We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,843)
Filter reviews
1,843 results
Traveller rating
512
834
335
111
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
834
335
111
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tuk tuk ihg member night market river view lobby bar executive floor ping river free shuttle concierge staff an upgrade breakfast buffet bit dated corner room large room welcome drink shuttle service old town
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 1,843 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

No welcoming back, no greeting, no pre-registration as an IHG Reward Club guest and as a repeating guest. Lady at reception did know nothing about her job, and no smile. Car park is not convenience, we had to manage parking space by ourselves every times we came back to hotel, while security guard was doing nothing. Breakfast was massive. However, room was very specious, clean, and very comfortable. Location was also very good on the bank of Ping River.

Room tip: River View on High Floor
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniale1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Daniale1980,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a feedback.

As an IHG® Rewards Club Member, we truly value your constructive feedback. We are sorry to read that your recent stay with us was less than satisfactory. We apologize for the inconveniences you faced during your stay, as this is certainly not our usual high standards and your experience does not reflect the Holiday Inn service we aim to provide. We take your feedback very seriously and I have spoken to the team so that we can work on improving our services and the retraining has been put in place to avoid a re-occurrence. However, I am pleased that you were comfortable in your room and found our location convenient to your needs.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, so that we can provide a better experience.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed here for two nights during a business trip. The hotel was very clean and the staff was great. They were efficient, and responsive. My room was large. The hotel was quite busy during my stay. I found that going to breakfast early (around 7 AM) allowed me to avoid the long lines that occurred at breakfast during my first day.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry3124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear terry3124,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review.

We are delighted that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed you room. Our staff are determined to provide great guest experience and we are delighted to hear that they were efficient and responsive. We appreciate your feedback about our peak hour breakfast and we will most certainly share this with our team to see what we can do to continue creating great guest experiences.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will stay with us again soon!

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed 3 nights in this IHG hotel, had a beautiful view on the river, the city
and the Dao Suthep temple, seemed far during the day, but was impressive at night with its lights.
The hotel is old, as are the furnitures, but everything was clean, working, and the staff as very professional, helpful working at IHG standards.
Thank you to the hotel for the suite upgrade.

Room tip: high floor (was on 17th), river view.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 206erikm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Erik M,

Thank you for staying with us at Holiday Inn Chiangmai and taking the time to leave your valuable feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is great to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us, regarding the cleanliness of the guestroom with a beautiful view overlooking the river and the service provided by our associates. We will continue to ensure that we provide all our guests with the signature Holiday Inn experience.

We do hope that you will return for another memorable stay soon.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

The hotel is amazing, overlooking Mae Ping River. Staff is nice and helpful. Rooms are big and tastefully done. The best part of our stay was free shuttle service for guests. free shuttle for nimman road, night market and walking street is available at fixed intervals. in room-food is lip smacking and inexpensive. the hotel is surrounded with couple of seven-eleven stores, grocery shops, restaurants etc. being our first visit to Chiang Mai. we loved our stay at Holiday Inn.

Room tip: check in time is 3 pm, but they are easy on early check-in so do request that while booking the room.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keerti G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2018

Dear Keerti G,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience with us.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay, especially our shuttle service. Please rest assured, we will share your kind words with all of our colleagues as we take great pride in delivering the True Hospitality for everyone.

We hope to serve you again whenever your travels bring you back to Chiang Mai.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2018

The hotel is situated just outside town but there is always a tuk tuk outside to take you there in about 10 mins and its a lovely ride with the wind blowing your hair cooling you down. You can visit the market, bars and restaurants all 10 mins away and there are plenty to choose from in all price ranges.
The room was very spacious and had a lovely view of the river and local hospital (handy to know ). Room is a little dated but all very clean and tidy so nothing to complain about, I think the hotel was probably very grand when it was brand new, they have a lovely staircase and the lounge/bar areas are really nice. The outside patio is lovely and is where you can eat breakfast if you want to sit in the sunshine.
There is a pool on the roof which was very welcome after a hot day exploring, plenty of comfortable sun beds and a bar, so all good.
We did a trip to Baan Chang elephant park which was excellent and well worth the trip, the whole day was spent feeding bathing and riding the elephants worth every penny.
we also did a trip to various temples which was also good.
We spent 4 nights here in march 2017 and I have only just realised I forgot to write my review. We loved Chiang Mai we followed our stay with a stay in Khao Lak.
Something to look for in Chiang Mai is the pork scratchings they are everywhere we loved them.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank sylvWtonWestMids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orathai T, Personal Assistant to General Manager at Holiday Inn Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2018

Dear sylvWtonWestMids,

Thank you very much for sharing your wonderful feedback on your recent stay here in Tripadvisor.

We are thrilled that we were able to exceed your expectations and to learn that you had enjoyed every moment of your stay with us, especially you were able to relax or spend time with the sightseeing tour. Your compliments towards our hotel encourages us to keep on delivering the True Hospitality services to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the not too distant future.

Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Wilson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews