We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
3
26
25
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
26
25
15
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2015

We opted for this place for the hands-down best location in town. It has space for garden, view to the lake, one of the nicest cafe in town just across the street. Many popular attractions are within walking distance, including the Market, Escape bar, Veronica cafe (2 mins), the Flower Garden, St Nicholas Cathedral (5 mins), even the tourist information center (2 mins).

Room: the interior looks like they've been here since the 50s. For our room, one lamp was broken, no wifi nor TV signal. The hotel fixed the lamp but not the other electronics.

Breakfast: little diversity, nothing remarkable.

Staff: friendly. Well, I'd be surprised to see any unfriendly Dalatian.

The business name has been Thanh Thuy Blue Water for quite a while. But by the time we were there they hadn't finished re-branding the place. I hope the new management will be able to do more so the potential of this place does not go to waste.

Room Tip: Don't pick room in the corner, there's no wifi nor TV signal there.
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank danteskyhigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2015

Location is great - very central. The thing no one tells you is that its called the Blue Water Hotel. The taxi from the airport had major issues trying to find it and didn't understand my English telling him it was next to the lake.

The rooms are in a fair condition. Noise is quiet. Breakfast is OK - coffee is disgusting IMO and we had to work to find a table with a clean tablecloth when we arrived each morning.

Staff are helpful. It's bearable, but sure you could do better for the price paid.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank MrsBsTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2014

Despite no sign outside, this is now operating as Blue Water Hotel and Restaurant, connected with the restaurant on the lake across the street. They're also soft launching a patio cafe on the premises. Changes aren't made totally across the board: still see Empress towels and door signs.

Rooms are nicely styled and good size, decor a bit dated, could use a refurbishment of small aesthetic things like lamp shades, phones. No shower curtain in the shower/tub in our room, no daily bottles of water.

But the other comforts are there: tea kettle, good hot water, cable, decent bed, lots of well placed outlets. And the courtyard is quite nice and you can connect to room wifi from there. Breakfast selection is limited compared to variety seen at other hotels in $20-$40/night price range in Hanoi, Hoi An and Nha Trang.

It's fine, even charming, if you're spending a couple of days in Dalat with a backpack. I'd be curious what the reviews would say in a few months, especially if management has more plans for the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sydneywade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights. Fabulous location close to markets and to the centre of the town. Room was big, could be cleaner and I am not a fan of flowered/brocaded bedspreads?? Free internet a bonus.

Breakfast was just OK. Staff were very shy/friendly and each morning no greetings were received for example: Good morning. I realise that their English is very limited.

The receptionists could not do enough for you. they booked a tour for us, a taxi pick up several times. Bus back to Saigon was an amazing experience. Did not expect a bed all the way. Wow. So cheap. The countryside was beautiful and there are regular stops.

Highly recommend the "Blue water restaurant" across the road and on the lake. Great service and we got to know Hans very well for his smile and enthusiasm.

Room Tip: Our room was tucked away at the pantry end. Ask for a room facing the courtyard, and if able to carry suitcases up many steps, stay on the top level, the lake is beautiful.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed ,now for the second time in Hotel Empress,this year 2 nights.Nice situated,overlooking the lake,,and a short walk to the market area.comfortable room,good bed,and the breakfast was ok(baguette,eggs,toast,butter and marmelade)also the pick up from the airport,was OK,for a reasonable price.We loved it,and will return again

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolly04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews