We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (154)
Filter reviews
154 results
Traveller rating
49
59
28
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
49
59
28
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews guest house swiss owner top floor location is great excellent english sunday night market basic room place to stay booking tours family room small balcony old city home away from home boutique hotel bp whitehouse lek
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 154 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We didn't stay here because they had double booked our room - seems it could be common as they use a paper and pen system to manage the rooms and put our booking in the wrong month!

But when we arrived they did quickly find us a suitable alternative guesthouse nearby for the same price.

But I would have expected a little token or small gesture eg one complimentary breakfast or something like that to make up for the inconvenience.

Date of stay: February 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank NamSci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018

Our recent stay at The Chiang Mai White House was fabulous. The facilities are clean, staff is friendly and dogs are adorable. The only down side we found was that they don't allow you to sit outside in the court yard after 10. We would have rather enjoyed a drink or two at our own hotel rather than need to find a bar but that was fairly minor concern. Everyone was helpful and friendly.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank christinahopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

I come to Chiang Mai every and year always stay in the old city though this is the first time I've stayed at The White House. It is an extremely well run place and the Swiss owner is extremely helpful and cheerful. Rooms are bright and airy and very clean and some [most I think] have small balconies. The courtyard has an attractive garden and seating for guests. In Oct/Nov/Dec [when I am usually here] you do not need aircon and the fans are quiet and efficient. Showers are hot and everything is in good repair. The small lane that The White House is in also has Kanjana's lovely restaurant as well as other interesting places which serve vego or vegan food.

Room tip: Rooms upstairs are brighter and many have balconies. I was on the 4th floor and Wifi was fine and I had a pleasant view.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lightfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2017 via mobile

Great spot in Chiang Mai with friendly hosts. Location is just a few minutes walking distance from the Sunday Night Market. Easy to get to restaurants and get around town in general. There are a couple of great spots on the same street for breakfast. The hosts were very gracious and friendly. The “night guy” is friendly but isn’t the most hospitable guy in the world. He’s pretty clear that he’s just there to get you in the room if you check in late, which we did, but don’t let that dissuade you; it’s a great spot. If you’re a westerner, like me, don’t expect a Malibu Beach home, but a cozy, comfortable apartment in a great location. The whole trip had that vibe of a beach town (flip flops and tank tops) but no beach around.

We had a great time and will definitely go back and stay here.

Date of stay: November 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank markasimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Just spent 4 nights in this lovely little guest house. We couldn't have been made more welcome by our hosts. Nothing was too much trouble and our family room was very clean and welcoming. This is a guest house not a boutique hotel but we received 5 star treatment for a great price. Anyone wanting a 5 star boutique hotel should go elsewhere and pay their prices. Our transport and helpful advise was no trouble at all. We would highly recommend this guesthouse as a great place to stay.Central and the Sunday night market (Aw-inspiring by it's sheer size) was just at the bottom of the lane. A lot of places in walking distance and baht buses abound. Kindest Regards from Jenny & Trevor.

Room tip: We booked the 2 bedroomed apartment, lovely and spacious, our hosts couldnt have been more helpful. . We found it very quiet when we went.
Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank jennie761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews