We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cheap but nasty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
Ranked #114 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviewed 14 May 2012

first hotel in SE Asia i've been recently that does not have free wi-fi. there is free wi-fi if you stand within 1 metre of reception desk, but even that only works intermittently. the breakfast was pretty gross. it's pretty grubby too. toilets right near the pool is not very nice. assume you can get better, cheaper and more central hotels. most staff friendly enough, a few sullen. room itself was fine.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (563)
There are newer reviews for Chiang Mai Gate Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 251 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2012

We have just spent 6 nights in a 'Royal Suite' (a suite room with an interconnecting deluxe room) which was fantastic value for a family of 5 booked directly through the hotel. We had 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, a sitting room and 3 tv's. The staff were wonderful and we loved the pool area - not at all crowded when we were there and the staff took our lunch & cocktail orders while we were swimming.

We found the location of the hotel perfect - walking distance to the Saturday & Sunday markets which we loved (local craft, entertainment and food, whereas the Night Bazaar was overpriced & touristy, full of the usual fake Tshirts and brandnames) and a block away from a fabulous street food market with most meals between 25-35 baht and delicious - the children couldn't get enough of the banana, chocolate & egg rotis, and the roast chicken ($3) gave them a break from spicy food.

The buffet breakfast is exactly as other reviewers have described: bland! But we didn't need more than a piece of toast, scrambled eggs & fruit, although the Thai soup was delicious.

The only downside was the hotel tour operator 'scam'. We had read on TripAdvisor to book our tours outside the hotel as the in-house prices were exorbitant, so we thought we would speak to them first as a yardstick. TA info was correct and their prices we almost double those located outside the hotel. We were then approached by the charming driver of a mini-van parked out the front of the hotel who quoted us a very reasonable price for the tour we wanted, only when we got to the first venue (Maesa Elephant Park) entry was 12 times what he told us! When we returned to the hotel, it transcribed that he was in cahoots with the operator. They all got a cut, and we paid a hell of a lot more than we should have. Nevertheless, we LOVED the elephant park.

Room Tip: Avoid the tour operator in the lobby!
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank halcyondays007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

We stayed here one night as part of our G Adventures group. We did not get to use the pool because it was closed due to a wedding. The Wi-Fi was not working at all when we were there. We had laundry done here.

We were promised the clean laundry by 2 pm the following day, but when we asked for it at 5 pm, it was not yet done. They send the laundry out to one of the nearby shops. The staff only went retrieve the laundry after asking them several times to do so. We were leaving at 5:30 pm and received our laundry right before leaving. The prices for laundry were quite reasonable, however.

The rooms need renovating - the carpet is old and outdated. Our bathroom looked like it had been recently renovated. The room and everything was clean, but the sheets had holes in them and there is only one pillow per person.

It is located down the street from a very good bakery, where we had breakfast. There is also an excellent food market located near the closest gate into central Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elim102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We stayed at the Chiang Mai Gate for 3 nights in April as part of a tour. Overall, we found it to be conveniently located (just outside the south gate from the old city), has a good pool, and the rooms to be decent value. The larger rooms in the old part of the hotel are a bit more spartan, but very spacious. The new part of the hotel next to the swimming pool had more interesting rooms, but a bit smaller. We preferred the latter. Good TV selection (useful with small kids). The restaurant was decent and had an acceptable selection for younger (western) kids. Outside the hotel, there is a good laundry, decent pubs/restaurants and on Saturday night a pleasant local, night market (not the main Chiang Mai night market). Hotel staff were friendly.

The breakfast was OK, but when a large tour group was in, the area felt quite busy.

Overall, we'd be happy to return.

Room Tip: Old part of hotel has larger rooms (but a bit more spartan). The new part, near the pool, has small...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank martinqbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Right near the centre of Chiang Mai, The Chiang Mai Gate Hotel offers excellent service and rooms with satellite TV and free Wifi. As a bonus they will pick you up from the train or bus terminals for free and take you to the huge night market. A few yards away is a shop renting bicycles for about £UK 1 per day. An excellent way to see this historic 2nd city of Thailand.

For best price book online rsvn@chiangmaigatehotel.com. We paid about £UK 30 for our short one night stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank thecodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.8 km away
Roseate Hotel
Roseate Hotel
#81 of 386 in Chiang Mai
278 reviews
0.7 km away
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
WangBurapa Grand Hotel
#135 of 386 in Chiang Mai
257 reviews
1.5 km away
Eurana Boutique Hotel
Eurana Boutique Hotel
#263 of 386 in Chiang Mai
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 386 in Chiang Mai
904 reviews
0.8 km away
Maninarakorn Hotel
Maninarakorn Hotel
#151 of 386 in Chiang Mai
652 reviews
0.9 km away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#55 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Gate Hotel

Address: 11 / 10 Suriyawong Road,Haiya, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #114 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $31 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chiang Mai Gate Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chiangmai Gate Hotel is nicely decorated in traditional Lanna (Nothern) Thai style with 121 rooms ( Standard, Superior, Deluxe, and Suite ). Chiangmai Gate Hotel is centrally located near the heart of the city with approximately 20 minutes walk to historic Thapae Gate, old Temples and only 10 minutes ride to the airport and famous Night Bazaar. Apart from providing clean and nicely decorated in traditional Lanna (Northern) rooms, we also offer wide range of basic amenities, facilities and services including a restaurant, meeting facilities and swimming pool. So, whether you are on vacation or business trip, think of Chiangmai Gate as your first choice and you will ultimately experience friendly & warmth atmosphere, customer care and plenty of smiles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Evoline ltd, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Chiang Mai Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing