We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A special place to stay - food, staff, house...”
other travellers have booked this property
Lanna Hill House in the early evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lanna Hill House in the early evening
The Great Room at Lanna Hill House Spring salt water pool and jacuzzi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
50 reviews
Lanna Hill House in the early evening
The Great Room at Lanna Hill House
Spring salt water pool and jacuzzi
Aerial Photo of Lanna Hill House at the end of the dry season
Courtyard perfect for dining
View of the house from the lake
Terrace bedroom
The sala overlooking the Mae-on valley
View from the sala hill
The courtyard terrace
Living area including 50' TV with a large selection of satellite channels
Master Bedroom
Twin room
Oppy, our manager and chef, Oh.
Villa serviced by six uniformed staff
Welcome drinks, welcome smile
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Chiang Mai

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bride30
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A special place to stay - food, staff, house, location all wonderful”
Reviewed 26 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This house is set about 50mins outside Chiang Mai town, amongst hills and local villages. You won't see any other tourists and you'll get t meet some lovely local people and experience a bit more of the countryside. It really surpassed everyone's expectations, it catered for all ages, we spanned 18mths to 74 years old and everyone had a fantastic time.

Apart from the stunning house the two main highlights for us were the staff
and the food. We hadn't expected such a culinary experience, each meal
better than the last. We all adored the food and the staff made
it fun for us to be involved in the kitchen too! They were also very
accommodating and imaginative in trying new recipes on our 18 mth old who I
have to say did pretty well with her Thai food!

The staff were amazing, we felt very fond of them all by the time we left, Lovely people, and really professional. Also great that all the staff are hired from the local area and trained up, and they are paid well and have great working conditions and genuinely seem to enjoy their jobs.

Would recommend this house this house without hesitation for a unique holiday. We will definitely be going back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JanieF76
London, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect start to a perfect honeymoon - already planning our return trip”
Reviewed 16 May 2011 for a stay in May 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Lanna Hill House has so much going for it, making us feel at ease from the first email contact. The house is beautifully designed, impeccably located (close enough to the city to be convenient but remote enough to feel like you're sleeping albeit very comfortably, with nature), great facilities for young families but the really stand-out selling points were the first-rate staff and the world-class food.

The team led by Nok, made us feel like a wonderful mixture of royalty and family and fed us some of the best food we'd eaten. They were so welcoming to and open with 20month old Seb that it was a real wrench to leave. We hope to be back year after next with baby no.2 and friends!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vekshas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous location in a wonderful house with great staff”
Reviewed 29 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We had a fantastic week an Lanna Hill House. Location excellent as only 30 min away from Chaing Mai so all the fun if the city but in a rural location.
Staff on hand for everything you need, in a beautiful house with amazing views.
Perfect for children with great local food cooked for you fresh every day
I would like to add that it was a fair trade arrangement therefore benefitting the local rural community by sourcing local produce and local staff. You also have a manager that looks after everything you need with local knowledge to allow you to explore the best bits of the area.
We would definitely recommend this house and unique experience of this part of Thailand

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
marius_de...
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply......a dream......”
Reviewed 20 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This house including the staff is the perfect place to be.
Do not forget that this staff can cook !!!
Perfect organized by Nog,.....ask her for trips and special wishes,....see will organize everything in a perfect and orginal way.

Be aware : their are no neighbours, .......but a beautiful golfcourse ;-)

We stayed 1 week,....next time we will stay longer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Dido_On...
Macau
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing and absolutely wonderful! Chiang Mai's hidden treasure!”
Reviewed 13 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011

This is my first ever Tripadvisor review. I am usually not wont to doing reviews for two reasons: Most experiences don't usually pass the bar, however favorable, and second, who would write about a treasure found? On our stay this month at Lanna Hill House, though, my family and I felt that the care and pampering we got was way beyond anything we've experienced--and we've stayed in many villas over the last 5 years--but, more importantly than keeping a secret, we felt the need to publicly compliment the staff, owners and Nok, the elegant manager of Lanna Hill House, for creating a very unique experience for guests.

The mansion is big but very cozy. We were a party of 3 adults and 3 young children. The surrounding gardens and many private nooks of the house and gardens made sure we all had our personal time and space but also the communal areas, kids' activity room, the living room, the pool and the gardens provided common ways to enjoy together.

The impressive view of the surrounding country side, the valley and the being in the midst of the mountain ranges is something to die for. The secluded location was a pleasant surprise and one can bike around the reservoir and the nearby farms to get a very close experience of country life--a true antidote to stress and modern civilization!

The coup de grace is Nok, the House manager, and her staff. We got the pampering of our lives from them and our biggest problem everyday was what to ask Nok and the house chef to prepare for our meals which were all wonderfully prepared and unforgettable. Nok came everyday to check on us and orchestrates all guest needs--our own private concierge!

The house and gardens are amazingly well kept and maintained. Our three boys loved the way they can run around together or get lost in and out of the property on their own discovering nature. The two house pets, Si Mu and Si Mae proved a big attraction and were the reason the boys wanted to stay more in the house than go out.

The house is 45 minutes away from the city centre but this turned out to be good. One is away from the din of the city and all attractions surrounding Chiang Mai is 45 mins away in any case so the day trips wouldn't have been any different had we stayed closer to the city centre with the tourist masses. Nok helped arrange transportation every time we needed and the driver, Auw, was caring, never more than 2 minutes away from picking you up when you called and very responsible.

We came during Chinese New year week and for the deal one gets with Lanna Hill, the spacious house, expansive gardens, the stunning scenery and surrounding countryside, and most of all Nok and her service staff, it was definitely more than worthwhile. Kudos to the property owners, Nok and the staff for creating a wonderful experience for my family! (So there, the secret's out. We will soon be making arrangements to come back!)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing