We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to see the city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Baan Klang Vieng Hostel
Reviewed 31 July 2017

The hostel is in a good location near the east gate- close to the night bazaar and to walk around the old city. The room was clean and has individual bathrooms. It says hostel, but is set up more like a small hotel. The mattresses were firm, but that was our experience at both hostels we stayed at. Our only issue was the hostel manager who booked our Muay Thai tickets said he could get us in the ring to place the leis and a photo with the fighters to be included with our ringside tickets, but neither of those things happened. It was just the tickets and taxi ride.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Owana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2017 via mobile

Location is fine but hard to find if you're using a taxi and they don't know the intersection. Nobody knows the name of the hostel. We tried to take a taxi here and our driver took us to a better known hotel with an almost identical name several streets away. Staff did not clean our room. Towels smell bad. Toilet paper isn't always made available in the single shared bathroom downstairs. Tonight we discovered a huge cockroach in the shower. We would not recommend this establishment to anybody with a better option. Pay an extra $5 for a clean and decent place!!!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank kstomanahwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2017

I stayed for three nights. The room was clean and comfortable, and the staff were very friendly and helpful. When I needed advice the owner was happy to help, and I got a deal on a scooter rental around the corner because I was staying at the place, which was a nice bonus.

Room Tip: Upstairs is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2016 via mobile

Baan Klang Vieng - This Hostel is in a great location in the old town a short walk to the Tha Phae gate and not to far from other attractions, we stayed for four night from the 19th Dec. Basically you get what you pay for here we had a four bed dorm on the roof with a shared bath room and with outside space which helped, there wasn't much sign of anyone else staying there although we are a family of five, so we may have been on a different time scale to everyone else.
The place is clean enough, the staff were friendly and helpful. A couple things they could look at would be the water pressure in the up stairs bathroom as getting wet in the shower was hard work and it also appeared that the bathroom were not checked daily. However we used the ground floor shower which was fine, so we continued to use this for showering
Overall this Hostel is in a great location, the staff were helpful, the rooms were comfortable, clean and really good value for money.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank Marblufee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2016

I am staying at Baan Klang Vieng in a superior room with bathroom and the room is great. Well equipped with mini fridge, A/C TV, desk, wardrobe and spacious enough to move around. It's in great condition, modern and very clean. Like most guesthouses, you may have to confirm if you want your room cleaned that day. The location is amazing right on the main road near the Thapae Gate. There is a popular local market nearby and many restaurants. It is located within walking distance of most attractions. The room is in back away from the main road, so not much street noise.There is also a few tables out front to sit and watch the world go by. All for a fair price and the owners are nice. Overall, I would stay here again.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room away from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank V W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.1 km away
Baan Klang Wiang
Baan Klang Wiang
#12 of 393 in Chiang Mai
346 reviews
3 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
945 reviews
2.1 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 393 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,376 reviews
0.9 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,147 reviews
1.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Klang Vieng Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Klang Vieng Hostel

Address: 127/1 Moon Muang road, Soi 5, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 938 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $19 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Klang Vieng Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Evoline ltd, Expedia APAC, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Booking.com, lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Hotels.com and Hooroo Pty Ltd so you can book your Baan Klang Vieng Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing