We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“GOOD LOCATION ON A QUIET PART OF TOWN” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Ranked #172 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION ON A QUIET PART OF TOWN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2010

Stayed here for 8 nights whilst taking part in Cricket sixes week. We have stayed here numerous times now and think it is fine. For approx AUD$55 pn with breakfast it's hard to complain too much.
Our room was on the 9th floor in the front tower. Whilst fine for our needs, you could say the room was tired but unless major issues arise I don't criticise rooms as I'm not there to spend hours in my room other than sleep time. The bed was huge but a bit hard for my liking.
The hotel is within 2 minutes walk of one end of the night market (turn left out of the hotel driveway and head for the traffic lights). Good internet cafe about 100 meters on the way, look for the boxing kangaroo flag.
Ate several times at a little restaurant across from the driveway (on corner of soi opposite driveway). Very cheap and I can recommend the Pad Thai and Fried rice, both with chicken (about 50 baht).
There is also a great laundry service across from the hotel, next to a karoake bar. 70 baht per kilo for wash dry and iron. A must for a week's stay.
Whilst in Chiang Mai, try the Tiger Kingdom and an ATV tour. Both were superb.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TK1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    147
    391
    229
    121
    84
See reviews for
139
330
105
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Carlsbad, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

Stayed in a standard room with a king sized bed. Based on the price paid (~$50/night via Expedia) the hotel was much nicer than expected. Room with large, clean and quiet. And the price included a very nice full hot buffet breakfast. Lobby area was huge and beautiful. Large, very nice swimming pool.
Location was very good. Only a 120 Baht ride from the airport. And only a five minute walk to the night market area for food and/or shopping. Plenty of nearby restaurants to choose from. Rented scooters, had massages, the whole nine yards.
Staff was very friendly and helpful. Had an Expedia reservation issue that the hotel helped with even though it was not their fault.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHR1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uithoorn, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
138 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

I stayed five weeks in the Chiang Mai Plaza, to have some dental work done and Chiang Mai is a good basis for trips. Comfortable hotel, good location, no traffic noise (although my room was located at the front), good swimming pool and a good buffet breakfast. This was the second time I stayed in this hotel, I spent two weeks in january 2009.
If I come back to Chiang Mai this is the hotel where I'll be staying.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cor v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
115 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

The Chiang Mai Plaza is a very "Ok" hotel, especially at a good rate. Most hotels in Chiang Mai have a fading look, and the Plaza is no exception. An extravagant lobby leads to comfortable but dated rooms. With no wi-fi, no LCD TV, and not even a digital clock, the room has a marked early 80's look. However, the room does not feel worn-out. It is comfortable, with a good sized and clean bathroom.

The hotel pool is excelent for an afternoon swim, and the gym useful (although, as you guessed, quite outdated also).

The breakfast has lots of variety, and enough food to get you going to the night.

Location wise, the hotel is 100 meters from the night bazaar. The Bazaar is a benign tourist trap, and quite good for a stroll after dinner. The fact that you can walk from the hotel in about 4 minutes, is definitely a plus.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jcn_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane Queensland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2010

This hotel is located about a 5 minute walk from the night markets, which was very handy when it came to doing some shopping. The hotel itself was terrific - from the fast check in to the fast check out when it was time to leave. The lobby was beautiful - very roomy, and plenty of places to sit down an relax while waiting for your transport, or even just to have a quiet drink and watch the world go buy. I liked the two minstrels that the hotel provided for an hour or so in the evening, playing quietly some traditional thai instruments - very thoughtful.

All the staff at the hotel were very professional and were eager to please - always with a smile on their face. We had a deluxe room in the new wing, which overlooked the pool and the mountains in the distance. The tastefully furnished room was quite large (for a hotel room) and we were not tripping over suitcases or each other at all. It was also spotlessly clean, with a modern comfortable feel about it. We had the best sleeps there as the beds were so comfortable.

The pool area is so relaxing - with a larger than normal pool to cater for the many guests who stay here - by mid afternoon almost all of the area is in shade due to the really large shady trees that are around the edge of the pool. The gym area is well appointed and overlooks the pool area.

The breakfast (provided with the price of the room) was excellent - lots of choice in both western and Asian food - even made to order eggs on the outside dining area. The only complaint we had was that the bacon was barely warm and overcooked, which made it inedible (every morning), however there are plenty of other choices which were ok. We did point this out on the survey form when we checked out of the hotel.

There are plenty of internet cafes and laundries around the area which are extremely cheap. There are also any number of restaurants in the streets running off the night market area, where we enjoyed many lovely meals. We didn't have a bad one anywhere. We would certainly stay at this hotel again if we are ever in Chiang Mai - it is certainly one of the best value places around with a good location and would have no hesitation in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel-shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 km away
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
The Imperial Mae Ping Hotel
#61 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
0.2 km away
Suriwongse Hotel
Suriwongse Hotel
#45 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,167 reviews
0.2 km away
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
Duangtawan Hotel Chiang Mai
#109 of 374 in Chiang Mai
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
Dusit Princess Chiang Mai
#53 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
0.7 km away
Empress Hotel
Empress Hotel
#50 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
0.1 km away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#46 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel

Property: Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel
Address: 92 Sridonchai Road, Chiang Mai 50100 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): $44 - $68
Hotel Class:4 star — Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 444
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Wotif.com and Agoda so you can book your Chiang Mai Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing