We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baan Klang Vieng Hostel
Reviewed 14 July 2009

Clean hostel with ensuite bathroom and very friendly staff. The furniture was new and the location was perfect. It was a little quiet when I was there but if thats what youre looking for, then this hostel is perfect. For internet access, try the cafe next door :)

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Lavy81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 95 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2009

We stumbled across this little gem of a place tucked away just off the Moon Muang Rd in Chang Mai purely by chance, and we were delighted that we did!! It has a lovely homely feel, all of the staff were so helpful and friendly, especially "Daisy", and they were more than willing to share information about the area and various events. The room was perfect for us, beds for 3 people, en suite bathroom and immaculately clean with fresh towels every other day. It cost us 600 baht a night which was very cheap between 3 of us and it was money well spent. The location was fantastic, just 2 mins walk from the famous sunday walking market and 10 mins from the night bazzar, with a great choice of bars and restaurants a stones throw away (look out for the rooftop bar near Tha Pae Gate...best spot we found on our whole trip!). Breakfast came included but we missed it most days and headed to the bar on the corner "Kafe" and in the evenings we had massages on the place next door!!! A really great little place, if i visit chiang mai again ill certainly be back! We were sorry to leave!!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ally_max1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2009

This guesthouse was a hidden gem in the confusion that is Chiang Mai old town. With so many guesthouses refusing to take advance bookings, we were left wandering in the sun with our rucksacks looking for a place to stay that wasn't filthy or overpriced. Luckily we found this place. It was clean and well maintained with a family atmosphere. The rooms were immaculately presented and the house we stayed in had antique teak furniture and musical instruments on display. The staff were really helpful and kind. The breakfast wasn't great but I don't think you can blame them for that. I would not hesitate to recommend it. It's a great price, and as yet is not in the Lonely Planet so is relatively accessible.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank clairekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2009

This hotel has a really nice little courtyard, immaculate rooms that are nicely decorated, and a great location.
The shower is hot, the air conditioning works well...the only problem is the beds. The mattresses are so hard, it's like sleeping on a hard wood floor! If you don't mind that, though, it's a great place to be.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank cate-h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2009

We have had a nice 2 nights for 15 euro a night. Great room. good value! Nice location.

  • Stayed: December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank basernst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.1 km away
Baan Klang Wiang
Baan Klang Wiang
#12 of 393 in Chiang Mai
346 reviews
3 km away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
945 reviews
2.1 km away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#26 of 393 in Chiang Mai
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 km away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#1 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,376 reviews
0.9 km away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,148 reviews
1.5 km away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#18 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baan Klang Vieng Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baan Klang Vieng Hostel

Address: 127/1 Moon Muang road, Soi 5, Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 938 Speciality Lodging in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $19 - $36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Baan Klang Vieng Hostel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with lastminute.com.au, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA, Wotif.com, Expedia APAC, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hooroo Pty Ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Baan Klang Vieng Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing