We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Silver Place(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Glur Chiangmai(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Galare Guest House(Chiang Mai)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,146)
Filter reviews
1,146 results
Traveller rating
775
308
49
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
775
308
49
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree tuk tuknight marketold citybath productsshampoo and conditioneran oasishour massageone bedroom suitebusy citybanana pancakesshuttle servicebeautiful propertyexcellent breakfastmin walkmain roadtrip to chiang mailocal market
Filter
Updating list...
856 - 861 of 1,146 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed a week in the Shewe Wana recently and were not disappointed. We had been upgraded to a De Luxe double room on the first floor. The room was functional but not on the large side compared to other hotels in Thailand. The standard rooms are even smaller, but do not let this put you off as everything else was top class. The only reason I'm not giving it a 5 rating is the size of the rooms and the fact that floors are concrete and the bathroom looked as if the tiling had not been finished.
Service and food was excellent and the owner Joy is so friendly and always available for a chat.
As has been said, it's only a 15 minute walk to the night market and a 25 minute walk to the old town or 60Baht in a tuk tuk. We tended to walk to the town and Tuk Tuk back.
The two pools are excellent and were always quiet when we were there. One pool gets virtually no sun and the other loses the sun at 3.30pm, so if you want to sunbathe go early. Airport pick up and delivery was prompt and friendly. We had a complimentary dinner on the first night and free drink (did not appear).
We had a look in a top grade suite and were so impressed with quality, if you can afford it stay in one of these.
The Massage suite is very expensive compared to what you get in the city.
All in all we were delighted and would book again.
The

Room Tip: 1st floor towards the back of the hotel or one of the suites
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ceclowry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This resort was just fantastic. It was such a lovely oasis after being out in the hustle and bustle all day. It was laid back and tranquil. The gardens were amazing and the pool was so refreshingly cool that I could have stayed in it all day.

The rooms were very clean and tidy and quite large for the price.

The owner was super friendly as were the rest of the staff.

The food was fantastic (try the banana pancakes) and my husband has been on the hunt for a pad Thai that meets their standards since we got home.

We had such an amazing time there that my parents booked in on their last trip and they have also been raving about it ever since.

To get some perspective we stayed in other 3 4 and 5 star accomodaton our trip but nothing compared. We liked that it was a little away from the centre but probably one of the closest hotels to the night bazaar. Great place to stay!!!'

Oh and try to catch the overnight train from Bangkok to chiang Mai (first class sleeper cabin) it's def not our first class but it is an experience not to be missed!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HOBSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

First and foremost, my girlfriend and I had a wonderful time staying at Shewe Wana. This boutique hotel is prefect for individuals, couples, and families looking for a quiet and clean place to stay in Chiang Mai that doesn't look or feel like a hotel.

The hotel is situated across the Ping River to the east of the city center. Walking from the hotel to the Night Bazaar will take you around 15 minutes. A tuk tuk to the Night Bazaar will take you around 5 minutes. There are nice restaurants on Ping River, same side as the hotel, which will take you around 10 minutes. As with any city streets in Chiang Mai, the traffic and the commotion outside can be pretty loud. However, when you step into the entrance of the hotel and walk back through the beautiful garden, where your rooms will be, it is quite peaceful. The garden is pretty large, filled with local plants which keeps the rooms facing it cool and quiet.

The hotel room that we stayed in was quite large with a refrigerator, cable TV, and AC. When you walk into the room you feel as though you are in a large classic Thai residence from the wooden doors to the beautiful furniture in the room to the organic charcoal bamboo soaps and shampoos that were placed in the rooms every day.

The breakfast in the morning is great. There is both an American and a Thai breakfast which they serve in a buffet and sit down style. Do try the pancakes and french toasts; they are delicious. We also had lunch and dinner there too and they were also tasty, fresh, and clean.

The staff is very attentive from receptionists to the cooks. Since it is a boutique hotel many staff members perform many different roles which is a good thing because you can ask anyone questions about the hotel and Chiang Mai and they will most likely have an answer for you. Also when you there, P' Joy, the managing director of the hotel is always there to be help. She made our stay very comfortable and enjoyable with her knowledge of the area and her friendly nature.

Throughout our trip around Thailand we constantly told other travelers to stay at Shewe Wana if they were going to Chiang Mai. We will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the second floor for less noise.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank North S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

After passing through the unassuming entrance, we were greeted at reception by a friendly, attentive staff dressed in traditional northern Thai costume. Although located on the busy main road into the central city, once inside it was a picture of peace and serenity. The grounds are like a botanic garden beautfully designed and maintained. There are two swimming pools to choose from and offered us a refreshing dip after a day of sightseeing. Shewewana has a 6 passenger 'tuk-tuk' which we took to visit some of the sights in the older part of Chiang Mai, notably Wat Ket Karam. There is a traditional large open market a few minutes walk from the hotel.
For breakfast, we had a choice of resturant service or self-sevice buffet with a varied selection of Asian or Western food; we chose the buffet during our stay.
Being on a main road has its advantges in that just step outdide and we had a choice of red mini-bus, taxi or tuk-tuk to go to the center of Chiang Mai. We also had the pleasant surprise during our stay to see two parades pass right in front of the hotel: Chinese New Year Dragon and Chiang Mai Flower Show parades.
We both had the best massages ever in the spa; a quiet, serene environment with the best massuse to be found anywhere.
We will definately be back on our next visit to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

After visiting and searching on the web, we really wanted to stay at this little paradise in Chiang Mai. Due to the price we were only able to stay at Shewe Wana Boutique Resort & Spa for two nights before staying at another hotel in Chiang Mai. However upon arrival (around 6 PM) we saw that the area was deserted and far away from the Night Bazaar. The staff welcomed us with open arms, though the room was situated somewhere, lost in a corner, very basic and small, concrete floor (read: no wooden floors, carpet or what so ever). But the biggest problem: the beds. They were so high that we had to climb onto the beds. Not very convenient at night when you have to go to the bathroom or for disabled people. We decided to stay the night and check the next day.
Breakfast was ok, small buffet, the rest could be ordered from a menu, free of charge but not very inviting.
After breakfast we went to the reception, they explained that all the beds are high (higher then normal standards). However they offered a suite, since we had paid our travel agent in advance (and it would be difficult to get a refund). We decided to check out, since all the beds had the same height and my mum would have a hard time with her disabled leg.
The reception was really helpful with the whole situation, helped us with getting a cab, apologized and even gave us a few bottles of organic shampoo and body lotion.
Conclusion: nice hotel if you are looking for green, simple and organic. Interior not really modern/updated (bit dark), but clean. Not close to the Taipei Gate and night bazaar, however there are some shops and there is a local market nearby. And remember the height of the beds. A big compliment for reception and reservation department for their help.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kiki E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews