We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply......a dream......”
other travellers have booked this property
Lanna Hill House in the early evening
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lanna Hill House in the early evening
The Great Room at Lanna Hill House Spring salt water pool and jacuzzi
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Lanna Hill House in the early evening
The Great Room at Lanna Hill House
Spring salt water pool and jacuzzi
Aerial Photo of Lanna Hill House at the end of the dry season
Courtyard perfect for dining
View of the house from the lake
Terrace bedroom
The sala overlooking the Mae-on valley
View from the sala hill
The courtyard terrace
Living area including 50' TV with a large selection of satellite channels
Master Bedroom
Twin room
Oppy, our manager and chef, Oh.
Villa serviced by six uniformed staff
Welcome drinks, welcome smile
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Chiang Mai

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marius_de...
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Simply......a dream......”
Reviewed 20 April 2011 for a stay in March 2011
2
people found this review helpful

This house including the staff is the perfect place to be.
Do not forget that this staff can cook !!!
Perfect organized by Nog,.....ask her for trips and special wishes,....see will organize everything in a perfect and orginal way.

Be aware : their are no neighbours, .......but a beautiful golfcourse ;-)

We stayed 1 week,....next time we will stay longer.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A_Dido_On...
Macau
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing and absolutely wonderful! Chiang Mai's hidden treasure!”
Reviewed 13 February 2011 for a stay in February 2011

This is my first ever Tripadvisor review. I am usually not wont to doing reviews for two reasons: Most experiences don't usually pass the bar, however favorable, and second, who would write about a treasure found? On our stay this month at Lanna Hill House, though, my family and I felt that the care and pampering we got was way beyond anything we've experienced--and we've stayed in many villas over the last 5 years--but, more importantly than keeping a secret, we felt the need to publicly compliment the staff, owners and Nok, the elegant manager of Lanna Hill House, for creating a very unique experience for guests.

The mansion is big but very cozy. We were a party of 3 adults and 3 young children. The surrounding gardens and many private nooks of the house and gardens made sure we all had our personal time and space but also the communal areas, kids' activity room, the living room, the pool and the gardens provided common ways to enjoy together.

The impressive view of the surrounding country side, the valley and the being in the midst of the mountain ranges is something to die for. The secluded location was a pleasant surprise and one can bike around the reservoir and the nearby farms to get a very close experience of country life--a true antidote to stress and modern civilization!

The coup de grace is Nok, the House manager, and her staff. We got the pampering of our lives from them and our biggest problem everyday was what to ask Nok and the house chef to prepare for our meals which were all wonderfully prepared and unforgettable. Nok came everyday to check on us and orchestrates all guest needs--our own private concierge!

The house and gardens are amazingly well kept and maintained. Our three boys loved the way they can run around together or get lost in and out of the property on their own discovering nature. The two house pets, Si Mu and Si Mae proved a big attraction and were the reason the boys wanted to stay more in the house than go out.

The house is 45 minutes away from the city centre but this turned out to be good. One is away from the din of the city and all attractions surrounding Chiang Mai is 45 mins away in any case so the day trips wouldn't have been any different had we stayed closer to the city centre with the tourist masses. Nok helped arrange transportation every time we needed and the driver, Auw, was caring, never more than 2 minutes away from picking you up when you called and very responsible.

We came during Chinese New year week and for the deal one gets with Lanna Hill, the spacious house, expansive gardens, the stunning scenery and surrounding countryside, and most of all Nok and her service staff, it was definitely more than worthwhile. Kudos to the property owners, Nok and the staff for creating a wonderful experience for my family! (So there, the secret's out. We will soon be making arrangements to come back!)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mc_Windso...
Windsor, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A truely magical experience for the whole family”
Reviewed 20 January 2011 for a stay in December 2010

To start with the house is awesome. We felt very spoilt to have the run of such a beautiful place for 2 weeks. The facilities are excellent (despite the bicycles being a bit rickety) and the catering was truly out of this world. We enjoyed some of the best food we have ever eaten. Meal times were a part of the day to look forward to. The two banquets we had were meals we will remember forever. The local dancers were very special and Nok (the manager) went out of her way to make it special for our son by getting some lanterns & sparklers. He loves lights / candles and this blew him away!
The staff were a credit to themselves, the owners & Thailand. They were all amazing and made us feel so so welcome. I sometimes find it hard to be waited on so much but was able to relax in their company. They also made a special effort with our son. I think the girls loved him and made a special effort to interact and play with him (which was great ).

We split our days between staying in the house and doing day trips. As we were there for 2 weeks, we didn't feel we had to cram everything in to every minute of the day. It was a luxury for us to just be able to relax and chill out, soaking up the glorious weather. Nok again was great at organising everything for us.

Overall an amazing experience which we will remember forever! All of the staff, were exceptional and went “above and beyond”. We were treated like family and all made to feel very welcome. It was great to see how everything was sourced locally and how we were helping the local community by eating ( & drinking ) as much as we could. I really got a taste for Chang. We would definitely recommend Lanna Hill House to anyone and would love to come back again at some point in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windheok
Windhoek
1 review
“A throw back to another era. Amazing location, house and service.”
Reviewed 4 October 2010 for a stay in August 2010

This is the third time I have visited Lanna Hill House, flying all the way from Namibia. I treasure my holiday time as much as anyone, so to make the arduous journey for a third time demonstrates what a special place it is. Starting with the location, the house sits on top of a small hill with views of forested mountains the highest of which peaks at 1,800m, which we attempted to climb – but ran out of time. The whole location is totally unspoilt - a land that time forgot – unless of course you object to golf courses. I don’t play myself, but I can vouch for the newly opened spa. It really is first class and compares with anything in town. After morning runs in the lovely local countryside and mountain hikes, a relaxing massage is a total treat.

The house is truly beautiful , catching the essence of a bygone age with sweeping verandas, lashings of teak and rattan furniture. It is so large, that you can lose yourself in a hidden corner reading a book without being disturbed, even when the house is full (with young kids running about, I was pleased to escape some of the time!). The tranquillity extends from the day into the night where I have rarely slept so well - anywhere. Mornings are greeted by a sumptuous breakfast on the main terrace. It is fantastic watching the early morning mist rise from the valleys, listening to the birds (of which there are many -including bee eaters) all the time being pampered by the lovely staff who are endlessly obliging. The evening food is truly amazing. It is really like having your own private dinner party, surpassing nearly every restaurant I have visited in Thailand.

I am looking forward to my fourth visit.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GBBR
Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Luxury, Peace, Nature all rolled into one...”
Reviewed 10 March 2010 for a stay in February 2010

My wife and I had a delightful 10 day visit at Chiang Mai's Lanna Hill House. This is a very unusual setting as one is staying in, litterally, a mansion which looks east into the most beautiful mountains. The house sits atop a knoll and to the west one has views over rice patties and small Thai villages.

This is not like staying at any resort or hotel. For one, you have the whole huge house to yourself with a well trained staff tending to the property and your every need. Secondly, this house is custom built, open, airy and very tastefully furnished. Your only company are two friendly small dogs.

Come here to relax and decompress. We recommend having a hired car so that you can explore the area. To the east are beautiful mountains with charming villages along the stream. During the warm month of February we found the drive up the mountain to the cool valley quite refreshing. There are several small cafe's serving locally grown coffee and simple Thai food. In contrast, you can drive to Chiang Mai and have all the shopping and tourist sites to visits. Another nice thing that we enjoyed in the mornings before the sun got hot was to walk down through the rice patties and small villages. There is a beautiful wat about 40 minutes away on foot.

Dining at Lanna Hill House is an end to itself. The staff cater to your pesonal needs and prepare meals to your personal tastes. We found the local Thai dishes quite good. You can dine in just about any room in the house, but we found it best to have breakfast on the upper verandah overlooking the mountains and dinner best on the front downstairs verandah.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing