We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breathtaking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oriental Siam Resort
Ranked #49 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2012 via mobile

This Resort is unbelieveble. Great service, Nice helpful staff. The breakfast is very complete, everything is prepared with love. The villa's are clean, complete and spacious. Fresh flowers everywhere, in the room, bathroom, balcony. This Resort is owned by a dutch-Thai couple and you can see they love their resort. You won't believe the garden, with pool, gazebo, waterfall and pawn. If you wanna have à quiet and relaxing holiday, then this is the place

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank martinbar3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    39
    6
    5
    2
See reviews for
79
125
12
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2012

We stayed at the hotel from August 13-22 on our family trip with our small child (11 months old). The "Oriental Siam Resort" was the best choice we could make. The staff was extremely lovely and caring with our baby . Almost every day there was some new entertainment brought in for him from the staff. We did not have any doubts leaving him with the staff to babysit him for a couple of hours.
The place is just beautiful itself. There is a wonderful garden with tropical flowers, lots of plants and a swimming pool with extra baby pool. We really enjoyed to “live in the green”.
The Thai culture of hospitality was overwhelming. After one day of stay they offered us different appartment house were we would have more space for our son to crawl and also with kitchen. We were treated in such a nice way, that it felt like being family members of the staff.
We have always been helped to find what we needed and we stayed there relaxed and happy.
Just perfect in all. We would like to visit more often.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and travelled as a family of 5, with 3 older children. We received a very warm welcome and the rooms, 2 interconnecting, were perfect and spotlessly clean. The gardens were beautifully manicured and the pool area was perfect. The owners were extremely helpful and all staff attentive. It was the perfect place for us to stay and would highly recommend staying here. Our only slight comment would be that we found the beds quite hard.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JB1_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amman, Jordan
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed here for four days with our three month old baby and a visiting friend. The staff make you feel like returning family from the moment you arrive. Travelling with a young baby, even an hours flight from Bangkok, is not easy, and the staff went beyond what we expected of hotel staff. The nicest touch was a real cot, made up with the resorts own bedding was waiting for our sleeping son. Something so simple made our lives so much easier.

The service did not end here. The staff were proactive in arranging transportation into Chiang Mai, to the local attractions and the shopping districts. The restaurant served a small selection of good aithentic Thai food. I have lived in Thailand for two years and this was amongst the best Thai food I have had.

Parts of the resort are next to a temple and a school. This means you can be woken by chanting or the beginning of the school day. The resort is outside of Chiang Mai and taxis from there struggle to locate its location. But the staff provided us with an annotated map as well as their mobile numbers so they could talk to the drivers in Thai if necessary.

Location aside, we would recommend this resort to friends and family looking for a relaxing place to explore Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights and we felt we were being treated like family. I arrived with an injured knee. They took me to the hospital, waited while as being seen, provided all their help during my recovery and attended to all our needs. It was a great experience. I can't say enough to show how much we enjoyed staying there and how much we appreciated their attention.

The place: It is just beautiful, perfect to get away from the city environment and to relax. Not a big resort; however, the way it is set up gives you all the privacy you may need as a couple or family. The rooms are very clean and well equipped. You have the option to dine at restaurant or with more privacy just by your room. You can spend a lot of time outside in the garden, by the pool or the pond. The food is good and at very reasonable prices. We enjoyed having breakfast by the pond. It was just so peaceful.

The people: It is evident the owners love their resort. They spend so much time caring for the place and the visitors. They also do a good job at transmitting the idea to their staff. They were all polite, attentive and more than anything, caring. I can honestly say they brought me back to health and we were able to continue with our vacation. They answered our questions and provided good unbiased advice on tours and activities. The driver (Pon) is a great guy to talk to and trust that he will take you to the right places to make your visit great.

The location: Easy access to town by taxi. If you want to see Chiang Mai but still have a feeling of solitude, this is the place. The great thing about it is that it combines the experience of a resort with the local life. We walked around and found little shops, a very local restaurant with excellent food, vendors, schools, etc. We really enjoyed seeing the real local Thai people around the resort.

We will certainly go back to this resort. Many of the reviewers got it right, it is a gem and paradise!

Room Tip: Talk to Ponsee (sorry if the name is mispelled) and Peter, the owners. They are great and will give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.0 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.9 km away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
7.2 km away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#53 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 km away
The Chiang Mai Riverside
The Chiang Mai Riverside
#25 of 375 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
5.3 km away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#42 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
5.7 km away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Siam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Siam Resort

Property: Oriental Siam Resort
Address: 40/1 Moo 2, Tambon Tasala | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#34 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): $107 - $213
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriental Siam Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Siam Resort is situated within 15 minutes from the airport & city centre, only 5-10 minutes from the Arts & Crafts villages, restaurants, shopping mall. There are many tourists attractions nearby such as hot springs, cave, Underground Ancient City, golf courses and sport activities for the thrill seekers. At The Oriental Siam Resort, our English and Dutch speaking staff promise you an experience you will never forget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Otel, Hotels.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hooroo Pty Ltd, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oriental Siam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Siam Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing