We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Lol.travel
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Inge91_13
Chiang Mai, Thailand

"Where you come as a guest and leave as a friend"

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 4 May 2013
Romyen Garden Resort is an amazing place to stay. You absolutely become overwhelmed by the peacefulness of the surroundings and the kindness of the people, just outside of Chiang Mai. Everything is clean, fresh and delicious. You can even ask for a personal taxi driver who shows you around Chiang Mai and knows the nice spots. We really loved this place and yes, we left as friends.
Date of stay: May 2013
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Chumnong M, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this review
Responded 10 May 2013
I on behalf of the Management of Romyen Garden Resort wish to express our thanks for your
velued time spent commenting your stay at Romyen. We are happy to learned that we have
provided satisfactorily with regard to services, accommodation, environment as well as the food that we served. We hope to have opportunity to welcome you and your friends in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
AU$379
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$360
  • Agoda.com
    AU$313
  • Hotels.com
    AU$364
13.2 km from Romyen Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$84
  • Expedia.com
    AU$142
  • Agoda.com
    AU$56
  • Hotels.com
    AU$142
8.4 km from Romyen Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$61
  • Priceline
    AU$46
  • Agoda.com
    AU$41
  • Expedia.com
    AU$52
12.0 km from Romyen Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$474
  • Hotels.com
    AU$517
  • Agoda.com
    AU$391
  • Expedia.com
    AU$518
10.8 km from Romyen Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$216
  • Hotels.com
    AU$212
  • Vio.com
    AU$197
  • Expedia.com
    AU$217
12.5 km from Romyen Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
AU$246
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    AU$246
  • Agoda.com
    AU$218
  • Hotels.com
    AU$246
12.0 km from Romyen Garden Resort
Booking.com
AU$140
  • Official Hotel
    AU$140
  • Agoda.com
    AU$117
  • Expedia.com
    AU$126
13.6 km from Romyen Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$183
  • Expedia.com
    AU$216
  • Agoda.com
    AU$151
  • Hotels.com
    AU$215
13.6 km from Romyen Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$538
  • Expedia.com
    AU$523
  • Vio.com
    AU$485
  • Hotels.com
    AU$529
11.5 km from Romyen Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
AU$82
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    AU$88
  • Agoda.com
    AU$70
  • Priceline
    AU$74
13.4 km from Romyen Garden Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
68
21
7
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
68
21
7
1
3
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2013

We spent just over a week at the Romyen Garden Resort and loved it! Though a little ways out of Chiang Mai, a scooter solves this little inconvenience. The ambience is quiet, comfortable, and the garden nicely landscaped. We were very pleasantly surprised when the owner showed up New Year's Eve with 2 large luminaries for us. They invited us to launch them and celebrate the occasion with them! We were pleased to learn first hand how to launch these beautiful constructions and light up the sky. An evening to remember!

Room tip: Most any room will do!
Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank XDOCBEYER
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
chumnong m, Owner at Romyen Garden Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

We, Romyen Garden Resort Management, wish to express our sincere thanks for your
valued review contributed to Trip Advisor. Your review will help us continue providing
good quality of accommodation and hospitality for our guests' comforts. We look forward
to your visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Romyen is beautiful, and wonderfully relaxed. We stayed in Bungalow 3, and loved lounging on the veranda, retreating into the sitting room as the afternoon wore on. The cottages have a refreshing rustic simplicity, with pleasant, quirky décor. The gardens are delightful, with crickets, geckos, birds and frogs providing a soundtrack. We ate all of our meals there during our stay, with no menu but with home cooked food prepared based on what was fresh in the markets, and special diets sensitively catered for. It is not possible to describe the simple loveliness of the place.

And the people, from the owners through to the young lad who insisted on carrying our bags, are fantastic - helpful, informative, friendly and never pushy. We could not have hoped for better hosts.

Unfortunately, Romyen's neighbours were a nightmare. Across the rice field, hundreds of meters away, is a karaoke bar which could be heard well into the night. Not a problem during the day, but a serious issue at night unless you are accustomed to blocking out such sounds: the bass notes reached into our room, and the wailing of the louder singers mixed with these. For my partner (who is sensitive to sound, and suffers from migraines) this was a big problem; for me it was a serious irritation.

It is tragic that such an utterly wonderful place should be undermined by selfish neighbours. All the work and tangible love that the owners and managers have put in to this place should make this a "five stars, no question - must visit" place. But the neighbours are sabotaging this.

Date of stay: March 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank NomadicH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 March 2012

We actualy booked this place from Australia and was sold on the reveiws. Romyen was very kind to us, we stayed for 5 nights in Bungalow #3. The owner of the property cooked us tradition Thai food for dinner and the hot breakfast every day were always very good! The manager offered to help us with transport, tour bookings and all the little things that help so much when in another country. It was "THE" cleanest accom in we have booked in Thailand and its cute Gardens really make for a relaxing place to just rest from wiery travel. We recomend that if you are staying more then a few nights to either get a bus timetable before arival or hire some self drive transport.. It is about 15 mins from the city via direct route (highway), but the taxi drivers charge like your flying to Bangkok!! Another added bonus is that Romyen Gardens is BarterCard freindly!

Room tip: We only stayed in Bungalow #3 and found it to be very cozy and cute. The doors open out onto a verandah that over looks the garden.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jeremiah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Excellent resort with good clean rooms. Very delicious food available at their restaurant , let them advise you or let them know what you would like to eat. Fantastic breakfast , one time i had scrambled eggs with sunflowers seed bread and the other time omelet stuffed with fried rice.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Foek
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 November 2011

My experience at Romyen Gardens was truly delightful and I wholeheartedly recommend staying here if you have a chance. The bungalows are spacious and immaculately clean; being nestled among well established trees and pristine gardens creates for a very peaceful and private atmosphere. Fast and reliable internet Wi-Fi access is available throughout the resort and the restaurant serves up scrumptious Thai and western dishes. I can’t say enough about the amazing host Tim, a very interesting, worldly lady who will put a smile of your face and the silver lining on your stay. Stayed at Romyen Gardens Resort during my first visit to Chiang Mai and very gladly returned two months later for some R&R having travelled through Laos and Cambodia; easily my favourite place in Thailand.

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Calum D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews