We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Calum
Absolutely Brilliant, Safe and Chilled
5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Nov 2023
I could not recommend this place enough, if you are wanting to stay somewhere that is a bit more quiet and chilled, this is the place. The moment you walk in you are treated with care and respect by the hosts who are absolutely lovely. They will bring you into their home and will make you feel like their family straight away. The facilities are spot on just what you need, the rooms are spacious and homily. One thing I liked most about this place is the feeling of safety, you know you are in good hands with hosts who will go the extra mile to make your stay as pleasurable as possible. In addition, the property is secured by a big gate that has a padlock on it at all times.
They will only give their guests access to this key so it really provides a feeling of safety and security something that not all accommodations can provide. The hosts will also help you plan any trips and will give their advice on anything around Chiang Mai which was immensely helpful for me. Breakfast and drinking water is provided and they will make sure you don't have a empty stomach in the morning. Couldn't recommend any more, book this place and you will not regret it. (They also have cute dogs).
Date of stay: December 2023
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
2.6 km from Baan SongJum Wat Ket
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.7 km from Baan SongJum Wat Ket
Free Wifi
Free parking
2.4 km from Baan SongJum Wat Ket
Free Wifi
Free parking
1.8 km from Baan SongJum Wat Ket
Restaurant
1.7 km from Baan SongJum Wat Ket
Free Wifi
Pool
1.3 km from Baan SongJum Wat Ket
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Chiang Mai
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
31
8
2
3
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
31
8
2
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teak house nui communal guesthouse thailand
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2023

It's hard for me to write an objectiv review because I know Nui one of the two sisters who own the place since about 35 years. Before she went back to Chiang Mai to turn the over a hundred years old teak house her grandfather had built into a guesthouse she worked for a huge Chinese printshop in Bangkok. As she frequently travelled to Europe back then she knows a lot about Europeans. In contrary to many Thais Nui likes it simple, no bling bling, and ecology is very important for her. She loves the beautiful garden around the house, To stay there is a bit like communal, collective living. You prepare the breakfast yourself, you can make yourself a tea or coffee whenever you want. After a few days you know how to handle the washing machine and where you put up the clothes to dry. The guests are predominantley European, no party people, no gap yearer, but maybe learning Thai or Thai massage in Chiang Mai. Quite often some of the guests are going out for dinner together. Nui and her sister a very nice and kind ladies which can give you all kind of advice. And the rent for the room is cheap. What else should I say. When you are looking for

Date of stay: January 2023
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2022

Baan Songjum is the first place that made us feel like we were in Thailand. Not only because of the beautiful garden surrounding Nui's family house and the delicious fresh fruits served for breakfast. Mostly because of the incredible hospitality of Nui, her amazing attitude toward her guests, and the many stories she shared with us. You can feel running a guest house is her vocation. She made us feel at home, even though we were 10.000 km from our country. Many thanks for being a part of our exotic holidays!

Date of stay: November 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank movemepam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

Two sisters are owners of this place.
All rooms are clean and nice.
It is not even hotel it is guest house where you can experience to leave like a typical Thai.
You can cook breakfast by yourself ( some standard products you will be provided) and then clean dishes after you , like at home ! )
And you will fell like at home.
By taxi it is 10 minutes from historical center.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Mariia_Holubova
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 February 2018 via mobile

We had a very pleasant stay. We like the very natural, peaceful and serene surroundings. Ms. Parichart, her sister and her staff have been very amiable, helpful and professional. They've got two adorable dogs that are good hosts too. Would love to come back again. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank tanhosengkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Pari_123164, Owner at Baan SongJum Wat Ket, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2018

Thank you for reviews. Now we have another dogs. We adopted from local shelter. He is very cute and lovely too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2017 via mobile

For starters Nui is as an absolute sweetheart, she was so knowledgable and helpful. We only had a short amount of time in Chiang Mai and she helped us plan our trip to make the most of it. Everyone there was really friendly and made us feel right at home.

It's location is perfect, a couple of minutes walk and you have gorgeous riverside bars that are beautiful at night (The Old Place and Riverside Craft Beer Factory were our favourites!) similarly you are a short walk over the bridge into old town.

A must is the walk Nui talked us through. There is the historic Iron Bridge (about 15mins walk away - depending on how hungry you are!) on the walk down are the bars listed above, go over the bride and there's a rather interesting bar encompassing an old bus on the right side or on the left a wooden bar encompassing beautiful views across the river. Following the road straight on for 5 minutes leads you Lemongrass - a gorgeous Thai restaurant. Then you can carry on into old town. Or reverse the walk and have a few drinks on the way back ;)

We loved our stay and it was absolutely what we needed - comfy bed, big windows so the room felt light and airy... and an absolutely beautiful dog!

If we are ever in Chiang Mai again we will definitely be staying here!

Date of stay: March 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mcgee89
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews