We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great place to stay”
other travellers have booked this property
Villa Maphráaw at Night... Now offering free nights; All yours for as little as $450 a night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Maphráaw at Night... Now offering free nights; All yours for as little as $450 a night
Bird's-Eye View – now offering 3 and 5 bed daily rates: reserve your very own private hotel Large infinity-edged private pool with amazing backdrop ocean views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
61 reviews
Villa Maphráaw at Night... Now offering free nights; All yours for as little as $450 a night
Bird's-Eye View – now offering 3 and 5 bed daily rates: reserve your very own private hotel
Large infinity-edged private pool with amazing backdrop ocean views
Amazing night shot of Villa Maphráaw.  You can appreciate the size of the villa
Amazing Panoramic views from the villa overlooking the neighbouring island of Koh Pha Ngan
Surrounded by no-one - total peace within an amazing tropical setting
Impressive villa, just like your very own private hotel and at great prices too
Relax in the spacious private pool, Jacuzzi with ample sunbeds and outdoor speakers
Plenty of sunbeds, seating areas and a magnificent private infinity pool to cool down and relax
Landscaped gardens and detailed tropical touches, finished to the highest standard
Open-planned modern interior design; sit back and relax on one of the 5 designer leather sofas
Villa Maphráaw offers an open-planned modern environment: perfect for families and friends a like
This villa boats some of the best reviews on Samui Island
TV room - 48 LED inch TV, surround sound, Satellite TV and 250 DVDs to choose from
Villa Maphráaw has been recognized by Trip Advisor for it's high standard of Service
We offer arguably the best Guest Management service on Samui and are proud of it
Take advantage of our optional private chef service, serving you some of the finest Thai cuisine
Villa Maphráaw – our staff are here to make your stay more comfortable
5 Leather sofas and 2 reception areas; Plenty of space for 2 families or a large party of friends
Dine in style and take in the amazing views Villa Maphráaw has to offer
Wine and dine within the villa.  Why not try the villa's amazing Thai Chef to prepare for you
Providing all facilities for a 5 star self-catering holiday, including a 5 burner gas BBQ
Spacious modern style European kitchen - with full amenities
Breakfast is served by our private chef; an option for guests
Pool side at dusk, with enough space for outside dining
Sleeping up to 10 guests (additional beds an option), this villa really is value for money
With over 40 superb past guest reviews, you know your perfect holiday is safe with Villa Maphráaw
Offering 2 large baths with 6 showers in total spanning the villa
5 stunning spacious en-suite bedrooms to choose from
Enjoy your own privacy with your very own private bathroom connected to every bedroom
Our Guest Management Concierge service is second to none on Samui Island
Bespoke designed, drawing from modern western architecture, fused with Thai-Style features
Bedroom 3 with King-sized bed and en-suite bath and shower room
Designed for guests, ensuring bedrooms are fully equipped to meet your needs
Villa Maphráaw provides all guest linen and towels which are replaced twice weekly
Double sinks complimenting a stunning bathroom with bath and shower
Bedroom 4: Spacious bedrooms are just a couple steps from poolside
Designed for guests, ensuring bedrooms are fully equipped to meet your needs
En-suite shower room connecting to one of the lower double bedrooms
Outside on the spacious deck; sit back and relax outside bedroom 5
Offering 2 King, 2 Queen and 2 single sized beds - all bedrooms have their own private bathrooms
Collage of Villa Maphráaw
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Mac-Bain8...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed 21 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Let's say it straight away: this is a great place to staz. The house is amaying, better than the pictures can show. If zou're looking for a house in Samui, don't hesitate. Also, even if we've been numerous times in Thailand, this was a first as a family. The staff was really kind and helpful. Thanks to the whole team.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Dear Mac-Bain84,

Thank you for choosing Villa Maphraaw to spend your holiday and for all your wonderful comments about the team and the villa. It was great meeting you and your lovely family. We hope to see you all again next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gie89
Philippines
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Villa Experience in Thailand!!!”
Reviewed 17 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is our third holiday in Thailand and I have to say this is the best villa experience we've had so far. Other accommodations we've stayed in the past doesn't even come close to what this place has to offer! The villa looks new inside and out and is obviously well maintained which is honestly very rare to find in Thailand. We were trying not to expect too much thinking that the place won't be as good as it is on the photos but we're pleasantly surprised upon arriving and seeing that the place is actually as good or even better than the photos.

There was also a very kind guest manager who welcomed us at the villa even though we arrived really late at night since we took the last flight to Samui. He gave us a tour of the villa and patiently answered all our questions. He also arranged everything we needed during our entire stay such as taxi services, tours and dinners which made our stay very convenient.

It is really difficult to find any faults in this place, I think the rate we paid for is definitely a bargain for a place like this. We are now planning our next trip back to Samui and back to this villa!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Service, View, Swimming Pool
Liked least: None!!!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Dear Gie89,

We are glad to hear you had a great experience at Villa Maphraaw. It always feels good knowing that our efforts in giving our guests the best holiday experience is appreciated. We hope your next trip back to Samui will be soon. Looking forward to welcoming you back at the villa.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
samuichin...
Amphoe Koh Sa-mui, Surat Thani, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It is worth every penny”
Reviewed 16 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We found this lovely villa on a Samui villa management website called Sunshine Samui VIllas. We finally chose this villa out of 30 of them as the size, budget and area seemed to fit what we were looking for.
We got 2 quotation from them, one a self - catered rate(meaning no daily cleaning) & 1 with full service. Although it is $150 different in price, we chose the one with full services (considering having small children) as it includes daily cleaning, daily continental breakfast and 2 way airport transfers.
Everything were almost perfect, except when the government electric was a bit unstable due to storm. However, the management were very prompt with their response. We were added on a group chat when we check in and they update us every 30 mins with the situation. This is a situation that is out of their control and we really appreciate their effort. Whatever we need, they were always just a call or text away and things will get done quickly.
The villa is situated on a hill that make it a little inconvenient but all you need is to rent a car or hire a driver with them. Well, if you are expecting a good sea view, it got to be on a hill though. It really suited us as we come from a crowded city and we wanted a quiet place to relax so it is a big NO to stay too near to Chaweng (anywhere it is just 20 mins away.) It is very well equipped and we love cooking our own meals in its lovely kitchen. Not forgetting the sound system at the pool area too... AWESOME stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Dear Samuichinainfo,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. It is great to know you had an awesome stay at the villa and that you were happy with how our team handled any issue you experienced. We always try to adjust and adapt to guest needs that's why we offer additional services and we're glad you chose the full service option as it makes it more convenient for you and your children. We hope you can join us again for another wonderful family getaway at Villa Maphraaw.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick B
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing - not recommended”
Reviewed 15 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Having lived in Asia for seven years and stayed in countless villas in Thailand, I may come across as spoilt but this is my interpretation and honest review of this villa. Firstly this is set a significantly long way back/up the hill from the main road (as in not a walking distance), you would need a 4x4 or to take a taxi every time you want to go out. This was not an issue for us. The views are fabulous from the villa. The house keeper is very nice and cooks a great Thai meal. That is about all the relatively positive things I have to say.

We arrived and were met by a rude, patronizing villa manager which didn't start the trip well. The villa was sweltering. There is no aircon in the communal/living areas and whilst you can open windows and there are fans, it was unbearably hot to be in the living area for the duration of our trip. This would not be an issue if you can easily wonder outside but the main dining area is inside and unless you want to carry your meals down a step staircase and out to the pool and back up when done, this was annoying. You would also have to cook and clean up in sauna. Not only was it unbearably hot, the fridge and freezer didn't work, neither did the water fountain provided, so it was impossible to get a cold, let alone cool drink for a couple of days. To be fair to the villa manager (who was switched out from the person who met us) a new fridge was delivered after a couple of days and we were compensated for the food that was ruined. The new villa manager was very pleasant, apologetic and accommodating as could be.

So we are hot, can't have a cool drink, at least the bedrooms must be cool. Nope. We were told if we put the aircons to the coolest setting the units would freeze (living in Hong Kong not something I have ever heard and if you google its because the units are not maintained). Inconsequentially we put the aircons on cold in an attempt to lower the temperatures in the sweltering rooms. We managed to get cooler in some rooms and almost bearable but not cool - not what I deem in any way luxurious. A couple of nights there was no power and the villa became intolerable.

The sun would come up in the morning and bake the rooms from sunrise, and the light would stream through the moth eaten curtains.

We had to get the villa manager in to clean the drains as the smell of human excrement was simply disgusting when we arrived.

The pool is nice, no sun from early afternoon.

There is a maid service, EVERY THIRD DAY. I have never been anywhere on holiday, especially Thailand, where someone doesn't come in at least on a daily basis and make the beds. Spoilt maybe, but I also don't really expect to have to clear up after myself on holiday.

We were two couples, had three young children all under 3 and this villa was not for us. It didn't represent luxury in anyway shape or form. It's tired and just not very well laid out. This may work for three of four young couples who just need somewhere to stay, but a family seeking a luxury holiday retreat this is not. I would not go back to this villa if I was offered it for free, we checked into a hotel before the end of our stay.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Leaving
Liked least: The Villa
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review. I always actively encourage constructive criticism in order to help improve the next guest’s experience in the villa. Admittedly, I was taken aback by some of the comments suggested in the review, as prior and subsequent guests (within days of this stay) were extremely satisfied, with no complaints whatsoever and left positive Trip Advisor reviews. Although I understand there were a series of unfortunate events which happened during this particular guest stay, as a result of the review, a thorough investigation has taken place.

Firstly, the secret to our success regarding the villa is to always assist the guest (before, during and after the stay) as much as justifiably possible to ensure their stay goes as smoothly as possible. The guest requested a change of the booking after the deposit had been paid from January to July, due to personal reasons. I happily obliged free of charge.

Villa Maphráaw has been one of the most successful rental properties on Samui Island for a multitude of years. The villa’s 50+ positive reviews reflect this success story. The formula is a simple one; to offer guests the opportunity to stay in a magnificent 5 bedroom rental accommodation for a fraction of the price of its competitors, averaging at just $60 per person, per night.

The accommodation is clearly advertised as self catering with maid service 3 times weekly. All of the services included and excluded are also clearly displayed in order for guests to make their own informed judgement as to whether this suits their needs during their stay, without having to commit first. This is the basic package I offer in exchange for the low advertised rates. I always strongly encourage anyone looking to potentially book the villa, to ensure that they have read the ‘included’ and ‘excluded’ sections of the advertisement.

Within 24 hours of guest confirmation, an email is sent detailing all of the additional services available to them. One attachment is titled ‘Villa Additional Services’. The document clearly details all of the specific villa services guests can choose to ‘add-on’ should they wish to, in order for their stay to fit their specific requirements. Some of the additional services offered are full-time maid service, on-site staff, private chef service (including a full-time chef and continental breakfast); among other peripheral services. This method has been very successful over the years as I have grown to appreciate that each and every guest has specific needs and expectations and therefore I provide the flexibility to help achieve this.

As the owner, I stand 100% behind my Guest Management team who as a group are arguably the most professional Villa Management team on the Island with vast experience (currently managing over 40 villas on the island). The Guest Managers will without fail always put the guest first and react to any given situation to ensure that issues are resolved in a positive and speedy manner for guests, within reason. In this instance, I received a Guest Report subsequent to check-out and I am more than satisfied that everything possible was implemented to ensure guest satisfaction, including changing the Guest Manager itself.

Over the past number of years, of those guests who chose to rent vehicles, only 25% hired 4 x 4, the rest standard saloon family cars or even small scooters. Furthermore, the taxi service to and from the villa are also family saloon cars rather than 4x4. Although the villa is situated on the hillside, hence the amazing panoramic views, the villa is located in one of the most developed private villa estates on the island and the use of a 4x4 is not a necessity. You only have to look around the estate to see this. In addition, a new access road to the private estate is due to be developed in 2017, making Villa Maphráaw the first villa to access, thus removing any hills which were deemed as steep by the guest.

Regarding the setting of air conditioning temperature; Villa Maphráaw is one of 40 villas managed by the Management Team and they send the exact same message to each and every villa guest. They have found that most guests generally leave the units on for the entire duration of their stay, 24 hours a day. If set to the minimum of 16 degrees for long periods, from their experience there becomes a risk of the units beginning to freeze and run inefficiently (i.e. not cool). This is prevented if set at a slightly higher temperature. The Guest Manager simply recommends this to my guests as part of a multitude of recommendations on check-in about the villa and Samui Island; it is entirely up to the guest whether they action our recommendations.

During the guest stay there was unfortunately a power outage for a few hours, but not days. This was caused by the Govt. Electric Supplier switching off the entire North-West of Koh Samui due to major upgrades to the ring road infrastructure. They always fail to provide advance warning. Unfortunately, these situations are beyond our control and affect every home and business within the area. I can only apologise to the guests for the inconvenience caused during these hours. The guests were refunded for any lost frozen food accordingly. The fridge freezer was damaged beyond repair, caused by the power surge and a replacement provided. A brand new FF has now been added to the villa.

Other items:

It was found that the ‘black-out’ lining on the curtains had been damaged in a couple of places from the previous guest stay, thus allowing sun-rays to break through these tiny spots in the morning. This has now been rectified.

Regarding the upper floor temperature, it was found that the maid had mistakenly forgotten to reopen the top large roof air vents after a significant storm prior to the guest stay. I can only apologise profoundly to the guest regarding this. Procedures have subsequently been put in place in order to prevent a repeat for future stays.

Subsequent to the guest’s comment, we found that the table top water cooler did struggle to cool the water quick enough when continually used by large groups (as it needs time for the new water entering the fridge compartment to cool). We thank the guests for highlighting this and have subsequently replaced the unit with a new larger floor standing cooler to overcome the issue.

We were totally confused regarding the ‘human excrement’ comment from the guest. On one occasion, a slight smell had appeared in one of the bathrooms; the source likely from the external piping. As always, we do our utmost to respond to speedily to any given situation that arises during a guest stay. A simple unblocking agent resolved the matter within minutes.

Regards

Stuart
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia K
US
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hillside island gem!”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful week we just spent at Villa Maphraaw! We were a large group of friends and family--9 adults and one child.This is a beautifully designed property that provides the feeling of ultimate luxury and seclusion. You will love the fact that there are five air-conditioned bedrooms with en suite baths, a dishwasher (so rare!!!) and a washing machine, lovely decks, infinity pool, security, and a welcoming manager. We loved our time there. I am so glad that two guests decided to rent cars (four wheel drive not necessary) as we did need to make many trips shopping. (Be advised, if you are wine lovers like we are--only a few shops sell good wine and you cannot purchase alcohol between the hours of 2 pm and 5 pm). Taxis are great, but they are rather expensive. It's possible to walk down the hill for exercise, but some neighborhood dogs made me feel a bit nervous, though they were probably harmless. We watched the sunrise each morning. As other guests have mentioned, you will not be disappointed by hiring Ms. Lek for your meals -- she does an amazing Western breakfast, but don't miss her Thai breakfast. Exquisite. She cooked quite a few nights for us, and one evening she prepared an enormous barbecue that was truly amazing. She is a real gem. For a night out, please visit Cafe 69 for a dining experience you will not soon forget! Great memories!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Privacy, seclusion, luxury, view
Liked least: Remote location, difficult to get shopping items, taxis very expensive
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Aug 2016
Dear Cinzia707,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Villa Maphraaw, we're sure other travelers will find it very helpful. Reading your review makes us really happy because we've created another wonderful memories for our guests and that's always our goal. Lek is also happy to hear about your kind words to her and she hopes to see you again soon. We hope you'll choose to stay at Villa Maphraaw again and create more great memories.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing