We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We really enjoyed this place”
Review of BaanBooLOo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
BaanBooLOo
Ranked #8 of 747 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We really enjoyed this place”
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My boyfriend and I went from 10th to 12th september and we had a great time. Orn and her family are very nice, we feel like home.The room was perfect, like a dream. Orn help us a lot regarding the place to go and what to do in the city.We talk a lot about thai culture and it was very pleasant because it is difficult to communicate in english with other thai people and understand their own culture.

The guesthouse is in the city so it is perfect to going out the night by walk without taking any tuk tuk.

We really advice this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geraldinealondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    353
    25
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
101
185
36
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2012

Staying at BaanBoo Loo was the highlight of my two-week trip to Thailand. I cannot say enough to about Orn and her family, and about how caring and warm and welcoming they are to their visitors. They truly treat you like part of the family and are eager to help you in any way they can.

We were greeted with fresh fruits and cool drinks upon arrival. Since we had never been to Chang Mai before, Orn sat down with a map of the city, taught us how to get around, and informed us of the best places to go for food, fun and massages! Every place recommended was amazing! She also helped us plan out our few days there to make sure we got the most out of our trip.

Each day they offered us snacks, fresh fruit and juice after we returned from our adventures. And every morning, breakfast was ready minutes after you came outside.

The rooms were clean, and had an authentic Thai feel. There were fresh flowers in the room everyday, which was a small, but lovely touch. They have put so much effort into making BaanBoo Loo picture perfect.

On my favourite night at BaanBoo Loo, Orn took us to the local market, taught us about all the indigenous fruits and veggies, let us try them, and helped us pick out food for our cooking class back at BaanBoo Loo. Going to the market was a great experience. Then, the food. The best meal we had in Thailand was the meal we prepared in Orn's cooking class. When I told her I wanted to make curry for my mom but was afraid to mess up the recipe, she offered to skype with me while I cooked back at home. She truly is a lovely person.

I would recommend BaanBoo Loo for everyone! - for families, because it is on the quiet side of town, for young people traveling who are looking to make their trip a little extra special!

And, you will love their family. Their passion for hospitality could never be forgotten!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KBross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2012

I stayed in BaanBooLOoin March and I must say it was a great choice. First of all, it was really well located as not right in the busy centre but at walking distance of it.

Breakfast was the best one I had in Thailand. It was different every day and fruit were ripe and fresh, which was not the case in all the hotels I stayed in later during my trip.

The room was very original in the Thaï style, and very comfortable with a good fan and mosquito nets. It was a pleasure to wake up with the birds singing in all the surrounding trees.

But the cherry on the cake was the owner and staff. I was travelling alone and being welcomed by the Banbaloo team was really great. They made me feel at ease and safe from the first day. They not only took good care of me but also of my baby :-) I was one month pregnant when I arrived there with a few nausea and pregnancy inconveniences. Every day I received different fruit for breakfast, plus fresh coconut milk as the owner told me it is said to be very good for the baby in Thailand :-)

On my last night, I had dinner with the staff and they blew a Thaï balloon, which is to whish health and luck for the baby. I was crying with emotions as I felt it was so kind of them.
So, all in all, if you want a cosy place with a family feeling and a kind staff, don't hesitate a minute!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginie432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

Well I stayed here for 2Nights and I can honestly say that my stay was so beautiful pleasant and comfortable and found the rooms clean and staff helpfull and friendly. the , the location was great and would recommend this place. Its definatly a must place to stay and a very cultural experiance to stay loved it here

Room Tip: Its a beautiful place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chillingoutthai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rabat, Morocco
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Orn and the staff at BaanBooLoo truly made our 8 night stay here the best place we stayed at in Thailand! The attention to detail and the level of service was outstanding! Nothing was ever to much trouble and we really felt at home!

The rooms were clean and beautifully decorated. We loved the little touches like the fishbowl in the bathroom, the mosquito coils that were lit at night and other details.

The breakfasts were delicious, fresh fruits and eggs as well as lovely Thai dishes like banana and mango sticky rice parcels.

Our outings were arranged for us by Orn, days planned and we thoroughly enjoyed our two cooking lessons with her. She took the trouble to take us to a bookstore and find Thai cooking books, arranged our shopping trip to the umbrella village and just about everything else we wanted to do!

We could have all happily stayed there for a lot longer!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyT67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.7 km away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,414 reviews
0.3 km away
BED Phrasingh
BED Phrasingh
#4 of 383 in Chiang Mai
729 reviews
2.8 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
1.4 km away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
462 reviews
0.4 km away
Rachamankha
Rachamankha
#9 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BaanBooLOo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BaanBooLOo

Property: BaanBooLOo
Address: 5 Soi 3Kor, Intawaroroj 3 Road | Sriphoom, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand (Formerly BaanBooLOo Traditional Thai Guest House)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 747 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): $148 - $348
Hotel Class:3 star — BaanBooLOo 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A unique small Thai country village style guesthouse with surrounding wooden villas, hammocks, country garden, outdoor lounges with lots of arts and wood carvings. Visitors should be aware that this is a very natural setting. There are many kinds of creatures in the gardens Some bathrooms are semi open air and mosquitos are omnipresent as in the most part of Chiang Mai. We use mosquito netting in bedrooms as well as using air-conditioning, fans and mosquito repellents and creams free of charge. Guests are advised to wear loose fitting clothing with long sleeves and leg coverings in the early mornings and early evenings or to use a good strength anti mosquito spray. Sunny daytimes are mostly mosquito free. Hard to believe but BaanBooLOo Village seems completely cut off from the noise of the city centre yet is only 15 minutes from Chiang Mai International Airport. It is without question the quietest location in all of central Chiang Mai. We are in the central historic Old City Inner Moat area just 5 minutes walk from the major landmark Wat Pra Singh temple known by all in Chiang Mai. We provide a comprehensive and hearty Thai and International breakfast from 7am until 10am. We do cater for early start breakfasts and special dietary needs. Guests are recommended to discuss any special needs upon check-in. We have a quiet policy after 10pm as these are wooden houses and respect for neighbours is paramount. We also have an outdoor late lounge area with music and drinks until around midnight which is separate from guest rooms to avoid sleep disturbance. There are late night bars, jazz club and eateries all within 20 minutes walk or a short tuk tuk ride for around 100 baht. Most venues are open until around 1am. A handful are open until the early hours. Our concierge service includes helping guests to plan activities/spas/trekking plus advice on events in and around the city. This service is impartial and is included in the room charge. We would never recommend tourist service companies with animal cruelty reputations. BaanBooLOo Village is a 'green' environmentally friendly organisation evolving gradually. Our long term goal is to create a green oasis in the form of a living museum in the historic old city walls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly, Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your BaanBooLOo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baanbooloo Traditional Thai Guest House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing