We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Professional... lacks warmth”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Ha Long Bay
Ranked #3 of 64 Hotels in Halong Bay
New Delhi
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Professional... lacks warmth”
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Excellent bar. The two ladies mixing drinks and serving coffee (the Vietnamese coffee served here is the best in the entire bay area) are very friendly and nice. The concierge and staff at the bell desk are fairly rude and I would say the only negative of the hotel. Food is fairly good. Location is excellent.

Room Tip: Pool / bay facing rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Apratim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

831 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    354
    157
    29
    12
See reviews for
163
347
47
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed here the night before our cruise on Ha Long Bay. I really don't know what the other choices for hotels are in this city. I suppose it served our purpose well. The staff wasn't too friendly. The food was very average. The breakfast was mediocre at best. Overall the next time I'd probably try to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EpicureanDoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

I have read all the previous reviews and am quite surprised ... before I arrived here I had stayed at about 10 hotels in Vietnam .. and besides metropole, this was probably the best of the lot (I normally do 4 or 5 star) ... despite it be being Tet and the place quiet as a result, the hotel was fab ...in a great location overlooking the water and across the road from a great strip of restaurants and markets .. I stayed here the night before an early boat trip and was not disappointed, the beds were fantastic, as was wifi access, there was no-one in the infinity pool that overlooked the bay, the pool was warm and views amazing, the views from my room looked out over halong and the boats, the room was immaculate, beds uber comfy, I anticipated that no-one would speak english (yet the best spoken by far from any staff in vietnam) ... the staff went out of their way to help me with lots of requests ...I had two spa treatements (massage and reflexology) and highly recommend both (especially refloxogy which is in a room with great views) ... cocktails and entertainment in the bar downstairs were brilliant ... sadly ... I am guessing this is managed by westerners... yet couple this with the amazing charm and warmth of the vietnamese ....and you get a pretty great stay .... well done to those in charge ... your attention to detail has paid off ....

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CharlotteBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karlsruhe, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

For Novotel standard I was pretty disappointed.

Breakfast was fairly average.. My husband and I both had massages, my husband was left feeling like it was a waste of money. And we stayed in low season, arrived at the hotel at 1.30 and were told we would have to wait till check in time at 2... Yet the hotel was a ghost town!

In saying all that the rooms were HUGE and very clean.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We spent a night in the Novotel whilst we waited for our cruise. It was beautiful. Not a great deal of food options late at night, forcing us to eat in the hotel restaurant but it was great in any case. The rooms were big and warm and beautiful. The bed was super comfortable and the hot water was constant and the shower was refreshing. Makes a lovely change to the rest of Vietnam. Waking up to a misty but still spectacular harbour was breathtaking and a serious reason to stay at this hotel. As far as Novotels go, this is a great one. The hard wood floors lend an authentic vibe to the place and the price is a nice change to the Western prices of Novotels. Most definitely recommend and revisit.

Room Tip: Something with a view, you'd be silly not to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank darlingink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Halong Bay hotels
6.5 km away
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
Halong Paradise Suites Hotel
#1 of 4 in Tuan Chau Island
474 reviews
2.5 km away
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
Royal Lotus Hotel Halong
#8 of 64 in Halong Bay
268 reviews
2.1 km away
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
Wyndham Legend Halong Hotel
#5 of 64 in Halong Bay
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Halong Plaza Hotel
Halong Plaza Hotel
#4 of 64 in Halong Bay
273 reviews
0.6 km away
Royal Villas Halong
Royal Villas Halong
#21 of 64 in Halong Bay
28 reviews
5.7 km away
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong Bay
Tuan Chau Holiday Villa Halong B...
#2 of 4 in Tuan Chau Island
51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Ha Long Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Ha Long Bay

Property: Novotel Ha Long Bay
Address: 160 Ha Long Road | Bai Chay Ward, Halong Bay, Vietnam
Region: Vietnam > Quang Ninh Province > Halong Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Halong Bay
#3 Spa Hotel in Halong Bay
#6 Best Value Hotel in Halong Bay
Price range (per night): $75 - $158
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Ha Long Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Ha Long Bay is the first 4 star internationally recognised hotel in the popular region. Just three hours from Hanoi, the 225 room beachfront hotel is in close proximity to major attractions such as bay cruises and local markets. Novotel Ha Long Bay enjoys a stunning vista from all angles, and even the outdoor pool with swim up bar overlooks the idyllic bay. Great for business travel or family holidays, the hotel boasts modern interiors and great facilities including WiFi Internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hooroo Pty Ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Novotel Ha Long Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Ha Long Bay Hotel Halong Bay
Novotel Halong Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing