We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Sylvia L
New York City, New York

Centrally location

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 6 Jan 2020
This really didn’t seem like a four star hotel mentioned, but it was central to a lot of places like the market which was 15 min ride by public bus and walkable distance to the famous wall in the area. I didn’t think there was great food to try near the hotel, but they do have a few 7/11 and a Starbucks. The hotel did offer free breakfast for our stay and I felt like the food catered to a lot of Chinese tourist.

The rooms were decent size and I thought it was pretty quite. The bed wasn’t the greatest. It felt like layers of thin mattress, but surprising I still slept well. There was a safe in the room and the bathroom was big. It was easy to catch a public bus which cost about 30bahts (1usd) to go the market, but make sure you bring a business card because drivers find it hard to comprehend the hotel name. I thought the view from my room was beautiful. I was able to see the city and the mountains.

The gym was super tiny. There was about 4 machine and the pool area wasn’t the greatest spot to hang and go for a dip. Water was very deep (I’m 5’2 and I can’t touch the ground) and cold if you go in December.

Not sure if this happens often, but check in was much later then I thought. Although I left my luggage there, it would have been nice to get to my room first. Overall the price is good, but it definitely was not a 4 star hotel.
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
AU$238
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
1.4 km from Amora Tapae Hotel Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
AU$186
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Amora Tapae Hotel Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
Swimming Pool
AU$33
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Algotels
2.1 km from Amora Tapae Hotel Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    AU$297
  • Priceline
1.4 km from Amora Tapae Hotel Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Hotel
    AU$205
  • Priceline
2.7 km from Amora Tapae Hotel Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Priceline
  • Official Hotel
    AU$225
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from Amora Tapae Hotel Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$63
  • Priceline
2.6 km from Amora Tapae Hotel Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$113
  • Priceline
3.1 km from Amora Tapae Hotel Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$82
  • Algotels
3.5 km from Amora Tapae Hotel Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    AU$506
  • Expedia.com
    AU$569
6.6 km from Amora Tapae Hotel Chiangmai
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (754)
Filter reviews
754 results
Traveller rating
89
320
196
82
67
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
89
320
196
82
67
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 754 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2019 via mobile

My husband and I decided to stay here in Chiang Mai on our honeymoon. With the 4 star rating and decent price, we decided to go for it. However, the hotel was filthy. The lobby was super dusty with hair, dead bugs, and debris. The women’s restroom in the lobby had 2 stalls that were clogged with poop. Once we got to our room, we found a hair on our toilet and dust and dead bugs throughout the entire room. We only stayed one night because it was too late to change to another hotel. Save your money and go elsewhere.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank cstavrosluce
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 December 2019

All staff were very good at Amora. For the money (under $100AUD/night) at a centrally located hotel with a vast breakfast, this older hotel, with updated rooms makes a good base. Our room numbers in the 1-8 wing are very noisy from the main road. We were on the 5th floor.Ask for a highter room number in the other (quiter) wing which looks over the pool and behind. Air conditioner - also very old and very noisy got very nicely attended to once but went downhill for rest of 5 nights stay. The pool is very dated and we found not many chair loungers available. The hotel Spa offered very good deals and a 90min a Thai massage for approx BHT500 was excellent. The lady on the tours desk was very helpful and organized Hong, our driver to Chiang Rai for a side trip. Very good.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TRAVELEAST7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 November 2019 via mobile

My previous stays at this hotel were quite good. This time it was so so : difficult to sleep in this room. Rooms are poorly soundproofed . walls seems to be as thick as « cigarette paper »
But breakfast remains correct. the pool is ok too

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Smile2935
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2019

If your main aim of your hotel is to consider it as a base to take trips from there to Chang Mai or it's surroundings, then this is the place for you... the lady which books trips beside the main desk whose name is Nai , is such a nice and very efficient
lady , we booked all our trips through her desk and did not regret any .
The hotel is clean, and the food is good.
Bed is not so comfortable but we got used to it, and the portions of tissues or toilet paper are really tight.
What we liked best about this hotel was it's location, cause it is located in the middle of the old quarter of Chang Mai where all the hustle happens.
All in all , I do recommend this hotel.

Room tip: choose higher rooms that over looks the mountains
Date of stay: August 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank MayMustafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 September 2019

Easy to get to from the airport by taxi, bus or free shuttle (although we couldn't find the free shuttle). Once we arrived the doorman got our bags and opened the doors for us, check in was quick and easy and they gave us a complimentary upgrade of room (great start you might think). Got to our room and first impressions were ok, seemed like a standard room nothing special and since it was an upgrade from our booked standard room was expecting more. The room had everything you expect in a hotel room, the bed was big and comfy and the water pressure in the shower was good, we were on the 12th floor so had a good view over Chiang Mia. The room definitely needed a refurbishment though as it looked old and worn, lots of scratches and marks on the walls, furniture and all the tables and surfaces were badly marked and for a 4 star hotel isn't good enough in any room.

Throughout the stay all the staff were very friendly always greeting you with a smile and hello. There were a number of times however when asking simple requests at reception or at the bar that they did seem to struggle with the English and on one occasion had to get another member of staff to help us. Again shouldn't really be happening in a 4 star hotel.

The location of the hotel is excellent for walking into the old city and is a 2-5 min walk to the Sunday night market and other busy areas for food and site seeing. The night market is a 20 min walk or a 8 min tuk tuk away as well. The location was the hotels best feature.

The hotel restaurant "Chillis" throughout our entire stay never seemed to have a single person in it for lunch or dinner and sole purpose is for breakfast of its guests. We had in our booking payed in advance for breakfast since it was advertised as American breakfast and it was awful. The "HOT" options were anything but hot the pastries, breads and cakes were all stale and horrible and the "American Breakfast" options were limited to sausages and either pancakes or French bread both were dry and stale. They have obviously never been to America for breakfast as every morning the majority of "hot" dishes were noodles, rice and chicken cooked in different ways and for some reason pasta bolognaise. The juice selection was either pineapple or orange and as expected there was tea and coffee that you helped your self to. The egg station where you could have fresh eggs cooked the way you wanted was the best part about breakfast and was all I really came to having most mornings. From having such an appalling breakfast here we understand why the restaurant is always empty and it discouraged us from even once getting room service or eating at the restaurant during our stay.

During our stay we were very rarely in the hotel during the day as we were out exploring and partaking in activities. The couple of days we did stay at the hotel we were at the pool and glad we didn't have more time relaxing here. The pool was cold and refreshing to jump into in the hot weather but was absolutely filthy, full of grit, dust etc. and in the 12 days we stayed her we didn't see it once get cleaned or maintained. As well as this we only once ever saw someone at the pool bar and we were just passing to use the fitness center, both days we were at the pool no one was there.

The fitness center was very poor, with 1 treadmill and 1 multigym in a tiny room by the pool it seemed as if they had just set it up to be able to say that they have a gym without any consideration on what they should have in it or the room to exercise. Used it a few times just to get a cardio workout in but no chance of doing any sort of strength work here.

My advise to the management would be better up keep, maintenance and cleaning work to be done more frequently than they are currently doing as advertising yourself as a 4 star hotel people expect a certain standard and was very disappointed in the hotel itself. The staff were majority of the time great and very helpful but is overshadowed by the bad management. We expected a 4 star hotel and it was more like a 2.5 star hotel.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oliver S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
AMORACNX-MANAGMENT, General Manager at Amora Tapae Hotel Chiangmai, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2019

Dear Olisan2017,

Thank you for given feedback to our hotel and all your suggestion will be brought up to department head & management meeting and will be improve soonest.

We hope to have a chance to welcome you & family back to our hotel again in the future.

Best regards,

Settawat K.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews