We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Issues in some rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Da Lat
Reviewed 9 July 2015

The hotel is now called Blue Water, so finding it was a bit of a problem for our driver. I visited as part of a large family group. While my room was reasonably clean, others found quite a bit of dirt and grime. The room was quite basic and everything seemed worn and weary. From the front window, I could glimpse the lake, and there is a nice garden space. Breakfast was included at the restaurant, but we found it quite lacking. The coffee and tea were awful and there was little variety. Most mornings, something was missing, and it was very basic. It is quite a hike up the hill from the lake, so it would not be appropriate with any physical difficulties.

Room Tip: A room with a view of the lake would be great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank BuddyRoanoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2015

We opted for this place for the hands-down best location in town. It has space for garden, view to the lake, one of the nicest cafe in town just across the street. Many popular attractions are within walking distance, including the Market, Escape bar, Veronica cafe (2 mins), the Flower Garden, St Nicholas Cathedral (5 mins), even the tourist information center (2 mins).

Room: the interior looks like they've been here since the 50s. For our room, one lamp was broken, no wifi nor TV signal. The hotel fixed the lamp but not the other electronics.

Breakfast: little diversity, nothing remarkable.

Staff: friendly. Well, I'd be surprised to see any unfriendly Dalatian.

The business name has been Thanh Thuy Blue Water for quite a while. But by the time we were there they hadn't finished re-branding the place. I hope the new management will be able to do more so the potential of this place does not go to waste.

Room Tip: Don't pick room in the corner, there's no wifi nor TV signal there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danteskyhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Location is great - very central. The thing no one tells you is that its called the Blue Water Hotel. The taxi from the airport had major issues trying to find it and didn't understand my English telling him it was next to the lake.

The rooms are in a fair condition. Noise is quiet. Breakfast is OK - coffee is disgusting IMO and we had to work to find a table with a clean tablecloth when we arrived each morning.

Staff are helpful. It's bearable, but sure you could do better for the price paid.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank MrsBsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Despite no sign outside, this is now operating as Blue Water Hotel and Restaurant, connected with the restaurant on the lake across the street. They're also soft launching a patio cafe on the premises. Changes aren't made totally across the board: still see Empress towels and door signs.

Rooms are nicely styled and good size, decor a bit dated, could use a refurbishment of small aesthetic things like lamp shades, phones. No shower curtain in the shower/tub in our room, no daily bottles of water.

But the other comforts are there: tea kettle, good hot water, cable, decent bed, lots of well placed outlets. And the courtyard is quite nice and you can connect to room wifi from there. Breakfast selection is limited compared to variety seen at other hotels in $20-$40/night price range in Hanoi, Hoi An and Nha Trang.

It's fine, even charming, if you're spending a couple of days in Dalat with a backpack. I'd be curious what the reviews would say in a few months, especially if management has more plans for the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sydneywade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights. Fabulous location close to markets and to the centre of the town. Room was big, could be cleaner and I am not a fan of flowered/brocaded bedspreads?? Free internet a bonus.

Breakfast was just OK. Staff were very shy/friendly and each morning no greetings were received for example: Good morning. I realise that their English is very limited.

The receptionists could not do enough for you. they booked a tour for us, a taxi pick up several times. Bus back to Saigon was an amazing experience. Did not expect a bed all the way. Wow. So cheap. The countryside was beautiful and there are regular stops.

Highly recommend the "Blue water restaurant" across the road and on the lake. Great service and we got to know Hans very well for his smile and enthusiasm.

Room Tip: Our room was tucked away at the pantry end. Ask for a room facing the courtyard, and if able to carr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Da Lat hotels
0.3 km away
Marguerite Hotel
Marguerite Hotel
#33 of 90 in Da Lat
24 reviews
0.3 km away
Dalat Plaza Hotel
Dalat Plaza Hotel
#29 of 90 in Da Lat
236 reviews
1.7 km away
Bich Dao Boutique Hotel
Bich Dao Boutique Hotel
#20 of 90 in Da Lat
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Hong Mon Villa
Hong Mon Villa
#18 of 90 in Da Lat
90 reviews
0.3 km away
Trung Cang Hotel
Trung Cang Hotel
#42 of 90 in Da Lat
70 reviews
0.5 km away
Tulip Hotel III
Tulip Hotel III
#19 of 90 in Da Lat
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat

Address: 05 Nguyen Thai Hoc St | Lam Dong Province, Da Lat, Vietnam (Formerly Empress Hotel)
Region: Vietnam > Lam Dong Province > Da Lat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 90 Hotels in Da Lat
Price Range: $42 - $70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Thanh Thuy Hotel Dalat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Empress Hotel Dalat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing