We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
Hotels.com
AU$631
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
AU$245
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveller rating
200
46
21
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
200
46
21
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful hotel wat chedi luang old town barn bar afternoon tea in the garden pineapple fried rice hanging space grounds are stunning complimentary tea sunday night market water features great amenities pool area an oasis beautiful room breakfast buffet mini bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 279 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2024

I cannot say enough wonderful things about Chala No. 6! Such a lovely hotel and would love to visit again someday.
Pros:
Make sure your stay includes a Sunday. The Sunday Walking Street is right outside the hotel and it's massive. The most wonderful open-air market experience.
5-star service
Hotel Spa was one of the best I've ever visited. I did a massage and body scrub. More pricey than most Thai experiences, but so worth it!
The breakfast buffet is outstanding!
Happy hour is great at the hotel restaurant. Often live music and it's lovely!
We stayed over NYE 2023 and it was fabulous. We opted out of the dinner hosted at the hotel which contained a lovely show. We wanted to walk in town and explore.
Lots of restaurants, wats, etc. around the hotel. We mostly walked and found little need for a car here.
Laundry service outside the hotel is a better option. There are lots of places here.
Try and make the afternoon tea at the Rice Barn at least once. It's from 2-4pm every day. We could only make it one day but wished we would have had another chance. It was lovely and free!

Cons:
I truly can't think of any except the walls seemed a bit thin (could hear others talking in next-door rooms) compared to other hotels we've stayed in around Thailand. However, this did not deter us from having such a wonderful stay at this hotel. We hope to be back someday!

Room tip: Stay on a Sunday to enjoy the open air market right outside of the hotel!
Date of stay: December 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tarapenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sales Chala Hotels Group, Sales at Chala Number 6, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at the Chala Number6 Hotel. It was a great pleasure to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback has been passed on to our fellow Team Members. It is an important way for us to review and improve our services.

The points you raised concerning the walls have been duly noted and will be addressed for improvement wherever possible. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Chala Hotels Group Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2024

Relaxing 4D/3N stay. Relatively peaceful respite in the heart of Chiang Mai (biggest benefit as the central location made it easy to walk to many key sites). We had an inward facing room on the third floor away from the pool, school and city. It is a quick drive from airport and with parking available (but best to inform hotel before your arrival to secure space). Long pool for swimming laps. Spa is great. Housekeeping and grounds keeping were both excellent. In general, friendly personal greetings by all staff during our stay ... but special recognition to Khun Bee (omelet chef) and Khun Tear (coffee barista). Both gents stood out with their sweet smiles and service at each breakfast. And an unexpected offering for our room's snacks/beverages were all complimentary and topped up daily! That was a first for us. Definitely, a place to return.

Room tip: If you prefer quiet, may prefer a more sheltered room (likely less direct daylight) away from pool, city and school.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank HawaiianBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sales Chala Hotels Group, Sales at Chala Number 6, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at the Chala Number6 Hotel. It was a great pleasure to learn that you had very much enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words and feedback have been passed on to our fellow Team Members, who are always very pleased and motivated to hear when our guests voice their appreciation.


Many thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future,

With warm regards from Chala Hotels Group,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2024 via mobile

Frankly I was tempted to make this a three star review based on my experience. But that would unfairly represent both the physical beauty of the property and the efforts of many of the staff who are delightful. It is perhaps a rating of a future state, or one that might have been, so read carefully. The main issue with the property is one wing is adjacent to an elementary school. Which means it’s loud there. Really loud. The children and the teachers, who work with loudspeakers. So. No sleeping in. And forget about retreating for a nap in the afternoon. The walls are also thin. A chair moving next door is audible. They are reasonably well appointed but lack either a closet or drawers. Which means you will live out of your suitcase, which is manageable but not ideal. If you have big pieces you are lugging around as a couple it could be tight. The food was pretty good. Room service, breakfast and dinner though the chicken at dinner included enough grizzle to have to pull a few bites back out. I was also mysteriously never provided a napkin. I asked once. But felt a little silly begging for something that should be pretty standard. The problem may have been me. Perhaps I offended them somehow. Though m not sure how. Or perhaps it’s that I was traveling alone. I still generally book a double room in the hope I might get more space and while they could not possibly know, I’m not really alone but rather take a lovely girl with me everywhere though she would be invisible to you or to the hotel staff. Sharing what we might have seen and done as best as I am able. Which seems better than just staying home. Some properties probably place me in some undesirable category. Which may have been the case here and which if so I forgive them. They may have had experiences that justified the feeling I had of being largely unwanted. With that said, the property visually is wonderful. The staff with some notable exceptions is also wonderful. And the location is ideal for the old city. Your stay may be more pleasurable and the place certainly has potential. Just ask for a room that isn’t on the school side. ;)

Room tip: Elementary School ask for a room for elsewhere perhaps.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank 92russw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sales Chala Hotels Group, Sales at Chala Number 6, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at the Chala Number6 Hotel. It was a great pleasure to learn that you had enjoyed your stay with us.

Your feedback has been passed on to our fellow Team Members. It is an important way for us to review and improve our services.

The points you raised concerning the noisy and the restaurant service have been duly noted and will be addressed for improvement wherever possible. We do apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for staying with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Chala Hotels Group Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2024 via mobile

What a fantastic hotel. From the moment we arrived everything flowed seamlessly. The staff have all been friendly and helpful and the actual place its self has been so thoughtfully designed.

Our room is a delightful blend of traditional Thai with a few modern twists - the toilet is quite a thing !

The mini bar is complementary and topped up daily. Everything else from the shower to the hairdryer, lighting, soft fabrics and so on is top notch. Normally you could nitpick and find a few tired corners but not here.

The location is a good balance and you forget you’re in a city hotel because the central courtyard is so spacious and peaceful.

We’ve had a couple of meals here and enjoyed them in the outdoor space of the courtyard.

Very happy with our choice for the first Chiangmai visit.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Henry901
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sales Chala Hotels Group, Sales at Chala Number 6, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2024

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at the Chala Number6 Hotel. It was a great pleasure to learn that you had very much enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words and feedback have been passed on to our fellow Team Members, who are always very pleased and motivated to hear when our guests voice their appreciation.


Many thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future,

With warm regards from Chala Hotels Group,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2024 via mobile

This hotel inside the walled city in Chiang Mai will not disappoint. The service is amazing and the ambiance is spot on, from the room to the amazing garden. The staff goes above and beyond to make this hotel a special experience for all. I certainly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: January 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Departure64312913114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sales Chala Hotels Group, Sales at Chala Number 6, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2024

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience following your recent stay at the Chala Number6 Hotel. It was a great pleasure to learn that you had very much enjoyed your stay with us.

Your kind words and feedback have been passed on to our fellow Team Members, who are always very pleased and motivated to hear when our guests voice their appreciation.


Many thanks again for staying with us, and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future,

With warm regards from Chala Hotels Group,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews