We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (108)
Filter reviews
108 results
Traveller rating
50
37
7
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
50
37
7
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location accommodation options old town tha phae gate nice room would definitely stay here again stayed here for nights tv thb alley furniture
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 108 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Location is fine but hard to find if you're using a taxi and they don't know the intersection. Nobody knows the name of the hostel. We tried to take a taxi here and our driver took us to a better known hotel with an almost identical name several streets away. Staff did not clean our room. Towels smell bad. Toilet paper isn't always made available in the single shared bathroom downstairs. Tonight we discovered a huge cockroach in the shower. We would not recommend this establishment to anybody with a better option. Pay an extra $5 for a clean and decent place!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank kstomanahwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

I stayed for three nights. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. When I needed advice the owner was happy to help, and I got a deal on a scooter rental around the corner because I was staying at the place, which was a nice bonus.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Baan Klang Vieng - This Hostel is in a great location in the old town a short walk to the Tha Phae gate and not to far from other attractions, we stayed for four night from the 19th Dec. Basically you get what you pay for here we had a four bed dorm on the roof with a shared bath room and with outside space which helped, there wasn't much sign of anyone else staying there although we are a family of five, so we may have been on a different time scale to everyone else.
The place is clean enough, the staff were friendly and helpful. A couple things they could look at would be the water pressure in the up stairs bathroom as getting wet in the shower was hard work and it also appeared that the bathroom were not checked daily. However we used the ground floor shower which was fine, so we continued to use this for showering
Overall this Hostel is in a great location, the staff were helpful, the rooms were comfortable, clean and really good value for money.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Marblufee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

I am staying at Baan Klang Vieng in a superior room with bathroom and the room is great. Well equipped with mini fridge, A/C TV, desk, wardrobe and spacious enough to move around. It's in great condition, modern and very clean. Like most guesthouses, you may have to confirm if you want your room cleaned that day. The location is amazing right on the main road near the Thapae Gate. There is a popular local market nearby and many restaurants. It is located within walking distance of most attractions. The room is in back away from the main road, so not much street noise.There is also a few tables out front to sit and watch the world go by. All for a fair price and the owners are nice. Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room away from the main road
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank V W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2016 via mobile

Me and my mom were there for 5 nights in a private room with shared bathroom and we found everything fine and easy to find. The position is good, near the center and the station, only 3 km walking. The stuff was nice and friendly. The room was clean. The bathroom was almost clean but a bit messy and they probably didnt clean the dust for a long time. Just one tip: they close the main door around 5/6pm and there's a small entrance behind, but they didn't tell us about this and we were scared the first time, but everything was fine then.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Eoliana91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews