We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ratchapruek flower gardens”

Royal Park Rajapruek
Ranked #21 of 255 things to do in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: The Ratchaphruek Flower Gardens are a must-see when visiting the Chiang Mai area. The expansive gardens are incredibly picturesque. Bike rentals are available and, for less active travelers, an electric bus is available to take you around.
Bacolod, Bacolod, Philippines
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Ratchapruek flower gardens”
Reviewed 22 February 2013

The place is beautiful and expansive...we rode the tram to go from one garden to another.the problem is that the tram guide does not speak in English in decpscribing the gardens we are passing by. Must see is the covered paradise garden where you can see carnivorous plants. Another must see is the orchid pavilion...check the Airconditioned room where beautiful orchids are on display

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Ella845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    315
    223
    82
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice!!!”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Went there early night of New Year's Eve. Everything was fantastic with a nice weather. Unfortunately, live music sound was not really match with New Year's Eve night. Overall was great!!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex_Photography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Was recommended by our tour guide to visit Royal Flora Garden when we visit Chiang Mai. According to our tour guide, the garden was built by the former Prime Minister, Thaksin for the King.

The place is huge and beautiful. In the middle of the garden, there is a pavilion which features the traditional architect of the Northern Thailand. We went in the morning, the weather was cooling and it is good to walk around the gardens. As we have limited time to catch our flight later in the afternoon, we have decide to take the bus at the fee of 20 baht. The bus will bring you around the entire park, you will be able to see featured garden from various countries. In these gardens, you will see the plants and various architect and art of these country. One of the rare plant is the Tulip from Holland. Not only that, there are also gardens I believe sponsored by a few corporate.

I will recommend to spend at least half day to enjoy the beauty of the park.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CTDino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Poorly maintained”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This might have been good when it was first opened, but it's been poorly maintained, and is of very limited interest now. It's far from my idea of what a beautiful garden is.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank jjcbkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
singapore
Level 6 Contributor
491 reviews
204 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Interesting place especially if you love flowers...”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Beautiful gardens, this huge and spacious area is a must to visit if you love flowers and being with nature. The only setback is the weather which can be quite warm. Good to bring along sunblock lotion and a cap.

If you do not wish to walk a distance, you can pay for the tram ride which will bring you round the park. That way, you can get off at each stop, explore the area closest and then hop on again to the next stop.

Did not expect the Ratchaphruek Flower Gardens to be so well maintained and interesting. :D

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank dynamic14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Royal Park Rajapruek also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Royal Park Rajapruek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing