We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Truly a hidden gem” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baan Hanibah

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baan Hanibah
Ranked #24 of 671 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Truly a hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2012

Enjoyed a pleasant 3 nights stay at Baan Hanibah and would highly recommend to anyone looking for a quiet retreat in the old city of Chiang Mai. Our room was delightful and the bed very comfortable. The staff were extremely helpful also the fabulous breakfasts,which was a nice selection of fresh fruit, breads, cereals and toast. The location is perfect for us, The area is quiet and has authentic atmosphere. There are some several restaurants and bars nearby and many others within walking distance. It's about 10 minute walk to Tapae Gate( sunday night market), and about 10 minute walk to large crowded Warorot Market(am). We also had the best thai massage just round the corner which was done by the blind. An absolute delight and would highly recommend.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alexi4x4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

330 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    54
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
50
128
64
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eastbourne, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

I stayed at Baan Hanibah last year in October and have already reviewed this B & B but wanted to write another one as I really enjoyed my first stay and it is just marvellous to be back. It truly is a perfect spot and I always find the staff so warm and helpful and ready to assist with anything and will endeavour to find out if they do not know. Each one is a university student and has a good understanding of English and speak it very well. I know they do their best to help guests and learn from their mistakes, like most of us do! I have so appreciated the service provided here at Baan Hanibah - always with a lovely smile! I continue to enjoy my second, longstay, experience in such a unique and idyllic teak wooden B & B. Thank you to the attentive owners and courteous staff.

Room Tip: Each room is different so it is very individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samlanh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
Level Contributor
64 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2012

We have been here for 3 nights. The room was okay and spacious. What was really annoying was that one day, when we came home in the afternoon to rest a bit in the room they had some guys there to clean the AC in our room. So without letting us know in advance they let these guys into our room and while they were cleaning the parts outside the door to our room was open all the time. Because we were not informed we had all our valuables lying around in the room and now open to everybody. Apart from that the had the lights on in the room so that hundreds of mosquitos came into the room. This is not a good service at all! But apart from that the B&B is okay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PrinzessinKnopf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Baan Hanibah is one of the best guesthouses I have ever stayed in. Fabulously welcoming staff, sumptuous breakfasts (the sticky rice with banana or sweet potato...delicious!), all in a beautiful, old teak house. Excellent value. Great location. Beautiful surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2012

Given the price range in Chiang Mai, this place would be a little on the high side. That would be based on what we heard about other, similar, accommodations. That said, the rooms were perfectly suitable and the breakfast was great. The one real shortfall here was that the otherwise wonderful staff knew little or nothing about the city or how best to tackle it. We had to venture out and learn on our own and, frankly, when we came back and shared our what-every-visitor-should-know intelligence with our innkeepers, they didn't seem to care at all. I think they need to work on this.

Room Tip: Stay away from #4 unless they've removed the cabinet that smells really, really bad. If they had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cap'n_Crunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
baanhanibah, Owner at Baan Hanibah, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
Dear Guests,
Thank you for your review regarding our staff. Please accept our apology for the services that could not meet your expectation. Your advice about our staff is being seriously considered as we always try our best to bring the best service to our guests.
Regarding the cabinet in room 4, we have investigated the cause of the smell and found that it is the smell of wood-stain. We have used this cabinet since the guesthouse was opened, yet never received any complaints before, thus this came into a surprising notification. Nevertheless, we have removed that cabinet from the room and replace with the new one in order to ensure the most pleasant atmosphere for the room.
Sincerely yours,
Nai
Owner & Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 km away
Sri Pat Guest House
Sri Pat Guest House
#17 of 671 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
1.4 km away
Pak Chiang Mai
Pak Chiang Mai
#19 of 671 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.9 km away
The 3 Sis
The 3 Sis
#13 of 671 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Arte House
Arte House
#18 of 671 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 km away
The Britannia
The Britannia
#25 of 671 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
0.3 km away
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
Yindee Stylish Guesthouse
#34 of 671 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Hanibah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Hanibah

Property: Baan Hanibah
Address: 6 Moonmuang Road | Soi 8 A.Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 671 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price range (per night): $55 - $98
Hotel Class:3 star — Baan Hanibah 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of the old town area and surrounded by the local community, the house provides you with a peaceful, relaxing environment, as well as a convenient location. Major tourist attractions - the Three Kings Monument, Museum, Temples , Warorot Market, Sunday Walking Street, Thapae Gate and many more - are within 5-15 minutes walking distance. At Baan Hanibah, we go to great lengths to enhance your stay with us and our 10 eclectic-styled rooms are equipped with the same service items found in luxurious hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Wotif.com, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Baan Hanibah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baan Hanibah Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing