We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A unique guesthouse”
Review of Joy's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Joy's House
Ranked #4 of 737 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Siegen, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A unique guesthouse”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

We selected Joy’s House due to the good ranking and positive feedback in tripadvisor and booked two nights at Joy’s House, a six day trip after that and another three nights starting early January 2012.

We can state that all the positive comments from the tripadvisor community are true; therefore we will not repeat them, but highlight three special events we experienced:

1. After our first two nights at Joy’s House, before starting our tour, I asked where to store our luggage for the six days of absence, Joy’s answer: “You keep your room, you leave your belongings how they are and when you come back, you will come home” – wow !!! Even as a frequent traveller, I never experienced this before.

2. The trip was fantastic and well organised, Ben, Dong and Sert, our guides (from Joy’s house) were very professional and able to fulfil all our wishes. The highlight was the two day trekking tour in the Doi Inthanon National Park. Sert grew up in the village where we had our “base camp”, so he and his friends showed us the real life in and around the villages. The hiking tours in the forests were a lesson of nature study. Once, when
travelling we told Sert that we would like to understand how the rice is being grown. We stopped at a rice field where farmers were busy. Sert talked to the owner, jumped into the mud and showed us all the activities and explained the steps of the rice growth.
How many guides would jump into the mud for the tourists?

3. And then the CSF (Children’s Shelter Foundation), 48 children with a radiance of happiness, the result of the full dedication of Joy, Ulrike and all the staff. There is a birthday party once a month for the children, whose birthdays are during that month. All the guests were invited to the party for the seven January-children - what an unforgettable evening.

Unfortunately this was also our last evening, but we will definitely come back to Joy’s House and do some more trekking in the mountains. And the CSF encouraged us to think about helping children.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tildra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    624
    62
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
206
179
105
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 January 2012

I stayed at Joy's House for 5 nights and from the moment I arrived, it felt like home. Joy and the rest of her 'family' worked hard to take care of me, which was really nice considering I was travelling by myself. The kids who live at Joy's House all work very hard and make sure that you feel welcome by giving you a smile whenever they see you, asking how you are and generally ensuring that everything is okay and that you are happy.

I chose to spend 2 out of the 5 nights at the farm, to spend time with the kids who live there and go to school. I had the most amazing time.

Some highlights were:
- teaching two kids from Burma who hardly spoke any English at all (or Thai for that matter!!!);
- visiting a waterfall and playing with the kids in the water
- going to the hot springs at night (which was really beautiful and special)
- walking around the farm and seeing all the crops and animals
- eating dinner with the kids in their new kitchen area
- riding a bicycle to the local market and learning how to cook pad thai, green curry and sticky rice with banana (and also how to wrap it in banana leaves!!)
- visiting the local school and seeing how similar (and yet so different!) it was compared to schools in Western countries
- riding a motorbike for the first time ever.....

Just spending time with these kids is what made it so special for me.

I can honestly say that Joy's House and the Children's Shelter Foundation have made a huge impact in these kids' lives, by giving them opportunities that they would otherwise not have had available to them. To cook alongside a deaf 14yo girl who was showing ME how to prepare the food, to get to know these people and see how they live their life, these are the things that made it all worthwhile to pay the extra $$$ for the experience.

If you get the opportunity to stay at Joy's House and the farm for a few nights, do it. It is one trip that I will never forget. Thankyou!!! :)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
norfolk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Joy's house is something out of the ordinary. Whilst quite expensive in parts, it is a great friendly fun and well organised establishment. The children who are part of the children's foundation are kind and always smiling. You feel special to be part of something so worthwhile whilst travelling. Would not want to have stayed anywhere else in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blondiefoxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, England
Level Contributor
88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Joy's House is the centre of a foundation which seeks to provide help and support to disadvantaged children, some of whom are deaf and dumb. The hotel itself is a few miles out of Chiang Mai but is in a pleasant setting, centred around an old teak house. This is not a 5-star resort but rather a charming refuge where all the staff are the "graduates" of the foundation. The emphasis is on the experience (you cook your own breakfast !). The charity also operates a farm in the hills which is home to the younger children benefiting from the support programme. Everyone shares in the chores and the visitors are encouraged to participate. The farm is such a happy place - these children seem to need only their own company, with the adults monitoring rather than controlling their activities, but the end result is that they are given a chance in life which might not otherwise have been available.

When we were at Joy's House, a special Christmas party was organised and 200 children were brought down from the hill villages in buses and tuk-tuks to receive their Christmas presents (donated by the visitors) and their Christmas lunch.

One minor point - we arranged a massage. It was (relatively) expensive and the teenage masseuses were not fully trained. We were stroked rather than pummelled !

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tombailey888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambleside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

Picked up from airport ( always a bonus) . Accommodation clean and Joy is a welcoming host. She immediately started organising our trips which we found a little difficult to cope with having just arrived. However, the Thai massage was very welcome although quite expensive when compared with what we saw elsewhere. The main point of staying here is the Children's Foundation run by Joy and I assume that the money raised here goes to supporting that. The children are brought up on a farm in the countryside an hour away and we visited. They grow all their own vegetables and are by far the most polite children we have ever met with beaming smiles on their faces. Joy also organised a trip for us around the temples of Chiang Mai, a memorable trip on elephants combined with a trip down a river on a bamboo raft . We were also taught how to prepare Thai food both at the guesthouse and at the farm. On the final night was a complimentary barbecue and celebration of the 8 birthdays that week( including my wife's ) . All in all a fantastic experience that is a great example of sustainable tourism. We would love to return .

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moumoulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
5.0 km away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
5.1 km away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 382 in Chiang Mai
2,059 reviews
5.4 km away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 382 in Chiang Mai
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
5.2 km away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
1.1 km away
Guesthouse Liam's Suan Dok Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joy's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joy's House

Property: Joy's House
Address: 114 Moo 9, Sanpeesue Village, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 737 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): $56 - $113
Hotel Class:3 star — Joy's House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sawas dee kah,...We invite you to stay with our family in comfortable traditional houses in our tropical garden with Spa, Massage and Swimming Pool. Our restaurant will offer you the authentic Thai kitchen. We also guide you through NorthThailand. You will experience Thailand beyond the beaten tourist paths. Further more you can visit our Social Project „Children’s Shelter Foundation“ in the mountains. Warmheartedly welcome Joy & Ulli - Joy’s House Family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Joy's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joy`s House Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing