We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
3
27
25
15
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3
27
25
15
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 3 December 2013

My wife & I spent 3 nights at this hotel picked because of its quiet location overlooking the lake.

It was generally rundown and had seen better days.

We were taken to the nearest room to reception. It was musty and the key did not work. Reception opened the door but we could not, called him back where the trick was to slightly pull the key out, twist slightly, then turn and push with your foot. Still couldn't manage so requested another room. A day later new guests were having the same problem. It was not as if the Hotel was fully booked. Breakfast was cold on the first morning and after that we asked for and received a hot breakfast.

Internet was provided in the reception area where each night a group of men would gather and managed to fill the room with cigarette smoke. This left an unpleasant smell as well as cigarette butts left in the table drawers below the PC keyboard. Smoking was allowed in the dining room at breakfast also.

On checkout, cash only as the lines were down.

Our worst Hotel experience in 35 days in SE Asia.

David & Sheryl Nix
Forster NSW Australia

Room tip: There are rooms upstairs with good views of the lake
Date of stay: October 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

This hotel must have seen much better times some decades ago. In line with the lack of maintenance the cleaning was below average and not in line with the rating listed.
Hot water in the bathroom was a matter of luck. The very fresh climate of this hilly location was not catered for adequately and the night was freezing cold. The blankets, in line with the overall cleaning have obviously not seen water for ages, only the linnens were changed perhaps 2 or 3 guests before.
Furthermore, the complimentary breakfast is absolutely basic.
And perhaps for those with some slight walking problems another reason why to avoid this place - you have to climb many steps first before you reach the lobby, which can be rather tiring for older folks.

Room tip: The best rooms to choose is for sure at any other hotel!
Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SevenSeasTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

After reading a lot of other reviews, I was hesitant to stay here but decided to book the first three days of our two week stay in DaLat at the Empress. I was pleasantly surprised at the hotel. Though it is older, the rooms were clean and appointed very nicely. The bathrooms were nice and there was unlimited hot water - a plus in Vietnam. The location was great - our room had a close view of the lake and it is just around the corner from the market and also close to the new supermarket. The breakfasts were excellent - the American breakfeast which was included in the price of the room was two eggs sunny side up, ham, good coffee, a choice of juices (I always drank passion fruit) and toast and french bread. The little patio courtyard was quite nice and seemed to be kept up fine. No one hounded us about taking tours or spending any extra money. Anyway, my Vietnamese fiance and I ended up staying there the entire two weeks we were in DaLat. I would gladly stay there again and think that The Empress is underrated on this site.

Date of stay: September 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barlowe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Best things about this hotel? Location at the lake: near to good restaurants ( especially the V Cafe): good-sized and reasonably comfortable room. Otherwise a tired place which must have been attractive in its time but now shows little sign of investment in upkeep. Fridge in our room did not work and was not fixed over three days despite several reminders. Breakfasts? Mostly forgettable. Buffet depends on the number of people in-house ( and then is minimal) - otherwise it's mostly bread and coffee and fruit juice if you demand it when it doesn't appear. Over-priced for what it offers and in comparison with other hotels. Try somewhere else. The only reason we stayed there was because we were meeting our daughter and friends who had booked next door at Ngoc My (and they thought we had the better deal!!)

Room tip: Try to get room #1 which has a view of the lake
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gavin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This was a very fancy, but tired, hotel. Beautiful position overlooking the lake, but the steps and ramp up and down from the road made it a nightmare for our tired knees. The room was average clean, but not bad all things considered. Great shower. The courtyard, which could be beautiful, was very run down and unloved. A lot of time spent watering pot plants, but never saw anybody with a broom while we were there. Breakfast was adequate. We'd had 3 torture days on our motor bikes so dropped our laundry into the hotel - it holds the record for the most expensive bag of laundry we have ever paid for - and all still smelt on its return. It was part of our pre-booked trip, but I suspect very expensive. Much better choices in Dalat, once we started exploring.

Room tip: Probably better ways to spend your money. Look for a ground floor room.
Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FijiChica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews