We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Heaven” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Ranked #2 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Trinidad
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

We really splurged with this hotel as we were staying over New Years and it was very expensive. However when we got there we were delighted to find our high expectations were met. The hotel lobby and entrance courtyard are awe inspiring and you really feel like you are stepping into a different ancient world. There are statues and beautiful gardens and buildings all around. The compound is vast and has many little paths to get about; we enjoyed using the bicycles that were provided. We stayed in a traditional deluxe and it was very nice, lots of wood and it looked out onto a rice paddy. But we couldn’t use the outside areas as it was a constant battle with mosquitoes. We literally had to run from the backdoor to the Jacuzzi. The compound gets sprayed for mosquitoes twice a week I think it was but it doesn’t really help as there are rice paddies and puddles around – great breeding ground for mosquitoes. If we were to go back we decided that we would stay in the hotel building and not a villa because of the mosquito issue. Saying that we loved cycling from our villa at the back to breakfast every day. The breakfast is scrumptious with Asian and western food to a great standard. The tables looking out on to the gardens outside are particularly pleasant.

The spa was wonderful and I would recommend the traditional lana massage, my husband and I loved it! I had a French pedi and it was really good but it took over an hour. We also had regular Thai massages and they were excellent. I’d say skip the oil massages here and go with the thai ones. The spa experience is wonderful, with tea and foot washing thrown in and the building has lots of beautiful carved wood everywhere. We enjoyed the two pool areas and the gym, both fabulous with great service. We preferred the more tropical pool area with a view of the rice paddy. So wonderful to sit there and watch the beautiful birds dart around while enjoying a ginger tea.

The food at the thai restaurant was amazing and they had Thai dancing as entertainment which was a lovely touch. We booked up the cooking lesson and tried to make our own version of some of the dishes. We had two attentive chefs for the two of us and they served us our dinner as we made it. It was a great experience. We also took advantage of the dvd and book library that you could borrow from.

The New Years Eve party was something else. The setting and decoration was spectacular; there was a full brass band; a traditional thai play; singers; fireworks; lantern release into the sky (my favorite); an elephant; food, food, food! It was an amazing night under the stars with the hotel staff being as wonderful as usual and the buffet really was phenomenal! I think allot of local people attend as it was packed out.

I can recommend doing the white water rafting and the elephant trekking trips! Chaing Mai is a beautiful area to discover, we enjoyed just wondering about the city centre too.

We were sad to be leaving the hotel and the area and really hope that we will find ourselves back there again. If you’re looking for an extra special luxurious Thai experience like no other then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shazfantaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,118
    113
    33
    10
    7
See reviews for
335
533
48
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

This was from far the best property I ever stay! The staff was very friendly and the room was stunning
Just a little comments would be on the breakfast, the coffee was very bitter

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mr-foodfanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2012

Mandarin Oriental brand always has exceptional service. However, "exceptional" could not be the term to do Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai justice. You don't even have to leave the hotel to get a taste of the culture, as the property itself seems like a village. Every day is a new adventure when taking a walk or a bike ride around the property. Rice fields kept up by farmers, beautiful ponds, an organic garden (the restaurants use for produce), a water buffalo (who is friendly to all), and a temple right next to a large park, all make you feel like you couldn't just be in a resort. Besides its obvious beauty, the staff are the warmest most genuine people ever encountered. Their spirits radiate through any normal "service standard," instead, they are most gracious, helpful, and attentive with their interactions. Chef Dominique (Executive chef and director for all of food and beverage) was most humble and helpful not only with dining options and history of the resort, but also acted as a concierge for the city. His love and passion for the beauty of Chiang Mai shines. We thank him for the time he graciously gave for our trip. Thank you to all the staff at Mandarin Chiang Mai. You are what makes this resort beautiful on the inside.

If your next trip is to this beautiful city please do not miss the stay of a lifetime. Stay at the Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christal F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

There aren't enough superlatives for the heart-stopping, breath-taking experience of this hotel. From the moment one drives through the gates, one senses a different level of reality.The architecture is without doubt the most beautiful of any hotel in the world that I have ever seen. Photographs hardly do it justice. I felt like a crown prince from the moment I stepped out of the cab. The staff are not just courteous - they make you feel as if nothing in the world is more important than helping you. When a communication snafu regarding a bath fixture caused a delay in the arrival of the butler, the manager immediately offered a complimentary spa treatment, and the treatment was just this side of miraculous. I will travel to Thailand again just to go to this hotel.

Room Tip: rooms with views of the spa are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank transplantdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2012

I stayed here in February and had booked a deluxe villa for myself and a friend. We arrived in the evening and were greeted by staff and handed tea and a lai. Check in was speedy and within minutes we were ready to go to our room. The lady who took us there explained the resort layout as she drove us to the villa in a golf buggy. The villa was just fantastic. It was stunning and quite up to date. I could not see any signs of wear and tear. The tv was the only old thing in the room, but I wasn't there to watch TV so I did not care. Very spacious, fully equipped kitchen which was nice and came in handy. The 2 bathrooms were a major plus as we were both able to get ready at the same time. The 2 hot tubs were also a plus and the massive bathroom was wonderful. Overall, I loved the villa.
Service of the staff was the best I have seen. Not a single member of the hotel passed us by without greeting us. Everyone I spoke to knew me by name, which is impressive. The buffet breakfast was out of the world.

The spa was as wonderful as everyone has said. Yes it is pricey compared to South East Asia, but not any pricier then a regular spa in North America.

I would recommend this resort to anyone without a moment's hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soaddictive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
3.5 km away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
7.4 km away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
3.4 km away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
3.9 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#19 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,903 reviews
2.3 km away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai

Property: The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
Address: 51/4 Moo 1, Chiang Mai - Sankampaeng Road | Tha Sala, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#2 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): $529 - $1,089
Hotel Class:5 star — The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai is set on 60 acres of verdant tranquil grounds in the historical heartland of Northern Thailand. The hotel's unique design draws from the region's rich architectural and cultural heritage that flourished during the Lanna period, which lasted from the mid-13th century until the mid-16th century, and enjoyed a further resurgence in the last 200 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Wotif.com, lastminute.com.au, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai
Mandarin Oriental Chiang Mai
Mandarin Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing