We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but not my favourite Marriot.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 445 Hotels in Pattaya
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
93 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great staff but not my favourite Marriot.”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Used our Marriot points so it was an okay place to stay but I wouldn’t pay the rack rate to stay here. We used the handy Bell Travel bus from the airport and they dropped us at the hotel for 200 BHT each. Staff met us and helped us with our bags and we received welcome drinks and cool cloths. Check in was super fast. Sea view room is okay – fairly clean (could use some bleaching in the bathroom), beds are fairly small but comfy with decent linens. Lots of hangers and there’s a fridge, kettle, hair dryer, tub/shower combo, TV with movies, WIFI that’s solid and a/c that works well. View of the harbour is good.

Unfortunately the tub is too small for the shower head so water sprays onto the sides and drips onto the floor. They’ve placed a piece of wood on the floor to divert the water to the drain but the drain is higher than the floor so water pools. It makes quite a mess. Turn down service cleaned it up for us but it’s a hassle. We asked reception if this was typical in each room and it was so we didn’t bother changing rooms. On a good note: there’s plenty of hot water, the water pressure is great and the towels are large and soft.

The manager spoke to us at departure and was genuinely interested in feedback so that was nice. He said there are plans to renovate in the very near future. Opted out of breakfast but did eat lunch at the pool and both food and service were good. Our night was super quiet. After our last day of diving we could use the health spa to shower and clean up for our 6:30 bus pick up and that was very handy.

Had Indian food across the road and it was decent. There's a great food court on the top floor of the mall - as well as coffee shops and fast food if that's your thing. Diving with Mermaids was merely okay – I’ve certainly been with better companies. If they started earlier one could easily get three dives in instead of 2. Diving in Pattaya isn’t great for experienced divers: visibility ranges from 4 to 8 metres with not much to see.

I would not return to Pattaya – it seems more inclined towards men seeking the company of Thai women. Divers looking for an easy dive spot to get to from Bangkok should go to Koh Chang or better yet, Phuket.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbonez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    709
    411
    119
    22
    16
See reviews for
203
362
211
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We live in Bangkok, and with only 1h20m drive to the hotel in Pattaya, it makes Marriot one of our preferred weekend hotels. The hotel is cosy and a city-resort setup. One of the best relaxing swimming pools located in a beautiful exotic courtyard. A great area for all ages. Always friendly and prof service. Stayed in almost all room types and can only say that all of them are great value for money (big and well equipped). Don't miss the breakfast! And not to forget the food served around the pool. Simply great and well prepared food. The hotel is located next to/connected to a nice 5fl shopping mall with great facilities for all ages. The 5th floor is loaded with entertaining attractions for kids and adults. The hotel is located at Beach Road and is only 15meters walk away from the garden walkway. Warm recommendations if you are looking for a 5star hotel near the beach and great shopping facilities in central Pattaya.

Room Tip: Normal rooms are great and incl free Internet and breakfast. Views are in general good from all room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mogadore, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

This was my third stay at Marriott Pattaya Resort & Spa. I know what I am getting with Marriott - great service, quiet business atmosphere, with an exceptional location. Really like this hotel as it is connected to the shopping mall.

Room Tip: Get a room with a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

The hotel and staff are amazing. I am a extended stay business traveler and travel throughout Asia, Micronesia and the United States. In all my numerous stays at many of the finest hotels I have never been treated with more welcome and genuine care. Thailand is the Land of Smiles and the staff at the Marriott Pattaya make you feel like their Resort is your home from the moment you arrive. I usually have an upgraded suite which is clean, spacious, comfortably cool, and includes a large desk with fast reliable internet. The cafe has a wide variety of delicious international cuisine with a friendly attentive staff. Don't miss the breakfast. Location is perfect, very central to the heart of Pattaya. I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

I'll agree with most of the good reviews previously posted. Great location, helpful staff, good food. Some of the offerings are pricey, but there are a lot of deals if you time things well.

I'll add that the sights and trips that you can book through the hotel are surprisingly varied and well-priced. Some of them are grouped with people from other hotels, but the prices are great and they have to get the savings somewhere. Hard to beat the ease of booking from the lobby, though not for early risers. A lot of space and things to do for family accompanying business travelers.

The pool is glorious, literally an oasis from the chaos that is beach road and the surroundings. Get a mid-level room to avoid noise carryover from neighboring properties.

Room Tip: For quiet get a mid-level room facing the pool/courtyard. Higher rooms may be more protected from s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SzczRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pattaya hotels
1.9 km away
InterContinental Pattaya Resort
3.4 km away
Centara Grand Mirage Beach Resort Pattaya
0.8 km away
Hilton Pattaya
Hilton Pattaya
#15 of 445 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Rabbit Resort
Rabbit Resort
#2 of 445 in Pattaya
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Baraquda Pattaya - MGallery by Sofitel
2.2 km away
Holiday Inn Pattaya
Holiday Inn Pattaya
#9 of 445 in Pattaya
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa

Property: AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa
Address: 218/2-4 Moo 10, Beach Road | Nongprue, Banglamung, Pattaya 20260, Thailand (Formerly Pattaya Marriott Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Chonburi Province > Pattaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Pattaya
#3 Business Hotel in Pattaya
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Pattaya
#6 Spa Hotel in Pattaya
#9 Luxury Hotel in Pattaya
#17 Family Hotel in Pattaya
#22 Romantic Hotel in Pattaya
Price range (per night): $94 - $241
Hotel Class:5 star — AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay in style, at AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa. Located in the heart of the city, there's so much to see and do - and you'll love the view. For work or play, we'll make your day, with endless options to adventure or unwind. Gather your team in contemporary, airy meeting rooms with state of the art facilities, or bring the family to experience the simple pleasures of fun by the sea. We'll keep everyone interested, with AVANIKIDS for the little ones. Take in a game of golf with friends. Share fun with the family at a nearby waterpark. Taste a world of flavours in our selection of the finest restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Booking.com, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotelopia and Evoline ltd so you can book your AVANI Pattaya Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Pattaya Hotel Pattaya
Marriott Pattaya Resort And Spa
Pattaya Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing