We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
USD 180
USD 162
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
USD 290
USD 212
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
Free cancellation until 21/07
USD 156
USD 97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 218
USD 196
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
USD 55
USD 35
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 56/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 112
USD 96
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of USD 176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

USD 452
USD 254
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainforest Boutique(Chiang Mai)(Great Value!)
USD 59
USD 31
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
USD 180
USD 165
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
USD 468
USD 417
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
153
72
28
5
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
153
72
28
5
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdetox programoutdoor bathroomlily pondtuk tukquiet retreatthai experiencethai massagewater featuresthe hotel offersa lovely staybusy cityspent nightsrooms are hugecooking classswimming poolnight bazaarold city
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2018 via mobile

The place is beautiful, undoubtedly beautiful rooms and garden.I came for 10 days of detox, being an experienced detoxer. The staff is untrained and the setup the opposite of hygienic. They are a hazard to your health if you attempt to use the colonics board. Being a medical doctor I saw a lot that should be different.Worst of all was they did not use disinfectant! in the rooms where the colonics are performed-they are regular toilets and not propper cleanable colonic rooms- and multi-use equipment.I was not given Dettol or soap to clean myself when I attempted my go with the board. Shocking ignorance everywhere. They provide you with fresh sweet fruit juices during fasting when when your metabolism should not get any sugar .They give you Bentonite at the same time, which binds the minerals and vitamins and you have no benefit from the juice other than taste.Meditation sessions took place outside at 12 noon and temperatures around 35°C.I nearly fainted. UV hazard? One of the yoga teachers did not consider we were fasting and just offered her very demanding routine. Activities are not daily and not plentiful.No instruction on nutrition in the form of lectures as incentive.Bird droppings on the deck chairs around the pool.But it was so hot anyway, highest smog alarm, since it was rice paddy burning season in Northern Thailand. One should remain inside at these times.The "rice paddies" behind the house turned out as peanut fields.
I left 5 days early and still have not received my refund 6 weeks later.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank Helene G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias F, Manager at Ban Sabai Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Thank you for booking with us and that you liked our resort.

Sorry to hear that you did not like some of our services. Regarding colonics, as this is usually done by a certified nurse and you did not like to do it this way and preferred a Colima board and do it by yourself, we switched to your wish. Next day you agreed to do with the nurse, We provide Dettol for all equipment, gloves and Dettol soap as well, but still somehow not satisfied. We provided you a separate room for the colonic, you did not like it so we prepared another room for you. The juices are mixed with lots of water, some fruits, vegetable and chlorophyll. After you asked us to mix it by yourself and asked in addition to Bentonite and Ispaghula husk as psyllium husk and we got it for you, trying to please you. The yoga was done on our water pavilion in the morning. Meditation was later in the day, you complained about the heat and we moved the monk to your room to do the meditation session, where you had air conditioning. At the same time we had 2 other detox retreats and they were very happy with our setting and services.
Around our property there are no rice fields since many years, there are some fields with whatever, but they do not burn the fields around our property. As you left just after 7 days, and the responsible person to sign for your refund was traveling and on the first day of his return April 7th, 2018 the document for refund was signed and processed with our bank, after this we have no influence of the process as it is a credit card and inter-banking issue.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2018 via mobile

This resort was wonderful and made you feel very zen. It's away from the city center but it's a quick taxi ride away. Oh and they also have a shuttle that takes you down to the city center every night at 18:00. Staff was lovely and very accomodating. Our room was nice and spacious. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank drea_sarria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias F, Manager at Ban Sabai Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

thank you very much for booking Ban Sabai Village. We are pleased to hear that you had a good time with us. Hope to be able to welcome you in the future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018 via mobile

This is a beautiful, serene and peaceful place to vacation. It feels like a piece of heaven in the middle of a jungle paradise. Nature, culture and beauty are bountiful. From the plants to the sound of exotic birds, frogs, and fish jumping out of the lily pond, and a fairly extensive menu that caters to a wide range of taste buds. The food is out of this world and bursting with flavor. And they seem to have no problem working with difficult or restrictive diets. Vegan food is a specialty of theirs. The staff is wonderful and the owner is such a lovely and kind woman. Both the owner and receptions speak very good English and are happy to assist guests with things that may be difficult for non Thai speakers, such as calling a taxi, making you an appointment, or making other phone calls to help aid in your daily adventures. Lots
of shopping areas nearby and temples, elephants, and other sites to see are also not far. I HIGHLY recommend this place to anyone!! You'll never want to leave.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank DANI P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias F, Manager at Ban Sabai Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you very much for staying at Ban Sabai Village. WE are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, hope to be able to welcome you in the future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2018 via mobile

The resort is really nice, the rooms are beautiful. If you open the windows (mosquito nets installed) you get the feeling to be sleeping in the rainforest... The bathroom is attached to the room, but gives you the same ‚outdoor‘ feeling. The resprt is really a nice 4 Star experience, although the bathroom is rather a medium 3 Star... If they would renovate this, it would be a completely perfect experience!

we never ate in the resort (overpriced), but took a uber to chiang mai where we ate really good! The hotel is a bit outside, rather for people who enjoy to relax then to party.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Anja-Stephanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias F, Manager at Ban Sabai Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2018

Thank you very much for selecting Ban Sabai Village for your stay in Chiang Mai. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Usually we are getting good comments of our restaurant, most of the food prices ranging between $4 to $8 a dish.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2018

Ban Sabai was an enchanting discover! In a beautiful natural area, not to far from CNX, but not close to traffic jam and pollution, this beautiful resort take place as an old traditional village, thaiLanna style.
Beautiful hoses, (i visited 3 different types) the Sapphire: like a traditonal ThaiLanna 2 floors house with steam and sauna, open air bathroom ( a real gem), and all in stylish wood furnitures; Diamond: new rooms, very spacious and modern but looking the past with nice choices; Topaze, as Sapphire, all in wood but only one fllor. Every room is full of light and so natural. The resort has nice restaurant with organic food choices and a swimming pool designed in a beautiful garden. Breakfast is good and wifi ok too. Great opportunity for thai and oil massage with 2 professional and kind therapists. All is smooth as silk, in a natural and friendly atmosphere. Everyone is kind and helpful and after 5 days it's difficult leave to home!!!

Stayed: January 2018
Thank PeterPatItalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthias F, Manager at Ban Sabai Village Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2018

Thank you very much for visiting Ban Sabai Village. We are very much pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. Looking forward to welcome you in the future again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews