We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Place on the Ping to call home.”
other travellers have booked this property
View toward the river and the wholesale market.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View toward the river and the wholesale market.
Balcony and view to north east. The main living area. Dining table out of view.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
View toward the river and the wholesale market.
Balcony and view to north east.
The main living area. Dining table out of view.
Aerial View of Rimping Condominium
Street View of building
Compact but completely equipped kitchen.
Master bedroom with wardrobes.  Bathroom to left of wardrobe.
Second bedroom with bath room en suite.
Dressing table in second bedroom, wardrobe out of view.
Second Bathroom hand basin.
Second Bathroom
View from balcony toward the night market.  Taken from the other side of the building.
View from balcony.
Floor Plan
Swimming Pool.
Exercise Room
Fabulous fruit market across the bridge.
Thai food is wonderful and the street stalls are every where.  Dinner for a $1.50.
Home for  elephants.
Night time view to north.
View across river to the municipal buildings.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Chiang Mai

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Stephen C
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect Place on the Ping to call home.”
Reviewed 11 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We have had a wonderful experience staying in this apartment at Rim Ping Condo and would highly recommend it.

The Apartment is quite spacious with wonderful views toward the river and the north & east. If you choose to cook, the kitchen is well equipped with all you would need. However there is so much amazing local food nearby you could eat something different every night! Waroros market is a short walk across the road and great for morning snacks, fresh fruit and veg. There is plenty of street stalls in the evening if you walk north. The duck noodle soup shop next door is a must to try... Very delicious. If you walk south along Chareon Rat there are some more upmarket & western options if you prefer. There are several good coffee places nearby also. The corner store is very handy also.
Many tuk tuk & Red Song Thaews pass through the nearby intersection making it easy to travel to the old town etc. Chiang Mai Festival, Big C & Tesco Lotus are all a short ride away.

The building is very secure and feels very safe with someone always outside. The security guard is very helpful and will love to teach you some Thai phrases each day. The laundry operates daily and the laundry lady & her little dogs are very friendly. The swimming pool on level 3 is well maintained and usually quiet.

We were able to communicate easily with the owner by email and any queries or issues were promptly attended to... Thankyou Charles.

Rim ping Condo has been the perfect base for a month long visit to Chiang Mai. Can't wait to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & balcony views.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2016
Great review Stephen thank you for making the effort and we are pleased you and your friends had such a good time. you are welcome back any time. Cheers, Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BiffaChri...
Christchurch
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 3 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We had good contact with the owner before booking which we found useful. We know Chaing Mai very well so we were more than happy with the area.
On entering the apartment there was no wow factor more of an oh factor.
Apartment was of a good size with plenty of storage space.and a fitted western kitchen also had a good size balcony area with 2 easy chairs.. Views from balcony were very good and we sat for many an afternoon just eyeing the horizon.
Lounge seating was limited to a 2 seater rather uncomfortable wicker type chair which is not conducive to sitting watching tv or videos.
We found the bed very hard and to compensate we used the extra blankets to help soften the effect.. My wife found the pillows very hard and she had to use her own blow up pillow.
Bathroom was a good size but we were unable to use the shower in the main bedroom as we found it to be to powerful as the head neaded cleaning.
There's nothing the owners could do about this but during our stay there was building work going on a few doors away which was inconvenient for us.
There is also considerable road noise till the early hours from motorbikes and tuk tuks.
Although I have listed negative points above we had a very enjoyable stay.
We had a cleaner visit once a week and the laundry lady in the lobby gives a marvellous service.
Whilst in the apartment we felt totally secure with the door entry system in place and also with the security guard in the lobby.
This apartment is good value for money but in need of updating especially the decorating.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Security
Liked least: Noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2016
Thank you for the review and yor rating we are pleased you had a very enjoyable stay. The Rimping is not the most modern condominium because it was built in 1991 but it cannot be beaten for location. Apart from the Twin Peaks on Chang Klan Road the more recent apartments are much further from the centre. It was a pity about the building next door which started while we were there in January.

We are sorry you didn't like the cane furnishings. Earlier in our married life we lived in Asia for three years and we chose cane furniture in preference to other furnishings because it best suits a tropical environment. In those days there was little air conditioning and cane furniture keeps you cool whereas heavily upholstered furniture makes you hot. As it happened we left the apartment three days before you arrived and were very happy with the way our guests had taken care of the place and hadn’t found the need to change anything. We like it as it is but taste is a very personal variable. Thank you for your comments on the cleaning staff and the laundry lady, she is lovely and we shall be sure to tell her that you were pleased.
Regards, Charles and Carol Brodley.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
300arie
Holten, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“It is a very nice condominium”
Reviewed 12 January 2016 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The most things are very good only one thing (thats the nois on the balcony)
It is nice next to the rivier and a good place when you travel out on the daytime

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The very good service from the owner
Liked least: To much nois on the balcony
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2016
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry about the noise from the building but they will be finished soon. Regards, Charles
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reg1946
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great value & location”
Reviewed 10 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The condo was exactly as advertised. My friend and I (two women) stayed here and felt totally at home. The view was great, we each had our own rooms with a bathroom. We chose not to cook, except for coffee and some breakfast as restaurants were so easily accessed. However, if you did want to cook, all the facilities and tools are available. Restaurants and markets are within walking distance for anything you may need and transportation was easily accessed. Chiang Mai is a city full of adventure for those seeking it and in some cases, even if you're not! Staying at the Rim Ping Condo was a great choice, fully secured and well staffed with caring, friendly, helpful people. A small problem that came up was immediately looked after by the owner and staff. It felt like I was leaving my home when it came time to depart.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and size of the unit
Liked least: The noise of the traffic in the morning.
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RalphH195...
British Columbia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value for your money”
Reviewed 26 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We were three adults that lived in this condo for a month.
A nice place with a wonderful view of the Ping River as you lounge on one of two balconies sipping a cold beverage.
A full kitchen,2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms with lounging area was really nice after a day exploring Chiang Mai.
Excellent staff and security that care for the whole building.
Go downstairs three floors and cool off in the pool. Never crowded when we were there.

The hosts were very good in making sure everything was ready for us when we got there
which was great after a long flight and all we could think of was getting some sleep and so we were happy that all was good when we arrived.
We also appreciated the location of the condo as it was walking distance to markets and restaurants.
As well the apartment was on the shady side and so we did not have to endure the hot sun shining in, as it was very hot when we were there.
Grab this place if you can!!!
We will, if we ever return to Chiang Mai.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing