Dear Janine D,
Thank you for taking time to share such a detailed feedback regarding your recent stay at Novotel Ha Long Bay. It is our great pleasure to read your compliments to our staffs and service from them. We appreciate that you like our room and personal touch to your daughter's special day. On the other hand, we are sorry for any inconvenience caused to you due to the oyster sauce. Your comments on the lack of vegetarian dishes. We are currently reviewing vegetarian options with to better suit our guests' needs. I am sorry for any confusion made by our staffs regarding the opening time for the park. Rest assured that we will find out specific information and emphasize on training to make right information is transmitted to guests.
Many thanks again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
Thoi Dinh
Room Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews